We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My third visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #46 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My third visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at Europa in May with my mom, sister, neice and daughter - we had an excellent stay! I also stayed in 2008 with my husband. My daughter and I were lucky enough to be able to return in October for some shopping and spent 4 nights at Europa. It is a perfect base for everything in Florence - walking distance to the sights, restaurants, and shops and close to the train station. The breakfast is not fancy, but satisfying and the owners could not be nicer!! Perfect cappucinos every morning!!! We feel like we are coming home when we arrive and nothing is too much trouble for Miriam and Robert. Mama is sweet and always busy and smiling!! We had a beautiful room with a view and enjoyed the nice hot steamy shower. The building is old and has history - I love staying in historical buildings - the thick walls bring quiet nights and coolness from the heat of the day. We took their reccomedations from Miriam for Za Zas restaurant and have had some of the best meals of our trips there. I am watching a blizzard out my window right now and would give anything to be back in Florence!! See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veannac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    312
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
199
414
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porter Ranch, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When I first entered the Europa Hotel I thought I'd made a big mistake. As someone else said no
curb appeal but I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a great place to stay. Miriam,Roberto and "Mama" make everyone feel at home. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was quite good and the location is great. I am planning on a return trip to Florence and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I booked 2 nights here on short notice using Rick Steve's guide book. Although the hotel was located inside the "No Drive" zone for non-residents, Robert advised me that we could drive to the hotel without being fined as long as we put our car into a local parking garage which he arranged. The hotel location was fantastic, all the popular sights within easy walking distance. The room was clean, breakfast was good and Robert and Miriam are great hosts. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Located the hotel in Rick Steve's book. Stayed for 3 nights and was very surprised by both the proximity to the Academie, Duomo and the Medicci Chapelle and the wonderfully helpful owners Robert and Miriam. The room was recently updated had a great view of the Duomo and the bed was excellent. It's often a lot about service and these two owners have it wired. Curb appeal is nothing to write home about but once inside they made you feel you were home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFSkiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked the Hotel Europa for 3 nights in Florence, the location was perfect. It was a short walk to the basilica, the Accadamia and th San Lorenzo market. They had a good, standard breakfast. The bathroom had been updated but room was a little dated however, the location and the price more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 30 years ago. How did he remember the name of the hotel? Because they were so nice . The next generation is now running the hotel. Miriam and her husband Robert are the nicest folks you could ask for. They are friendly, helpful and interesting.
The hotel location could not be any better, and despite the central location, the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though nothing fancy. I loved being able to see the top of the Duomo from the window of the room. We will definitely stay here when we return to Florence. Oh, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcakecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a world traveler, I am always worried about 'budget' hotels. I normally stay in upscale hotels as I travel for business - and try to do so (if reasonably priced) even when traveling for leisure. Downtown Florence is not cheap, at-least not for your average traveler.

I then relied on hotel recommendations (Travel through Europe by Rick Steve's) and found Hotel Europa. I could not be any happier with the recommendation. The room was comfortable, the rate was competitive - even economical, but most importantly the location an staff were nothing short of amazing.

If you are most interested in the overall experience of the travel (Florence itself plus seeing David at the Accademia) you can hardly do better than this hotel. Everything is within minutes by foot. The staff will go out of their way to help your every needs and they speak perfect English :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#47 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing