We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #84 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked the Hotel Europa for 3 nights in Florence, the location was perfect. It was a short walk to the basilica, the Accadamia and th San Lorenzo market. They had a good, standard breakfast. The bathroom had been updated but room was a little dated however, the location and the price more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    311
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
199
412
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 30 years ago. How did he remember the name of the hotel? Because they were so nice . The next generation is now running the hotel. Miriam and her husband Robert are the nicest folks you could ask for. They are friendly, helpful and interesting.
The hotel location could not be any better, and despite the central location, the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though nothing fancy. I loved being able to see the top of the Duomo from the window of the room. We will definitely stay here when we return to Florence. Oh, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcakecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a world traveler, I am always worried about 'budget' hotels. I normally stay in upscale hotels as I travel for business - and try to do so (if reasonably priced) even when traveling for leisure. Downtown Florence is not cheap, at-least not for your average traveler.

I then relied on hotel recommendations (Travel through Europe by Rick Steve's) and found Hotel Europa. I could not be any happier with the recommendation. The room was comfortable, the rate was competitive - even economical, but most importantly the location an staff were nothing short of amazing.

If you are most interested in the overall experience of the travel (Florence itself plus seeing David at the Accademia) you can hardly do better than this hotel. Everything is within minutes by foot. The staff will go out of their way to help your every needs and they speak perfect English :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again, Rick Steve's recommendation was spot on. Owned and run by a local family for more than 40 years it is like "home". The breakfast offered lots of options Miriam and Robert were always ready to assist with directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel Europa is ideally located near the Duomo and within an easy walk from the train station. Miriam and Roberto were very attentive hosts, making reservations for us to visit both the Uffizi and Accademia. They also provided excellent restaurant recommendations nearby.The room was quiet and comfortable. It even had a view of the Bell Tower. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is my second time staying at Hotel Europa, and will again next time I'm in Florence. The location cannot be better - walking distance to everything. We were even able to walk from the train station with our bags without any trouble. Miriam and Robert are very friendly and helpful. There is a nice selection at breakfast, and of course nice hot coffee! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and we had a nice view of the duomo two blocks away. For you classical music lovers, this place was once owned by Franz Liszt. I would definitely recommend Hotel Europa to my friends and family. I initially stayed here because my parents recommended it after their stay 20+ years ago. It was run by the same family then.

Room Tip: According to info from my parents, upstairs room has better view of the duomo.Both my rooms were nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bennington, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Europa, about two blocks from the Duomo.The central location made it easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Our hosts, Miriam and Robert, were very friendly and helpful, and even gave us a good restaurant recommendation. The rooms were nice and breakfast was good. Great value for the money. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#37 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#29 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#58 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#32 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#59 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Cavour, 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Suites Europa located in the historical centre of Florence, is just a few steps away from the Cathedral of the Duomo, the railway station S.M. Novella and the Academy Gallery with the David of Michelangelo. Family managed, it has been recently renovated and offers its guests standard and suite rooms, most of them with a splendid view of Brunelleschi's Dome and Giotto's Bell Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing