We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Nearby Hotels
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$265
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$227
$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$264
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$378
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$233
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$353
$312
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$264
$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$188
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$675
$651
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
369
231
27
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
231
27
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfour poster bedquiet streetflorentine stylehome from homeminute walkenjoyed our staya great place to staywithin walking distancetea coffeeon foottrain stationfirst floorvisit florencebed and breakfastthree nightsmajor attractions
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 642 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed 5 nights in Room number 2 and the large 4 poster bed was awful, the mattress was so hard I was in tears the first night and had to try and aline pillows to get any sort of comfort. When I said something to reception they just agreed the bed was hard!
The photos of Residenza 1 Johanna are taken under lamplight and must be touched up as in reality the place is shabby, although the room was large the toilet and bathroom tiny. They also advertise mini-bar, but this is a tiny plastic thing, with no room, that doesn't keep anything cold and is noisy. Air conditioning ancient and so noisy I had to turn it off and throw the windows open.
Breakfast was included in my tariff but they don't serve it early enough if you are going out on a tour or leaving early for train etc. I only had 1 breakfast because of this and it was all cold nothing hot was available.
The only upside was free WiFi and that you could make a tea/ coffee and a piece of plain cake was available at any time.
The locks to get into the place were ridiculous, 1 for the front gate, 1 for the building, 1 for the Residence entrance and 1 for the room and they all stuck or took you ages to get open and nobody to call on to assist you after 2000. I was afraid to go out in the evening because of the fear of not being able to get in.
They also charged City Tax that was not disclosed at any time until check-out. I was not charged this in any other place I stayed at in Italy.
Do not stay at this Hotel overpriced for a shabby, no service out of town residence. It ruined my experience of Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJB1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illyfirenze, Manager at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear guest from Christchurch, New Zealand,
We were very sorry to read your comment.
We are trying to do our best to satisfy our guests needs and requests yet it is not always easy, since every person has its own need and taste, that not necessarily meet with those of others.
We, nevertheless, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us as it helps to improve.
Johanna I is located in a nineteenth century building - a fact highly considered by us as well as by our guests. Our residence was recently renovated, while few original and precious antique details, like doors, floors and furniture, were dearly preserved as it represent our style and philosophy.
As to the set of keys given upon checking-in, they merely allow each guest to independently come and go as he please enhancing the notion of staying at one’s home.
Room number 2, with its comfy and romantic wooden four-poster bed, is highly appreciated by our guests and, actually, is one of the favorite. The mattress, as in all of our rooms, is a healthy one and new.
The city-tax is not our personal initiative but a tax introduced by Florence City Hall since July 2011, of which our guests can read in the informative paper put in every room as well as in the hall.
At last, our great satisfaction is the daily fare-well of our guests as they go on with their journey, saying goodbye with tears of joy and nostalgia, happy to have stayed with us and promising to recommend our residence to family and friends and, hopefully, to come back again.
We send you our warm regards
Ilanit & Luca
Johanna I’s Managements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Nice place to stay in Firenze. Not for from the center, rather quiet, comfortable, clean rooms, helpful staff.

Try Trattoria Tito closeby!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illyfirenze, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear guests from Gand, Belgio,

thank you very much for your concise and beautiful review - with few words you just said it all, all that matters.
We wish to welcome you again in our residence and until then we send you our warmest regards from Firenze

All the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Apart from the fact that it is not on the center but 20 minutes by foot, everything else was perfect.
the rooms were big (only the WC was quite small), very clean and nice decorated. The reception was amazingly helpful and friendly and provided us with maps and all kinds of tips and advises.
If you want to spent an authentic experience in Florence, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear guests from Athens, Greece,

thank you so very much for your beautiful and kind words!
it was our pleasure having you all here with us and we must say that we are also very happy that Greece remains in the EU since europe owe so much to Greece.
So thank you again and really hope to see you on your next trip to Italy.

Our warmest regards to you and your beautiful country
From all the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel lies some distance from the center of town, but one has the choice between a twenty minutes walk or a bus. We used one of the options proposed by the Residenza for parking, quite nearby, and felt lucky to have got rid of the car.
The reception by the hotel was friendly and helpful. We received a recommendation for a nearby restaurant (Da Tito) and it proved to be remarkably good.
The house in which the Residenza is located has charm and the same goes for the antique lift and the Residenza's entrance hall. Our room was pleasant and adequately equipped and the internet connection worked well. The breakfast room was OK as was the breakfast but not more than that. We appreciated the availabilty of free coffee and tea and an honesty bar in the hall. We felt happy to have found this address in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear guests from Lasne, Belgium,

thank you very much for your remarkable review - we will cherish the good words as well as your comment regarding breakfast since our prime interest is giving you a better service.
We would happily host you again in our residence on your next trip to Florence!

Our warmest regards
All the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Visited Florence, Italy May 15-18 and stayed at Residenza Johanna 1 and we were not dissappointed. The place is so central, secure and very clean. The staff were so great and helpful and spoke fluent english.

We would not hesitant to recommend staying at Residenza Johanna 1 to our family and friends.

Oh, and yes, the breakfast was great!

Cheers,
Ramon and Agnes M
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear Ramon & Agnes from Vancouver, Canada,

thank you very much for your words and for sharing your experience.
We are glad we have met your expectations and we will be glad to reconfirm them
on your next italian travel!
It was lovely having you here so please accept our warmest regards
from the very warm Florence

All the staff of Johanna I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews