We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was the icing on our wedding! A great choice for a reception”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #68 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place was the icing on our wedding! A great choice for a reception”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

During September 2009 my wife and I were married in Florence at the Anglican church of St Marks, we then had our reception at Villa la vedetta.
We were a wedding group of 22 people mixed with family and friends and had such a wonderful time here. We must firstly say that having made a weekend trip to Florence back in March earlier that year to find a suitable location for our reception, we initially went out to view various venues we had seen onthe internet, but unfortunately most dissapointed us due to a number of points, such as the actual location, freindliness of staff or being too expensive for our budget amongst a few reasons. During our last day we found ourselves wandering about quite down hearted wondering if we would ever find our dream reception and then all of a sudden we stumbled upon the grounds of Villa La veddetta; initially thinking this very upper class place would be far in excess of our budget, we decided that we had nothing to lose and so walked in and asked to see the manager. To our amazement the staff were extremely friendly and curteous and sat us down with a free glass of proceco before the manager came to sit and discuss our requirements. His name: Andrea Luxoro. He was extremely accommodating to our small budget requirement and insisted they could set out a table for 22 persons under the pergola near the pool without paying a set fee! (this position was so romantic) and all he would charge us for would be the meal per head, which was less than 50 Euros per head and at that price would throw in 10 bottles of good locally produced wine! We were overwhelmed and actually thought it was too good to be true, but Andrea was true to his word and kept in constant contact with us by email during the 5 months leading up to our big day and was extremely patient and helpful as we changed some of the meal courses once or twice. Once we arrived at our reception the sun was shining, the drinks were flowing and the meal and service were nothing other than world class! Allthough we didn't stay over night, the staff were nice enough to take us to the Penthouse suite roof top to have some photos taken and these happen to be our best photos! The views are just unbelievable. All in all this place really did put the icing on what was the best day of our lives! If you are conssidering a location for your wedding reception look no further than Vlla La Veddetta. A true gem in terms of beauty, location, service, friendliness and allthough we didn't stay over night, the value to simply have your wedding reception here is extremely reasonable. Speak to the manager Andrea and he will negotiate and realise your Italian dream wedding!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawrie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    86
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
98
310
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolquere, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

This hotel is lauded as being one of the best, including having an excellent restaurant, and that is exactly why we booked it. Having spent five (originally 6 ) nights there recently, I can categorically state that although it has the location to proverbially die for, the attention to detail lets it down. This was agreed with other travellers who were staying at the same time.
When a hotel is stated as being one of the best, it's staff and it's facilities MUST match the expectations of its guests ALL of the time.
We were welcomed charmingly, although the receptionist was surprised we were staying for so many nights. Our rooms was beautiful, comfortable and matched our expectations including on the first night the usual turn down, a little evening tasty placed by our pillows and little towel mat each side of the bed. Unfortunately only once more did we get this service and that was on the Saturday night within our stay. We expected this each night and it should have taken place but it didn't. It was unacceptable to be haphazard.
If you expect a fitness centre, forget it. There are only 3 fitness machines.
Daily at about 5 pm the Hotel provides an urn of hot water for guests including infusions/teas to be enjoyed in their main guest lounge. The Urn sometimes worked and sometimes did not, necessitating the staff to bring hot water to the room.
The wifi link was advertised as being provided within each room. Ours did not work in our room (apparently a software problem) but it wasn't sorted whilst we were there.
The hard wire connection in the guest lounge worked sometimes or not at all. Silly things but errors within their service levels that should have been remedied but weren't.
We enjoyed many a good meal in and around Florence fortunately finding restaurants that locals were eating in and not those frequented by other tourists.
One night we decided to use the Hotel Restaurant, the ONICE.
We informed reception we would have a table at 8.30pm ish, ‘no problem’ and duly arrived. We were given a glass of Prosecco, not offered anything else, and at 9.30 pm we were shown to our table. The maitre d' tried to get us to take the tasting menu and the accompanying wines but as restaurateurs we wanted to enjoy the a la carte and order a wine of our choice (the wine list was requested 3 times!). We believe we were the only table being different, who knows, but that is what we wanted and here we were in an alleged Michelin star restaurant receiving awful service both from front of house and subsequently the kitchen. Remember it had taken an hour to be seated, they didn’t have the wine we chose, then food was incredibly slow in arriving, our main course arrived 2 hours after being seated. The food was not hot and my fish was overcooked. We were disappointed. We chose not to have a dessert but gracefully retire, at which point the maitre d’ arrived bearing two desserts with the compliments of the house! It did not appease us! We informed reception that we were very disappointed and they just shrugged their shoulders!
On one day various who were staying arrived back at around 5 pm to enjoy some relaxation, with an infusion, in the main guest lounge only to find that it had been allocated to a ‘meeting’ and was unavailable. We were offered a much smaller room to use. The attendees of the ‘meeting’ had ‘breaks’ every 15/20 minutes and irritatingly kept leaving the hotel front door open whilst they enjoyed a cigarette outside. Of course all the smoke was blown back into the hotel and instead of the hotel staff managing this, we had to keep asking them to shut the door.
Our room was not cleaned properly (dust accumulated), the grouting was mildewy and stained, more in keeping with a budget hotel, and the toilet seat became detached and was not mended. We curtailed our visit and left one day early! And guess what, they got our bill wrong!!
In conclusion, the Hotel staff appeared not to have a leader/manager or someone to make sure that ALL guest facilities were as perfect as the location. Shame

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssandtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Florence and Villa La Vedetta was the second stop during our Italian tour this November. Florence itself is a relatively small city so after arriving at the train station we were only a short 15 minute taxi ride up to the hotel. Villa La Vedetta is not in the heart of the city's center but it's beauty is the the opportunity to wake up and enjoy the postcard views of all of Florence from your room or the hotel's terrace. The Villa is very charming and picturesque from all angles ... adorable common rooms where they serve tea and biscuits, comfortable and elegant suites and relaxing views from both the garden and the hotel's terrace. They also have a pool which would have been fabulous to dive into during our stay but decided against it to avoid the November chill.

Villa la Vedetta is a short 100 meter walk away from the popular Piazza Michelangelo where you have the opportunity to take in the expansive view of Florence and it's surrounding hills OR admire the bronze replica of the "David". As I mentioned earlier, the Villa isn't placed centrally in Florence therefore you have a couple options to get to the city's center. You can hike the 20 minute trek down the hill and across the Ponte Vechio bridge, take the complementary shuttle from the Villa which drops you off near the city center, or catch a taxi. We like to be adventurous and active so opted to do the hike on most days. If you choose to take the shuttle keep in mind that it runs from 9am - 7pm so if you are taking a late dinner you may need to think of an alternative route to getting back to the Villa at night. If you decide to hike up the hill back to the hotel, the trail is very safe and you will often see other tourists or locals walking the same path.

The only downside we had was the odors that came from the restroom in our room. During the mornings we often smelled a 'sewage' smell.

Overall we had a wonderful and relaxing time at Villa La Vedetta and would recommend it to other travelers looking for a peaceful stay away from the hustle of the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

This is true luxury - a boutique hotel with outstanding service , and exquisite food in the restaurant, Onice. Fantastic breakfast - all cooked to order and array of fresh fruit and produce. We held our wedding reception here and it was truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzMcEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This is a truly magical hotel. It must have the best view bar none in Europe overlooking the city. The staff were all delightful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was spotless and comfortable. We did not stay for dinner but judging by the breakfast the food was excellent too. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Cassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I organized a surprise to my wife for the day corresponding to our 10th wedding anniversary. Amongst different 5 stars hotel throughout Europe, I chose Villa La Vedetta ... and our stay was extraordinary.

Obviously the views from the hotel and from our suite were breathtaking; that is evidently not the sole fabulous point for this hotel. The service is perfect, the restaurant totally deserves one star at the Michelin guide.

At the end of the afternoon in Florence, it is such a relief to call the Hotel's shuttle to quit the busy streets and return to the peaceful and romantic atmosphere of Villa La Vedetta.

This hotel together with the city of Florence are definitely a perfect destination for unforgettable and very romantic holidays

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2009

La Vedetta is in the top range.
The loaction is fantastic a stone away from the Michelangelio plaza.
The romantic suite was very comfortable and room features are of what you can expect for the range.
What makes it a special place is staff friendlyness, genuine smiles and interest in customers satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slyandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Il Salviatino
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing