We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical time in Florence”
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #68 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A beautiful setting for our stay, high on the hills, with panoramic views over Florence. Friendly and courteous staff very willing to help. Excellent rooms, well appointed, very clean and luxuriously finished. Terrace and swimming pool provide a welcome break from the City; shuttle bus makes all the difference - so easy to be in and out of Florecne despite the climb. Food is excellent albeit the menu is relatively limited so after one or two nights eating in, it's time for more choice in Florence itself. Breakfast is good. Overall an excellent stay and a place we will return to.

Room Tip: Take mosquito spray if you are prone to reaction to bites! Make sure you get a room with a view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 564 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This italian villa is amazing in every way I am so definitely comming back! The service is a real 5 star, super friendly staff, the grounds are breathtaking! Seriously is the definition of perfection! I read other reviews and maybe poeple were just unlucky as I couldnt believe the negative reviews! Breakfast is soo good, loved sitting outside for breakfast with amazing views, so relaxing! While sighteeing in Florence all I could think of was how much I couldnt wait to go back to the hotel! Piazza michelangelo its so nice for pictures which is just like 1 min walk from the hotel! Our room was spacious and great views and so was the bathroom, loved all the amenities (bathrobe, sleepers etc..) When we came back from sightseeing we had fresh italian fruit in our room,, nice touch! I have no negatives at all from my stay in this property! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aradelarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Aradelarosa,

thank you so much for your review in Tripadvisor!
We really appreciated your kind and positive words about our Villa La Vedetta and your very very nice pictures you posted with your opinion.

Looking forward to welcoming you again @ Villa La Vedetta we send you all our

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here twice on a recent trip. On the first occasion ( a single night) the room had great views into the front garden but was compact. Our second stay (3 nights) we overlooked the Arno River across to the Duomo and Florence - the room was much larger with a separate living area and roomy bedroom and bathroom. Service was extremely good and the food in the restaurant was absolutely superb.
Wonderful views/sunsets - an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Florence. A short stroll to Piazzale Michelangio and a quick cab ride (or complimentary hotel shuttle) into town across the river. Only negative was not being allowed to take breakfast on the Terrace for some reason we still don't understand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Arno River - views are better - rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Bevis6,

Thank you very much for your twice stay at Villa La Vedetta and for your positive review in Tripadvisor!

We really appreciated your positive words about all the services and features enjoyed during your stays and we took note of your suggestion about the location of morning breakfast.

I hope to see you soon in Florence and at our Villa La Vedetta.

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have chosen this hotel after reading about it in Trip advisor .We booked through Booking.com . The place is very nice ...well maintained , clean and has a great terrace ,but the room was very small and 2 people are a bit too much for the size of the room. I marked average just because of the room ...maybe other rooms are bigger but the one we got was almost impossible to be in .

Stuff are very nice friendly and very helpful .
It is not in the center of Florence but still not that far ...

WIFI was poor and if you need to use it don't count on it ...

All in all a nice experience but I don't think we felt it was worth the money and probably will not return to this place

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Given, the jacuzzi in the bathroom was broken, and there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms: every other aspect of the Vila was impeccable and of a exceptional 5* standard. My advice would be to disregard some of the discourteous reviews on here: the staff were warm; and went out of their way to create such a sensational Tuscan experience. The prices were indeed hyper inflated (25 Euros for a Club Sandwich and 10 Euros for French Fries); alas; there is a camp shop next door or the renowned Piazza Michelangelo next door to stock on more realistic essentials. However, as a seasoned traveller, I cannot recommend this Villa strongly for an extra-special holiday escapade (and yes, I would return - with BELLS on!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our splurge in Italy... A very cool hotel in an excellent location. Tip...if you are renting a car in Italy & need free parking, this a great choice. A little pricey, but certainly secure. Excellent views & within walking distance to the duomo. Great service/staff. Beautiful grounds. Only had the breakfast, but it was quite good. Highly recommend the Villa!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizona-griswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughters wedding reception was held here May 30 2013- the food was superb and the staff friendly and helpful, the views from the terrace over Florence is stunning - we had a wonderful day/evening here, would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: for service and stunning location its a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiles2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review in Tripadvisor!

We are very delighted to have been the perfect scenario of wedding reception of your daughter.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to share with you some other emotions, we send you all our

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,013 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 410 in Florence
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
413 reviews
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#17 of 410 in Florence
786 reviews
Il Salviatino
#83 of 410 in Florence
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#45 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $214 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing