We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #48 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wanted to visit Florence for 3 days but we did not want to be in the heart of the town since we had a car. We stayed at Villa la Vedetta, and just loved it. It is a mansion with 18 rooms very quaint and relaxing. It sits above the Florene so you have a wonderful view of the Florence. The room, the pool the patio are all amazing as well as the staff. It is a 15-20 min walk to the town which was very nice for us. They also have a set shuttle to take you to town but the shuttle is not running all the time so if you want to take it make sure you check on the timetable for when it runs. We did not use the shuttle as we wanted to walk and enjoy the scenery, it is a nice walk but we made a best out of it. We also did not use their restaurant so can't say much about their dinning. We will defiantly go back to the this hotel next time we are in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FireSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear FireSpark,
thank you so much for your review in Tripadvisor!
We really appreciated your kind words about our Villa La Vedetta and your very nice pictures you posted with your opinion.
Looking forward to welcoming you again we send you all our

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    84
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
91
302
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A fantastic hotel in an ideal setting. Spectacular views over Florence from the terrace and the convenience of a shuttle bus to drop and pick up by the Ponte Vecchio. The staff were extremely helpful and everywhere was very clean. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite as we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It was situated at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith_s_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Judith,
thank you so much for sharing your positive opinion about Villa La Vedetta on Tripadvisor!
We were very happy to have been the romantic "scenario" of your anniversary trip in Florence and we are waiting for your next romantic break.
Kindest Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for four nights in this lovely find of a hotel. We were in room 205 overlooking the gardens at the front of the hotel, it was decorated with yellow and ochre silk furnishings which went beautifully with the dark parquet floor, the glorious bathroom was marble and both were spacious and light . Two windows with shutters.Ortigia products in the bathroom along with the hairdryer and more than enough towels including flannels. No tissues or cotton wool or nail files but im sure if we had asked for some, it would not have been a problem. Mosquito plug in with tablets located in the wardrobe. Housekeeping was of a high standard. All the staff were very professional and polite, nothing was too much trouble. It really is very smart but not a stuffy hotel .The views from the terrace overloooking Florence are quite spectacular. The pool is not heated and was still too cold to swim unfortunately, but you are provided with towels and the pads on the sunbeds are very comfortable.The food in the restaurant is very well presented and of the highest quality.Breakfast is well laid out and there is a good choice of fruit juices,fruit, cheese, smoked salmon,meats,cereals and jogurts. Every afternoon there is complimentary tea and cake served in the lounge, a very nice touch and eagerly consummed by us weary tourists. It was so lovely to return to the beauty and peacefullness of the Villa La Vedetta after the hustle and bustle only a 20 minute walk away. While the shuttle bus was a definate plus. We would definately stay in this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJackWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear JJack,
thank you so much for your review in Tripadvisor!
You perfectly described your room, the features & services and the atmosphere that every Guest can find at Villa La Vedetta during thier stay.
We hope to welcome you again in our Villa.
Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel used to be a mini-castle and has the relevant architecture, view, location and great furnishing! The hotel is not located in the centre, but over the hill next to Piazzale Michelangelo and it is about 15-20 walking distance to the historical centre. I saw different types of rooms and I would suggest to book city-view room as they are larger. Next to the main building there is an additional smaller one, where the rooms are very small and it is better to avoid. The restaurant is great! The staff is very friendly, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review in Tripadvisor!
We appreciated your words regarding your stay, the hotel staff and the restaurant. Villa La Vedetta boasts a main building but also our "Villetta Romantica", a pretty depandance where we have our cosy romantic rooms with view out on our Italian style garden.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa La Vedetta, we send you all our

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Incredible view overlooking Florence. If you are in decent shape, walking into Florence is fairly easy, else a shuttle is provided to the City entrance. Shuttles do not run all the time so check to see when if you think you will need one. Also, the cost of a taxi to and from is reasonable. The rooms were very nice. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Also, the people at the hotel were extremely helpful when my flight was cancelled the evening before I was to depart. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear EjTraveller,

thank you much for sharing your stary experience in Tripadvisor!

We feel very proud when we read comments like yours, our main goal is to ensure that all our clients are satisfactied.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property overall, our wonderful view on Florence, the room, the staff and the services provided to you.

Best Wishes

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful location providing a stunning view over Florence. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was well appointed and the amenities provided were luxurious. We enjoyed the walk in to and back from the centre of Florence, which was in itself very nice. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle which we did not need to use as the walk was so enjoyable. Breakfast was over priced, and as I eat gluten free of poor value. In terms of all the hotels I stayed at during my recent trip to Italy this was the worst for gluten free options at breakfast. Despite this, this hotel would be my first choice when in
Florence.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineA711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Catherine,

thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor!

We really appreciated your kind words about Villa La Vedetta, the services, the room, the view on the Florence's skyline.
We have spoken with our Maitre about your observations about the gluten free options at breakfast and we are researching some new optiions.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our beutiful city, we send you all our

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Perfect hotel above Florence, it's a short walk to the Piazella Michelangelo, beautiful views. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that. Shuttle runs only twice a day so if you miss the evening shuttle, consider a taxi to return or it's a long UP-HILL climb coming back.
Wonderful little pizzeria on the walk in, it's at the bottom of the long stairs leading you down into Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VillaLaVedetta, Direttore at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Jab,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor!

We really appreciate your kind words after your stay at our Villa.

We hope that you will choose Villa la Vedetta for your next trip to Florence and that you will have the opportunity to try our varied buffet breakfast served every day in our gazebo and enriched by the wonderful view on Florence's skyline.

Best Regards

Antonio Dondiego
General Manager
Villa La Vedetta*****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#13 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#18 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Il Salviatino
#72 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#88 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing