We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lovely Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #61 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Lovely Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and we could not have stayed in a better place. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel really welcome. We were taken to our room and it turned out that the hotel had very kindly upgraded us to one of the suites. It was a gorgeous room with the most beautiful view over the city. All the staff were excellent with special mention of Valentina who went out of her way to make our stay so fantastic.
The Villa itself is a beautiful old building set up high on the outskirts of Florence, with wonderful panoramic views over the City. It was a pleasure to come back to the quiet surroundings after a busy day in the bustle of the City. The courtesy car into Florence was a really nice touch and very useful. If you are going to Florence, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Florence and if you can, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    84
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
94
304
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful villa a couple of hundred meters from Piazella Michelangelo with a superb view of Firenze and the surrounding mountains. Friendly, beautifully decorated, wonderful service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_Steiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, thats y we cant try every bits of the facilities here, but the service here was excellent, feel like a home away from home, people may thought this place was far away from city, but VLV gpt free shuttle service and we can actually walk down to town.
breathtaking view with nice people.
I will definitely visit here again in the future.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very handy for those travelers who are driving! My newlywed wife and I planned a driving tour of northern Italy with this hotel being our second stop. Villa La Vedetta is grand and luxurious in service and appearance alike. Lots of marble, I believe our entire bathroom was made of marble. The bed although large was not very comfortable I recall.

The front desk manager was extremely helpful, including providing assistance with museum ticket booking.

The hotel has a shuttle that runs every half hour back and forth to town. We didn’t take advantage of the shuttle, we walked. This is only recommended for those of a more athletic nature as the hotel sits on the hill by the Piazzale Michelangelo. We also did not use the spa, it did look nice though.

The breakfast is absolutely stunning! A bountiful variety of; meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, pastries, cold/hot cereals, to name only a portion. Unfortunately, the restaurant, in the hotel’s lower level, leaves much to be desired. Overpriced, under portioned and sadly to say unsatisfactory servers. The food was decent from the kitchen, just not enough of it for the large price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing out towards the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caffy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a short walk out of town and away from all the hype. Service was impeccable, Room well appointed with everything you could require. The breakfast was a little light on for the overall standard of the place and I must admit we did feel disappointed after everything else was so nice.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking Florence city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December and loved this hotel.
We found the staff to be friendly, the lady on reception spoke very good English and was very informative about Florence. The porter was lovely, always there to help with bags, always friendly and the free shuttle service into the centre was great as the walk back is up a steep hill.
We found the minibar to be well stocked and very reasonable in price. We felt very safe in our room and in the area of Florence the hotel was. The car park was free which was really good.
The room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean.
Couldn't fault anything about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judithb1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in Florence like many tourists. Terribly disappointed with the management. Got robbed in broad daylight in the hotel! everything was dug out of the room safe. Hotel almost refused to give us another room after the door has been broken. No compensation whatsoever by the hotel. Not even compassionate about the whole event as if its a common thing and we were just unlucky to be there. Couldn't catch the thieves because apparently the cctv camera didn't work or some excuse. definitely won't be returning to this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank stormystormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
we apologize for the delay in answering . I am colecting more and detailed informations about that week . I will get back to you very soon .
Thank you very much for your attention

Roberto Bocccaelli
Guest Relation Manager
Hotel Villa la Vedetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
#95 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing