We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basically the best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Vedetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Vedetta
Ranked #36 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basically the best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, thats y we cant try every bits of the facilities here, but the service here was excellent, feel like a home away from home, people may thought this place was far away from city, but VLV gpt free shuttle service and we can actually walk down to town.
breathtaking view with nice people.
I will definitely visit here again in the future.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    79
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
288
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very handy for those travelers who are driving! My newlywed wife and I planned a driving tour of northern Italy with this hotel being our second stop. Villa La Vedetta is grand and luxurious in service and appearance alike. Lots of marble, I believe our entire bathroom was made of marble. The bed although large was not very comfortable I recall.

The front desk manager was extremely helpful, including providing assistance with museum ticket booking.

The hotel has a shuttle that runs every half hour back and forth to town. We didn’t take advantage of the shuttle, we walked. This is only recommended for those of a more athletic nature as the hotel sits on the hill by the Piazzale Michelangelo. We also did not use the spa, it did look nice though.

The breakfast is absolutely stunning! A bountiful variety of; meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, pastries, cold/hot cereals, to name only a portion. Unfortunately, the restaurant, in the hotel’s lower level, leaves much to be desired. Overpriced, under portioned and sadly to say unsatisfactory servers. The food was decent from the kitchen, just not enough of it for the large price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing out towards the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caffy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is a short walk out of town and away from all the hype. Service was impeccable, Room well appointed with everything you could require. The breakfast was a little light on for the overall standard of the place and I must admit we did feel disappointed after everything else was so nice.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking Florence city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December and loved this hotel.
We found the staff to be friendly, the lady on reception spoke very good English and was very informative about Florence. The porter was lovely, always there to help with bags, always friendly and the free shuttle service into the centre was great as the walk back is up a steep hill.
We found the minibar to be well stocked and very reasonable in price. We felt very safe in our room and in the area of Florence the hotel was. The car park was free which was really good.
The room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean.
Couldn't fault anything about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judithb1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Our first time in Florence like many tourists. Terribly disappointed with the management. Got robbed in broad daylight in the hotel! everything was dug out of the room safe. Hotel almost refused to give us another room after the door has been broken. No compensation whatsoever by the hotel. Not even compassionate about the whole event as if its a common thing and we were just unlucky to be there. Couldn't catch the thieves because apparently the cctv camera didn't work or some excuse. definitely won't be returning to this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank stormystormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
we apologize for the delay in answering . I am colecting more and detailed informations about that week . I will get back to you very soon .
Thank you very much for your attention

Roberto Bocccaelli
Guest Relation Manager
Hotel Villa la Vedetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed 6 nights at Villa La Vedetta the last week of November. We found the staff to be wonderful--friendly, efficient, and helpful. We stayed in the Bella Vista suite (incredible view!) and it was very nice. Quite spacious, clean, and nicely furnished. It was great to have two bathrooms and the second floor space worked well for my daughter. We opted to have breakfast included and this was a good decision. They offer a nice selection of breakfast foods and the serving time was long enough for early days as well as lazier days. The location is good--as other reviewers indicated, it is about a 15 minute walk into downtown Florence--uphill on the return. The hotel has a shuttle but we mostly walked, even in November when it was cool and rainy. Little things made the stay easier--plenty of plugs to charge electronic devices, bath slippers to keep your feet warm since they have marble floors, small safe for passports, jewelry, etc. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcmibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberto b, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa La Vedetta, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review . Our best satisfaction is to be able to grant a memorable stay to all guests as in your recent one .
Awaiting to welcome you again at VLV we all send wish you Happy Christmas and Happy New Year.

Roberto Boccacelli
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great position ..from some of the rooms you can overlook the city of Florence.
very nice staff..they are always at your disposal and you feel welcome since from the arrival..
and it does not change over the stay.
rooms are renovated and clean..
we had a superior delux with a good space....
one of the best breakfast buffets ever.... great choice and beautiful decoration
the bar in the under floor is not really great, and the restaurant was empty .. probably due to the season.. but the food was good.
the only negative point was that wifi did not work... after a heavy thunder storm over Florence the day before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Il Salviatino
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Torre Di Bellosguardo
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Vedetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Vedetta

Property: Villa La Vedetta
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 78, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#88 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Vedetta 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true 'Urban Resort' unique in Florence. Romantic neo-renaissance villa, today a lavish hotel of only 18 deluxe rooms and suites in exclusive panoramic position on Piazzale Michelangelo, with breathtaking view of Florence only a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa La Vedetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Vedetta Hotel Florence
Hotel La Vedetta
Boutique Hotel La Vedetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing