We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond expectation”
Review of Relais Villa Antea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Villa Antea
Ranked #6 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service beyond expectation”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful Villa Antea

Firstly, a confession. I forgot to log the location of Villa Antea into my GPS and the GPS didn't recognise the address. Big mistake.
Coming up the freeway from Rome it was twilight by the time we got to Florence, and the road signs are not clear to a foreigner who has little Italian. There are several Florence exits, but which one to take. Our choice did not lead onto a major road into Florence. We got off the freeway into a village, asked directions and ended up a mountain! Called Villa Antea who tried to work out where we were and help us back. Stopped and asked another local and went up another mountain! This was getting bad. Lost in the dark. Constantly on the phone to Villa Antea too. I had a map of Florence in my mind and knew we had to cross a big river, but had not seen one.
Eventually found the river bridge, navigated through the city, and managed to find ourselves on the one way street that Villa Antea is on, but couldn't travel that way and went round the block again. All in all took about 2 1/2 hours from the freeway to Villa Antea!

Meanwhile the staff at Villa Antea were taking our calls and waiting for us to arrive past last check in time. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP AND PATIENCE.

On arrival we were warmly greeted at the gate, and shown to our room.
We were so impressed with the room. But the bathroom was something else. I'm still undecided if it is the best or 2nd best bathroom I have ever had in any accommodation. Anywhere. Ever. And my number one feature in rating any accommodation is the bathroom. After a stressful journey that shower is the best relaxant.

Next morning we checked out our bags, but left the car at Villa Antea and walked into the city centre to see the sights and do some shopping before leaving for Milan. For us it's not far, 20 minutes or so, and the walk takes you past so many sights it is well worthwhile.

Many thanks to the owners and staff at Villa Antea for your kindness and letting us enjoy your beautiful villa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAtraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    81
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
114
650
22
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in this charming B&B in mid January for three nights. It was like stepping into a fairy tale. The accommodations were very spacious...and the bathrooms were huge! We had the room with the free standing tub! So lovely! Breakfasts were fantastic and made to order eggs were never a problem. Yes, there is no elevator. Not a big issue really when you walk up that beautiful staircase and see what awaits you. It is a bit off the beaten path, but never a problem getting a taxi. We had them arrange a half day tour of the Chianti region for us. It was a wonderful experience and I highly suggest it. Stay here, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful~
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Winterbreak in Florence! For the first time we chose to live in BB housing, and how luxurious it was! All the pictures in the website are true, you start laughing when entering the bathroom and the rooms were surprisingly large.
Everything was so clean, so beautifully decorated, the beds were excellent and the breakfast very good.
Five star is minimum for this wonderful Villa Antea.

The area is very nice, all the restaurants, ofcourse were highly recommendable.

You can easily walk to the Dome but we used the local bus just to feel the athmosphere !
next time in Florence we would definatelly choose same housing for our trip..

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet room...they are planning to have new windows also on the streetside of the house..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EijaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Antea for three nights from 18 to 21 January and genuinely couldn't fault our time there. The rooms are glorious with huge bathrooms, comfortable beds, quality bedlinen, a mini bar with snacks and tea and coffee making facilities. Florina serves up a wonderful breakfast every morning with the most delicious coffees. The leaflet and map we were provided with on arrival were a hugely helpful touch and there is always someone on reception during the day to ask questions of. Likewise being able to borrow umbrellas during an unseasonably wet period was invaluable.

Walking into the centre of Florence is easy and takes about 15 minutes. Alternatively there are good bus routes for those who have walked themselves to death! Take the bus just around the corner to Piazzale Michelangelo for the most spectacular view of the city.

There were a number of restaurant recommendations which we chose from and weren't disappointed. Be sure to visit the Queen Victoria restaurant just before you reach the Ponte Vecchio for the most amazing gelato.

The only problem with our break in Florence was that it was too short. We hope to go back some day soon and would definitely stay at Villa Antea again. It will be like going home. Thanks to everyone there for making our stay so comfortable and for being so welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Only one night in the heat of mid August, but it was really a great time. Clean as a whistle, friendly gal at the desk and very helpful. The rooms are as nice as the pictures suggest. Nothing bad to say about the place. The guide they offer has great restaurant and sight seeing suggestions, some of them obvious, others off the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannon637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Two months later, Villa Antea and the warm and caring staff remain at the very top of the list of my favorite things in Florence AND Rome AND Venice. It was absoutely perfect for me and my husband to celebrate part of our honeymoon and we will try never to plan a trip to Florence that doesn't include Villa Antea.

We felt welcome and were pampered from the moment we got to the front gate. Beautiful and charming smiles were in abundance, as were absolutely super recommendations and assistance with reservations and directions. The pamphlet they have prepared as a city guide for their guests is terrific as well.

The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was immense. The breakfasts were simply delicious, varied, and plentiful and the coffee...oh the coffee was just scrumptious.

We walked everywhere, and who wouldn't in Florence, as even the door knockers are artwork! Each time we returned, we felt we were coming back home...only better. MUCH better.

One of our favorite spots in the neighborhood was "il panino di categoria"; they joyfully celebrated my birthday with us and made us feel like locals. Don't miss them!

You will be a BIG hit with Marta, the Jack Russell, if you bring her a bone leftover from your Florentine steak!

Thanks to Diletta, Florina, Letizia and Valentina for a lifetime memory. We will see you again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesslev12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Villa Antea was the perfect place to stay in Florence. It is away from the crowds and tourist areas so it allows you to feel like you live in the city! It is within walking distance to all of the main sights and fabulous restaurants. The bathrooms are enormous and the beds super comfortable. The rooms are very large. The level of service was outstanding. Florina takes care of you at breakfast and makes delicious eggs, coffee and hot chocolate, in addition to the great spread that is available. Restaurant recommendations were outstanding. In fact, we had a spread sheet of suggested restaurants from Villa Antea and refused to stray from it because they were all so fantastic and not in tourist areas. It is worth staying here for that list alone! We would love to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,130 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 675 in Florence
318 reviews
Il Giglio d'Oro
#3 of 675 in Florence
711 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 675 in Florence
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Antea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Antea

Property: Relais Villa Antea
Address: Via Francesco Puccinotti 46, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Antea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run yet luxurious B&B is located in one of the city's most charming neighborhoods, and only 15 minutes walking distance from the old town. With only six rooms, it is not just a bed and breakfast, but a little piece of paradise from where to discover the most authentic Florence. Villa Antea is the ideal choice for a romantic and quiet stay slightly outside the hustle of the city's everyday life. Each room is nicely decorated with satin fabrics and antique furniture. The bathrooms are large, entirely decorated with Carrara marble. A perfect atmosphere to relax before and after a walk in the city. Like a boutique hotel, Villa Antea has bright, cozy and particularly spacious rooms with very high ceilings. Upon your arrival we will give you a map of the city with the main attractions to visit and a little booklet with useful information about the B&B and Florence. Overall, Villa Antea offers our guests all the comfort and elegance of a top class hotel with a personalized attention. We are sure it will be a place you will long remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Relais Villa Antea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Antea Hotel Florence
Antea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing