We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, friendly, small hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Antea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Villa Antea
Ranked #6 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, friendly, small hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was our first stop on our first "couples romance" getaway. We then stayed in Splendide in Lugano and Tremezzo in Lake Como, just to give you a backround for my comparison.

This is a wonderful hotel made up of six rooms and lovely staff who are clearly dedicated to ensuring that you have a wonderful stay in Florence. Superb value for money as obvious attention to detail was given to every room, with massive marble bathrooms and power showers, free wifi (very rare in Italy) and a delicious breakfast.

However, here are some things that are not stated on their website that you should keep in mind:

*It is a SOLID 15-20 minute walk to the city "center", i.e. Duomo or the Ponte Vecchio, this might not be the best choice of hotel if you are travelling with small children. Please remember you cannot drive into the center.
*If you want to see the Accademia or the Uffizi Galleries you MUST tell the hotel staff, before your arrival in Florence and they will sort out the tickets for you. This was not made clear to us and if you are travelling from far and want to get the most from your trip you don't want to find out, once you've arrived, that it's "the one day of the year where museums are free", "you can't book tickets" or "there will be no lines etc." (There were lines, you could book tickets and they were only free after 7pm)
*This is a B&B, not a full service hotel.

Over all however, this is a charming, little hotel that won't break the bank and lets you have some of that Florentine magic!

Room Tip: There is no spa, pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onaiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    80
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
635
22
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

A very charming and friendly hotel. Very large rooms with extraordinary bathrooms. The staff is very helpful and we got good tips for sightseeing and dining. We will go there again and highly recommend that place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The B&B was magnificent!! The room lovely and spacious, the garden beautiful and peaceful, perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. And the walk to and from downtown easy and enjoyable. The staff....first rate....We highly recommend the Villa Antea!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjodicefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

A luxurious, traditionally furnished b&b. Our bedroom was perfect - clean and comfortable - and had a fabulous bathroom. The staff were helpful and charming. The only slight drawback was its distance from the city centre. If you don't mind that, definitely stay there!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pedro2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Villa Antea is a nice B&B to stay at. It is in a quieter part of Florence, away from the hustle and bustle, but close to public transportation. The staff is warm and welcoming, and they give a quick overview of the city as well as good restaurant recommendations. They have tour books available, and they will also book the tours for you (and arrange hotel pick-up if offered). My room was pretty large and it had a huge closet. The bathroom was a nice size as well. The only thing I was a little disappointed about was the breakfast. I realize that Americans eat different foods for breakfast, but it would be nice if we were able to order pancakes, french toast, or a warm breakfast pastry. **Tip-Make sure you book in advance. I did, but added a night later on and paid more for it. :-( Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

What a beautiful, romantic holiday! No children, dogs, cooking, cleaning just wonderful people at our hotel, amazing scenery in the City and scrumptious dinners out. We celebrated our anniversary in the evening with a wonderful meal at an historic restaurant called Taverna del Bronzino just a short walk from the hotel. So lovely to walk back in the evening. Florence is one of the most beautiful, walkable cities I have ever been in. The hotel staff and owners are so welcoming and helpful and informative, our stay was perfect!
We would definately stay at Villa Antea again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissietrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We really liked this luxurious b&b in Florencia.
Big spacious room and bathroom.
The breakfast was not enormous but products were very good quality. Thank you to Florina who took care of us during the breakfast: preparing the scrambled eggs and coffee.
The hotel also helped us with reservation to Uffizi and was very helpful in providing us with a lot of information regarding the sightseeing and dining.
Tip for the vegetarian resto saved our life! Already on the 3rd day we were fed up of eating pizzas & pastas & focaccias all day long! The veg resto situated just few min by foot from the Villa Antea was absolutely great!! Good quality food, delicious dolce's...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Il Giglio d'Oro
#3 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Antea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Antea

Property: Relais Villa Antea
Address: Via Francesco Puccinotti 46, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Antea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run yet luxurious B&B is located in one of the city's most charming neighborhoods, and only 15 minutes walking distance from the old town. With only six rooms, it is not just a bed and breakfast, but a little piece of paradise from where to discover the most authentic Florence. Villa Antea is the ideal choice for a romantic and quiet stay slightly outside the hustle of the city's everyday life. Each room is nicely decorated with satin fabrics and antique furniture. The bathrooms are large, entirely decorated with Carrara marble. A perfect atmosphere to relax before and after a walk in the city. Like a boutique hotel, Villa Antea has bright, cozy and particularly spacious rooms with very high ceilings. Upon your arrival we will give you a map of the city with the main attractions to visit and a little booklet with useful information about the B&B and Florence. Overall, Villa Antea offers our guests all the comfort and elegance of a top class hotel with a personalized attention. We are sure it will be a place you will long remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Relais Villa Antea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Antea Hotel Florence
Antea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing