We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you are a guest, not a customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Ranked #156 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This small and cozy 3-star hotel is in my experience a tremendous midrange solution for a nice stay in Florence. A comfortable place with a double thumbs up for the homey environment and the location.

First note of merit: the homey environment. Special thanks to Marco - one of the brothers owners of the place - for the friendly attitude and for the many niceties during our stay: from walking the extra mile to make my wireless connection work, to making me use his own pc, to a free minibar consumption because "never mind, it doesn't matter". Second, the location, in a quite square by the Arno River, at just a short walk from the city center's major attractions, you get the upsides of city center staying without the crowd and the noise. Santa Maria Novella Train Station is also at less than a 10-minute walk. My room came with no frills but with everything in order. A rich continental breakfast was also included in the rate.

If your expectation is a comfortable and clean place to sleep and rest, conveniently located to explore the city, you will be perfectly fine. I have traveled to Florence many times over the years and you might easily end up in a place with more stars, comparable quality, double the price, where being treated as one of the millions of tourists who are known passing by Florence and never returning. Not here, where you are a guest and not a customer. I will definitely return here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

The hotel is within easy walking distance from the station. We arrived around 10-30 pm. and were expected. There is someone on duty 24 hrs so there are no worries if your flight is delayed.
Our room was typically Italian-- with open beamed ceiling and the warmest,snuggest bathroom we've ever had!! It was spotlessly clean, the bed was very big and comfortable with lovely crisp, clean linen. the mini bar is well stocked and replenished should you wish to use it, with reasonable prices.
At breakfast we had a very good choice of continental breads,croissants,pastries, as well as cheese, ham etc. Lovely coffee(or tea) with juice and water on your table. We were more than full to start our daily adventures!!
This is a small hotel,minimal staff(we only met two of them) But extremely well run. The staff/ owners were always on hand to help in any way but were never intrusive.
Everything in the city was an easy walk from the hotel and after a long day sight seeing it was great to have a shower in the warm, cosy bathroom!!
We would stey here again and recommend it to others.
The trip overall was a great success. We are novices at internet bookings etc. and were worried about connections from Pisa to florence, especially at night but we needn't have. Terravision are great! We pre-booked the bus on the net and it worked fine. You do get on the bus first with your booking so no worries about being turned down through it being full.
We're already missing Firenze and the lovely hotel Il Cestello.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banksy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

fantastic hotel! location is great. within ten min walk to the Duomo but just outside of the tourist belt. ergo, nice and quiet.
Rooms are big and clean. W TV and wifi and breakfast was superb! Same with Coffee!
The best part is it is being run and managed by Marco, the owner who is very helpful and friendly.
AAA+++ for this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bong318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for a week to explore Florence. Excellent little hotel right on the banks of the Arno, within 15 mins walk of centre, Ponte del Vecchio and major attractions. Great service. The hotel is very small and quiet. The local area is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

On the "other side" of the Arno within 10 minutes walk of the Ponte Vecchio, this is a great hotel. We had a view from our room of the dome of the Duomo. Easy walking distance to the center of Florence and to the train station. We walked there and back with our bags.

The air con worked great, which was super given how hot Florence was that week.

The only concern I had is that we had a single very dirty towel in our room when we checked in. Unfortunately I didn't notice it until I grabbed it to dry off after the shower.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiheiAkahiOfficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We went to Florence over Easter with our two children and really wanted to stay in a small, comfortable hotel which would make us and our two children feel welcome. This hotel was the perfect hotel for us. It is a small, clean hotel close to all the main attractions of this beautiful city. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there is an excellent restaurant just around the corner which was really convenient as we went there for dinner on the day we arrived. There is a fish restaurant just outside the hotel, but it was not recommended as being very good.
The staff were very polite and helpful and If you are looking for a family friendly hotel, then this hotel fits that description exactly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Nice hotel.Good location.My room was clean and had a good view with the river.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICK016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#121 of 411 in Florence
447 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#161 of 411 in Florence
734 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 411 in Florence
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#89 of 411 in Florence
437 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#176 of 411 in Florence
498 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 411 in Florence
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Address: Piazza di Cestello 9, 50124, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#90 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $65 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais il Cestello is an old structure used in the past as a post office that worked with horses and carrozze. The hotel looks on piazza di Cestello and from the windows you can see the beautiful church Cestello, the San frediano surroundings, Ognissanti church and the river Arno.San frediano is a very typical old florentine suburb where you may still find wood, leather, glass and jewelery shops. Close to the hotel you can visit piazza del Carmine, piazza Santo Spirito and not so far Pitti Palace.In fact Hotel Relais il Cestello is situated in the heart of Florence in a few minutes you can walk tO the central railway station, the Ponte Vecchio bridge, Piazza della Signoria and the beautiful streets such as via della Vigna Nuova, Via Tornabuoni, Via Strozzi piazza della Repubblica where you may shop in all the high fashion and antique stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing