We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Ranked #154 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a great choice for a hotel in Florence. It was just 10 minutes walk from railway station and Punta Vecchio - still in its own quiet environment. Florence can be pretty packed in summer season and for this area was like a "non-touristic oasis".
There are only 10 rooms in this hotel. I had reserved one person room and it was pretty small (but I checked from the room map that it was really half of the size than the other rooms). The rooms locate in the first floor and there is no lift. Staff helps gladly with the luggage if needed. Also otherwise staff was friendly and polite. My room had very effective air-conditioning. There was very good wifi that was fast (many hotels say that they have free wifi but it's so crappy that you have to wait for ages something to happen) and free safety box in the room. There are even slippers available.
The breakfast is served in the lobby and it includes rolls, jam, yoghurt, cereals, juice, coffee, tea, croissant and other pastries.
Borgo San Frediano street in the back of the hotel has mini market, great trattorias, cafes, shop that sells pizzaslices and beautiful pastries, fruit store, other small shops.
I would certainly select this hotel again. If you want to see souvenir shops and tourist herds around your hotel, this wouldn't be your best choice.
There are bus stops nearby for several lines, you can check them here http://www.ataf.net/en/timetables-and-routes/timetables-and-routes/route-list.aspx?idC=180&LN=en-US. The information kiosk opposite the railway station has the map of public transportation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 290 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Relais Il Cestello, Piazza di Cestello www.relaisilcestello.it, on the square, just facing the Arno, in the Oltrano. Fantastically centrally located, only two bridges from the Ponte Vecchio, and easily reached on foot from the Santa Maria Novella rail station. Request a room in the back if you want a sound sleep, as in the evening the Piazza can become a bit loud, as there is a night club next to the Relais. The room was large, well appointed with a comfortable bed, wardrobe, desk & chair and several other chairs. There was plenty of heat and hot water in the spacious room; the bathroom was clean, large, and was supplied with plenty of towels, shampoo, soap and a hair dryer. Breakfast was arranged in the reception room, with a lovely view of the Arno. Food was plentiful with a selection of coffees, teas, breads, fruit cheeses, meat and yogurts. Am a return customer, having first been to the Relais nearly 20 years ago. The Relais certainly has improved with age!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagabondfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I selected this hotel due to its proximity to a friend's home but it turned out to be a perfect location for seeing all of Firenze. The hotel is on the river in a quiet square with easy access to the rest of the city. The manager Marco made me feel completely at home and was very helpful. The breakfast was always freshly prepared. The hotel is very clean and my room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiceGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

September 2012 - There is nothing that makes this hotel stand out from any crowd but.........

Visiting Florence for 24hours, we wanted a clean, mid-cost hotel, with easy access to both the old centre for a business lunch (Doumo etc was a gentle 10 minute walk) and Parco delle Cascine Park for an evening concert in the Eastern area of the city.

On arrival/departure, the welcome was under whelming, the service was sort of efficient if not bothered - no offer of help to get heavy suit cases up through a tight entrance and a winding stair case to reception (IMPORTANT - There is no lift from ground to the first floor reception).

PARKING - parking is a nightmare at anytime in Florence so I was pleased to see on Google that there was a large public car park directly out side, but the meter ran from 8am to 1am and in our very brief stay it cost 44 Euros to use - Above London prices - I got contradictory and wrong info from the hotel reception as to possible alternatives, and absolutely no help in sourcing the change needed - all a bit of a pain when all you need is some local advice.

Besides the general dis-interest of the staff the B&B was OK, our room and bed were big but so were the many hungry mosquitoes living in the room.

I just don't get previous reviewers excited comments that staff were friendly, helpful it was all just about average - If they could be bothered - so if you can find somewhere else I would and don't bother with this hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure you keep your air con on to keep the many mosquitoes subdued
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel wasn't what I expected. The 10-15 min walk requires a few turns and crossing the River Arno. So, I thought it was far. In the hotel photo is diplays a small piazza. Open and inviting. It is actually a parking area. So, if you drive, this would be a plus. But on the plus side, and threre are many, being right on the river, you can easily find your way back at night. You just count the bridges from the Bridge of Gold and there you are. The staff is great, no lift but up two flights. Very short ones. We had the included breakfast each morning. Great coffee and rolls and danish.
We had planned to shop for ladies shoes on this trip, but wound up with purses this year. All in all, if I could find a Relais as nice as this nearer the Terminal I would use it. But i would def come back here. We stayed three nights, 2 couples traveling together.
Merci

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating staff, nice breakfast, and in a fantastic location for central Florence - just south of the river, which seemed much less touristy than the northern side, with more real bars and restaurents with real florentines in them. Rooms weren't amazing, but perfectly fine and comfortable, AC very nice to have in the hot weather, and tho am a light sleeper, didn't notice any noise at all during the night.

Thank nigelh47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights from the 15th to 17th April 2012 and I can't speak more highly of the hotel. It is in a great location, we had a spacious and very clean room which was full of character, and the hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#84 of 410 in Florence
448 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#172 of 410 in Florence
736 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#99 of 410 in Florence
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#124 of 410 in Florence
465 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#179 of 410 in Florence
499 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#96 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Address: Piazza di Cestello 9, 50124, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $68 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais il Cestello is an old structure used in the past as a post office that worked with horses and carrozze. The hotel looks on piazza di Cestello and from the windows you can see the beautiful church Cestello, the San frediano surroundings, Ognissanti church and the river Arno.San frediano is a very typical old florentine suburb where you may still find wood, leather, glass and jewelery shops. Close to the hotel you can visit piazza del Carmine, piazza Santo Spirito and not so far Pitti Palace.In fact Hotel Relais il Cestello is situated in the heart of Florence in a few minutes you can walk tO the central railway station, the Ponte Vecchio bridge, Piazza della Signoria and the beautiful streets such as via della Vigna Nuova, Via Tornabuoni, Via Strozzi piazza della Repubblica where you may shop in all the high fashion and antique stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing