We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better with Age” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Ranked #132 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Water Mill, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better with Age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Relais Il Cestello, Piazza di Cestello www.relaisilcestello.it, on the square, just facing the Arno, in the Oltrano. Fantastically centrally located, only two bridges from the Ponte Vecchio, and easily reached on foot from the Santa Maria Novella rail station. Request a room in the back if you want a sound sleep, as in the evening the Piazza can become a bit loud, as there is a night club next to the Relais. The room was large, well appointed with a comfortable bed, wardrobe, desk & chair and several other chairs. There was plenty of heat and hot water in the spacious room; the bathroom was clean, large, and was supplied with plenty of towels, shampoo, soap and a hair dryer. Breakfast was arranged in the reception room, with a lovely view of the Arno. Food was plentiful with a selection of coffees, teas, breads, fruit cheeses, meat and yogurts. Am a return customer, having first been to the Relais nearly 20 years ago. The Relais certainly has improved with age!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    75
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
138
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I selected this hotel due to its proximity to a friend's home but it turned out to be a perfect location for seeing all of Firenze. The hotel is on the river in a quiet square with easy access to the rest of the city. The manager Marco made me feel completely at home and was very helpful. The breakfast was always freshly prepared. The hotel is very clean and my room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

September 2012 - There is nothing that makes this hotel stand out from any crowd but.........

Visiting Florence for 24hours, we wanted a clean, mid-cost hotel, with easy access to both the old centre for a business lunch (Doumo etc was a gentle 10 minute walk) and Parco delle Cascine Park for an evening concert in the Eastern area of the city.

On arrival/departure, the welcome was under whelming, the service was sort of efficient if not bothered - no offer of help to get heavy suit cases up through a tight entrance and a winding stair case to reception (IMPORTANT - There is no lift from ground to the first floor reception).

PARKING - parking is a nightmare at anytime in Florence so I was pleased to see on Google that there was a large public car park directly out side, but the meter ran from 8am to 1am and in our very brief stay it cost 44 Euros to use - Above London prices - I got contradictory and wrong info from the hotel reception as to possible alternatives, and absolutely no help in sourcing the change needed - all a bit of a pain when all you need is some local advice.

Besides the general dis-interest of the staff the B&B was OK, our room and bed were big but so were the many hungry mosquitoes living in the room.

I just don't get previous reviewers excited comments that staff were friendly, helpful it was all just about average - If they could be bothered - so if you can find somewhere else I would and don't bother with this hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure you keep your air con on to keep the many mosquitoes subdued
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
580 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel wasn't what I expected. The 10-15 min walk requires a few turns and crossing the River Arno. So, I thought it was far. In the hotel photo is diplays a small piazza. Open and inviting. It is actually a parking area. So, if you drive, this would be a plus. But on the plus side, and threre are many, being right on the river, you can easily find your way back at night. You just count the bridges from the Bridge of Gold and there you are. The staff is great, no lift but up two flights. Very short ones. We had the included breakfast each morning. Great coffee and rolls and danish.
We had planned to shop for ladies shoes on this trip, but wound up with purses this year. All in all, if I could find a Relais as nice as this nearer the Terminal I would use it. But i would def come back here. We stayed three nights, 2 couples traveling together.
Merci

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating staff, nice breakfast, and in a fantastic location for central Florence - just south of the river, which seemed much less touristy than the northern side, with more real bars and restaurents with real florentines in them. Rooms weren't amazing, but perfectly fine and comfortable, AC very nice to have in the hot weather, and tho am a light sleeper, didn't notice any noise at all during the night.

Helpful?
Thank nigelh47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Watford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights from the 15th to 17th April 2012 and I can't speak more highly of the hotel. It is in a great location, we had a spacious and very clean room which was full of character, and the hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Very convenient (on the south bank of the Arno, west of the Carraia bridge, a 10-15 minute walk to the central tourist area). Clean, quiet room. Modernized bathroom with plenty of hot water. Internet access. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff. Don't be put off by the inconspicuous door - the hotel is upstairs. Press the button and say your name and they will open the door; walk up one flight of stairs and you are there.

Room Tip: A room towards the front might not be so quiet but might have a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#101 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Liana
#152 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Hotel Jane
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Property: Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Address: Piazza del Cestello 9, 50120, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Relais Il Cestello is conveniently situated in a tranquil yet central part of town on the south banks of the River Arno. The Hotel overlooks the charming Piazza di Cestello and is moments away from all the major sights of the Renaissance capital of the world.This stylish 3 star establishment with its spacious climate-controlled rooms is the perfect base whether travelling for business or pleasure. Within a short walk from this centrally located hotel you will find Piazza del Duomo - the heart and soul of Florence, the Uffizi Gallery, Michelangelo's David, Palazzo Vecchio and Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing