We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Ranked #153 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Very convenient (on the south bank of the Arno, west of the Carraia bridge, a 10-15 minute walk to the central tourist area). Clean, quiet room. Modernized bathroom with plenty of hot water. Internet access. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff. Don't be put off by the inconspicuous door - the hotel is upstairs. Press the button and say your name and they will open the door; walk up one flight of stairs and you are there.

Room Tip: A room towards the front might not be so quiet but might have a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is really nice and the rooms are clean. The view is superb and the location is perfect for visiting Florence. The owner is very friendly and kind and the breakfast is good.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DRH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We booked without knowing what to expect, we got lucky the extremely friendly owner Marco acted more like a friend than the relais manager/owner, the building is nice the room nice and on the top the rate was excellent we recommend the "inn" for a pleasent stay

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Travelling with a female companion, we rented a room each for 6 nights, but only stayed for 2. A complaint was made in a pleasant manner as to the cleanliness of my friends room but the man who we took to be the proprietor, over reacted in quite an extreme way. Although my friend had accepted the room quite happily once the bathroom had been cleaned this man just would not let it go. He shouted at us and acted in a most aggressive manner. He confronted us on two separate occasions when we were alone and when there were no other guests, or staff about and we felt quite intimidated by his attitude and his behaviour. He did not speak or act like this when anyone else was about, and I have a feeling that he would not have acted in this manner if our husbands had been with us.

From the comments that this man made to us it was evident that he was unhappy with the price that we had paid for the room through Laterooms.com and I honestly believe that he was intent on getting us out of the hotel by provoking a row to get us to leave so that he could re-rent the rooms out at a higher rate. I do have to say that the rooms, general accommodation and breakfast were definitely not worth any more than we paid for them, so for him to be bitter about the rate we paid is pretty lame.

Other guests appeared unhappy and we heard another gentleman guest complain about something in his room (his TV I believe – it had not been working for 2 days).

We had a most unpleasant stay at this hotel but I am happy to say that once we had left we found a very nice hotel, very quickly, just 5 minutes walk away with very pleasant accommodating staff.

I have travelled many places and stayed in Youth Hostels, private B & Bs, and 2 star – 5 star hotels, and I have to say that I have never experienced anything like this mans behaviour. We were quite flabbergasted ! What a poor advert this man is for Florence.

I have never had the need/desire to write a negative review about a hotel before, but in this case I really have to say that I definitely DONOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

A friend and I were in Florence for a week for language school, so we speak reasonable Italian. We booked 2 single rooms in this hotel on the strength of the photos and reviews in laterooms.com and were pleased with the rate. However, the photos are NOT accurate: There is no entrance area off the street - you have to press a bell and are then faced with a grim set of stone steps to the first floor. The bar/reception/lobby/breakfast room are really all one room. If you have the first bedroom off this room, (as I did) you will hear the tables and furniture being moved late at night ready for breakfast the next day. Breakfast was very meagre with only pre-packaged food, nothing fresh and even plastic glasses for the fruit juice.
However the main cause for concern was the mould on the shower tiles, black hair in the shower (I have red hair) and dirty shower curtains. When I asked to be moved, the owner was extremely rude and said it was impossible. They cleaned the bathroom and I thought that was that. However, by then the owner had patently decided that he could get a better rate by letting it himself, as the weather was unseasonally warm and Florence was busy. So, when we arrived for our key on the afternoon of the third day, he started to shout at us and deliberately provoked a row - he patently wanted us to break our contract so that he could charge us the full amount. Reviews in laterooms.com reveal that he has done this before. We didn't fall for this trap however, although we did not want to stay, but in the end we came to the compromise that we would move and he would charge us only the two nights we had stayed. Altogether, it was a very unpleasant and frightening situation for two women on their own and by the end we were both concerned for our safety.

Room Tip: We walked across the nearest bridge and immediately found a 4 star Best Western hotel (Ognisanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marilyn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel is more like an upscale inn. The owner Marco is extremely helpful and clearly cares a ton about the reputation of his business. He was very accommodating, helped us find our way around town, and even worked to resolve a complicated issue with our credit card company. The building is very safe as the attendant on duty has to buzz in prospective visitors when they reach the front door.

Our room was small but the extremely tall ceilings made it feel much more spacious than expected. All of the furniture was cool and antique looking. The air conditioning worked very well as did the phone. This hotel is also equipped with fire alarms (which apparently are not mandatory in smaller hotels/inns in Italy).

The overall decor of the inn is very Tuscan/romantic. The breakfast room is super cute and breakfast itself is a notch above the average continental breakfast. Marco provides cereals, juices, milk, and will make cappuccino when requested. There were also a variety of cheeses, sliced meats, and fresh sliced bread.

Oh, and there is free wireless internet at this hotel which was great!

All the sites are easily reached on foot from this hotel. When we return to Florence we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VrstaSira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Spent 6 nights here during the very warm spell, beginning of October 2011.Very pleased indeed with the Hotel (only 10 rooms), and the service from the owner/staff.Would easliy recommend it to anyone.Rooms have modern air conditioning/tv/disabled access(stair lift-bathrooms)/free safe deposit boxes.Breakfast foods were really good.Hotel in a quiet spot on the south side of the River Arno.It is one floor up, above 2 restaurants.The 2 or 3 rooms that have the view over the Arno will be affected by sounds from the restaurants below(not part of the Hotel).The overall noise/ambience in the Hotel was quiet.It is a 15min walk into the centre of Florence, but each time it is a delight, crossing and re-crossing the Arno.
The only cautionary point I'd make is the city does have mosquitos- bites only- not plague or malaria, so take some stuff with you.

Here's a quote;
Me ( to hotel Night Porter)-" Where is the nearest post Box please?"
Him " At ze main Railway station";
Me " May I give you my postcards to go with the Hotel's outgoing mail ?"
Him " Its a never been done before, but I do it "
How sweet

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River Arno may be noisier due to Restaurants below, but you get the view.Rooms furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorfolkDrummerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#83 of 410 in Florence
447 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#166 of 410 in Florence
736 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#106 of 410 in Florence
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#124 of 410 in Florence
464 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#186 of 410 in Florence
499 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#93 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Il Cestello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Il Cestello

Address: Piazza di Cestello 9, 50124, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $68 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Il Cestello 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais il Cestello is an old structure used in the past as a post office that worked with horses and carrozze. The hotel looks on piazza di Cestello and from the windows you can see the beautiful church Cestello, the San frediano surroundings, Ognissanti church and the river Arno.San frediano is a very typical old florentine suburb where you may still find wood, leather, glass and jewelery shops. Close to the hotel you can visit piazza del Carmine, piazza Santo Spirito and not so far Pitti Palace.In fact Hotel Relais il Cestello is situated in the heart of Florence in a few minutes you can walk tO the central railway station, the Ponte Vecchio bridge, Piazza della Signoria and the beautiful streets such as via della Vigna Nuova, Via Tornabuoni, Via Strozzi piazza della Repubblica where you may shop in all the high fashion and antique stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Relais Il Cestello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Cestello Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing