We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The Hotel Davanzati was recommended to us because of its exceptional service and excellent location and it had both. We arrived in Florence after a 2 week trip through Italy and needed some pampering. From the moment we arrived Tommaso took care of us with an early check in, advice on when to visit which site and of course restaurants.
The room was huge, bed comfy, computer a real treat. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,034
    362
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
783
1,624
237
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I had the great fortune of stumbling upon the Hotel Davanzati when I was researching hotels for my 1st trip to Florence 4 years ago. I had a fantastic experience then which is why I returned to the hotel last month. Everything about it is great: centrally located, charming with fairly decent sized rooms each with their own laptop computer, great happy hour and breakfast, great restaurant recommendations, fantastic hospitality. Everything they do is to make your stay better, and better it is. It is the only hotel I will stay at when I travel to Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptjensf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

It was an awesome experience, they were very helpful and had great recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My family and I travelled to Florence in early September this year. We stayed at the Hotel Davanzati and had a great time. It might just be the best welcome I have ever received in a hotel. This family owned business is wonderful and they would go out of their way to help you with any and all requests. The hotels location is wonderful and if returning to Florence....this is the only place I would stay.

I found them on trip advisor and they exceeded my expectations. I would highly suggest them to a wonderul place to stay in one of the best cities in the world !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandboyBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed here on our honeymoon for a couple of nights, based on a friend's recommendation AND the 1000+ fantastic TripAdvisor reviews. Completely agree with the other reviewers... Fantastic service (from the second you ring the doorbell!) - Fabrizio provided a map right away and helped us make museum reservations to avoid waiting in long lines. Our room wasn't ready yet, but we had no problem walking around and finding a place to eat. The hotel is conveniently located to many sites.
I am an admitted germophobe... I usually like to stay at higher end hotels, but would definitely stay here again. The rooms are not posh, but they are CLEAN and comfortable (I used a UV light wand to kill germs, and there were none!). The internet connection is a bit slow, but definitely better than nothing.
Another tip - We would definitely recommend doing a Tuscany tour... That was the highlight of our trip to Italy!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have stayed at Davanzati a week ago based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were in room 101 - a very quiet double room facing to the back and with a little shared patio. The location of the hotel is just fantastic - in the very very center. We used the parking service that was very efficient and good value at 24 Euro per day in the historic center of Florence.
Pros - location, great rooms, bed, linen, shower, parking service. Fabrizio at the reception treated us like friends :-)
Cons - the stairs leading to the entrance ( not a problem at all for a healthy person, but might be somewhat difficult if you have a disability ), breakfast is nice, but just that.
All in all - a place where we would stay the next time in Florence and recommend to my family and friends in a heart beat. They fully deserve their number one spot and great reviews.
Alex&Anat

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Davanzati for the last four nights of our twelve night Italian vacation. You could not ask for a better place to stay at these prices. The location is within walking distance of all historical sites, fine dinning, and high end shopping. Fabrizio and Tomasso (the father/son owners of the hotel) are wonderful. They make you feel welcome from the minute you step into the second floor lobby. They were terrific in arranging a day trip to Sienna, wonderful dinner recommendations, directions, quick taxi service, as well as providing such valuable information as where the best gellato in Firenze is located. The hotel is spotless with ample size rooms for European standards. The rooms included a laptop computer with free internet access, air conditioning that worked well, and a mini fridge. The bathroom was well appointed with an ample size shower. The included breakfasts were excellent as was the wonderful coffee/capachino made fresh and brought to your table. The evening happy hour included wine and appetizers and a candle lit romantic atmosphere where we met many wonderful travelers to share stories and compare notes. If I return to Firenze I would not stay anywhere else. Caio!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,752 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 411 in Florence
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#7 of 411 in Florence
908 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing