We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, spotlessly clean and wonderfully managed. Hotel Davanzati's greatest asset is their owners and staff. Before we even arrived, they had booked tours and made dinner reservations (Natolino - the best) for us. Because we were in Florence during the bicycle race, the city was tied up at different times. Our hosts went out of their way to find us the best route out of the city and make arrangements for us to get to our car rental location. Our rooms were nicely furnished and the bathroom modern and very clean. Breakfast was lovely with a nice variety and the happy hour was a very pleasant experience, all to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,993
    358
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
766
1,605
233
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is everything and this small family run hotel definitely has that. A lot was made about the steps going up to the elevator but even with luggage this wasn't a problem. The lobby and room are well appointed and all very clean and modern. Anything that we needed the staff was more than willing to help ...They also own I Just Drive touring company so we had them arrrange a tour of Pisa, Seina etc. which was a great couple of days. The Happy Hour in the evening a great way to wind down before supper...would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koiman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

All I can say about this hotel is it was just average with a great location. However when you're used to hotels where the staff will go above and beyond this will disappoint. One person up front usually the owners son who was helpful yet gave the feeling he'd rather be doing something else then helping you. The rooms were dated but the terrace was nice.
This hotel isn't bad and it isn't great it's just average.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Hotel Davanzati is a small family run hotel ideally located in the historic center of Florence. Although our room was a bit small it was what I expected for such a popular destination. Despite the small room size our bathroom was quite large. Breakfast consisted of fresh juices, pastries, meats, fruits and yogurt and made to order cappucino & espresso. Staff at breakfast were freindly. Tomaso at the front desk answered guests questions but seemed somewhat disinterested and slightly put off if you needed clarification about directions to a specific destination. I only experienced this once but also observed it more than once when I was waiting for other guests in the lobby. Personal attention is a nice touch when staying away from home. However, if you don't need personal attention this shouldn't affect you.The stairs up to the hotel may prove to be a challange so keep this in mind when making your reservation. Service is available to bring up luggage.

Room Tip: If you need "space" then be sure to reserve a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscotti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Davanzati October 2013. Like others have said, by the modest signage and entry way you have no idea what is waiting for you at the top of the stairs. So warm and welcoming (especially in the middle of a rain storm!). We couldn't have been more pleased with everything. The staff was exceptional from the front desk personnel to the staff that manned the breakfast and happy hour functions. The breakfast was great. The variety of items available and was outstanding for a free hotel breakfast. The evening happy hour was fun and a nice way for us to mingle with other guests and kick off our evenings before we went out for dinner. Even though we were in one of the most beautiful cities in the world, rich with culture and history, I was grateful for the English TV stations and wifi. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was clean and fresh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The entrance to this hotel is small and unassuming but at the top of the stairs we found a wonderful family hotel that was both warm and welcoming. Don't be put off by the stairs - just ring the bell and someone will be down to collect your luggage. The whole family works at the hotel and they host an amazing breakfast each morning and a happy hour each evening. Happy hour is a surprise - the lights in the lobby and restaurant are turned down, candles are lit, music played and hotel guests mingle, share stories and enjoy the Italian wine and nibbles. It is a wonderful way to meet fellow travellers.The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet (if you don't open the window) and include a laptop and free WiFi. Fabrizio is a wonderful host who is always available to offer assistance and advice about restaurants, tours and transport - all of which was spot on - nothing was too much trouble. The location is superb as it is close to all the most important sights but it is also in a quiet area of the city away from from the main tourist haunts. When we first booked our accommodation at the Davanzati Hotel we received an email confirmation that contained details of tours, transport, hotel location, etc. - in fact it was the longest email I have ever received - and it was very, very, helpful. We really appreciated the content and prompt response to all our emails. We loved our stay at the Hotel Davanzanti and are already planning our much longer return visit. A big thank you to Fabrizio and all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As mentioned by many, this is a family run hotel which positively influences the traveller experience. Fabrizio was extremely helpful to us. He arranged all of our tours and dinner reservations. More important, they assisted us with 2 more serious issues. One of our family members became ill during our stay. Fabrizio offered to help find a doctor to come to the hotel. The second - we were unable to get a taxi from the hotel to SMN station as a marathon was being run that morning. Fabrizio drove us and our bags to the station!

We took the limousine tour to St. Mineato to listen to the Gregorian Chants. It was a lovely drive, with beautiful vistas and recommend it.

The location of the hotel is ideal for touring Florence.

We stayed in a terrace room - which we really enjoyed, even though the view is of red tile roof tops.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the terrace room. It was quiet and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing