We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Highly recommended.”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #11 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Florence. Walking distance to all the major sites. The hotel was large, for a European hotel, and the windows were triple glazed so you heard very little street noise. Breakfast and happy hour were nice also. What made the difference here was the staff which was three generations of family working together. This is part of what makes Italy, in my opinion, so special. I would highly recommend staying here and encourage you to get tickets and book tours in advance via the hotel. The hotel does have stairs to the main lobby, but ring the bell on the ground floor and they will help you with your luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoupdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,520)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Davanzati
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 3,520 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Florence on September 29, 2013 in the pouring rain with no hotel reservations. Hotel Davanzati was the 3rd hotel from the train station that we had tried to find a room available. We were exasperated and totally soaked from toting our luggage from the train station. Then we met Fabrizio who worked at the front desk of the Hotel Davanzati!
Even though they did not have a room available, Fabrizio took pity on us and our struggles in the pouring rain and offered for us to sit in their warm reception room and use their iPad to find a room at another location. When we did find another room available on the iPad, he even called the location for us to confirm it was available and to lock in a price before we took the walk in the rain over there.
His level of service for us, even though we were not patrons of the Hotel Davanzati, was excellent and above and beyond what he was obligated to do. We cannot tell you how appreciative we were of his kindness.
We will definitely make reservations in Florence in advance next time, and we will be staying at Hotel Davanzati if at all possible!!!!
Thank you Fabrizio!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank 4nags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great people.....nice clean hotel in Florence......rooms little small as everywhere else in Europe.....close to everything........decent breakfast, internet is good. the owner is very nice and help the customers.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bebo919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here several years ago and again for a few days this past September. You may be able to find a larger hotel, a hotel with more amenities, perhaps a full service restaurant or spa if that's your inclination, but you will not find the warmth and caring which makes the Davanzati such a treasure. The three generations of this family, especially Fabrizio, bring old world charm and elegance to your stay, help you with any touring needs or questions you may have and the superb staff make sure everything you touch is immaculate. On our second visit we were a family of four and shared the connecting rooms with a patio accessible from both, which was quite a plus. If I'm lucky enough to go back to Florence I will be back at the Davanzati and consider myself home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogabear1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in Florence over the years, and have found it hard to find one that suits me down to the ground. But the Hotel Davanzati does. The rooms are large and quiet and attractive, it is placed near the centre but out just of the way of the massed tourist hordes (the bane of Florence!) and though it is not cheap it is not, like some of its competitors, outrageous. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank StretherMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We adored this unique hotel! At first we were a little daunted by the stairs leading up to the hotel but within seconds the staff sent a young man to carry everything up to the lobby. The brothers who run this hotel are charming , helpful, and extremely well organized and professional.The breakfasts are elegantly European with charcuterie, fresh fruits, yogurts,cheeses,pastries, breads, and excellent coffee.Our room was lovely and spacious .The brothers who own this hotel create such a wonderful ambiance that everybody in the hotel was having a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed one night. The room was perfect for my wife and I and our college age son- very large by European standards. The front desk manager was funny and the friendliest among five hotels in which we stayed on this trip. Be aware that there are a flight of stairs to reach the elevator. Most areas in Florence are within walking distance if you're in decent shape. The hotel is near the river, about 15 minute walk from the train station, 10 minutes to the Duomo. Lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacific99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,359 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 411 in Florence
335 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $171 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing