We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

There is nothing to say here except that ALL aspects of this hotel are perfected. A fantastic atmosphere and style, extremely friendly and helpful staff, the cleanest sheets and amenities I've ever seen, superb location and still very affordable. The happy hour does make one in the mood for another beautiful evening in one of the world's most lovely cities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,870
    342
    67
    11
    9
See reviews for
725
1,536
222
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was all you could ask for in a room in Florence... seconds from the main piazza… minutes from the Uffizi gallery and Duomo. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor of a building. The staff is just over the top friendly and pleasant. The hotel common area and room was pristine and modern. They have a free happy hour with free wine & bruchetta. The only complaint I have is our room had no windows. We would defiantly stay at this hotel again but I would ask specifically for a room with windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCaldwell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A superbly located hotel where you could easily walk everywhere including from the train station with virtually no steps until you arrive at the hotel. Yes a few (26) steps to reach reception but you do only have to do it with you bags once. Well worth the effort. The best feature about this hotel that no other I have stayed in is the happy hour every night at 6.30. Over a complimentary glass of prosecco or red wine it was a great opportunity to meet and talk to many other travellers about aspects of Florence and travelling tales in general. The coffee was the best we had in our 32 days in Italy. Very friendly staff were always available to recommend a restaurant or give guidance about museums or any other needs. It felt more like a guest house in many ways which suited us perfectly. We did have a superior room which was very spacious, with a small outside balcony, but as with many hotels the shower was very small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hotel Davanzati. Our decision was based on the wonderful reviews of Trip Advisor and we were absolutely delighted. Its location makes it perfect for enjoying all the sites of Florence - within a three minute walk to the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio and 10 minutes to the Galleria del Academie. A family run hotel, Tomaso was extremely helpful in arranging reservations at some wonderful restaurants. The rest of the staff is equally gracious and accommodating. Our room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom was more than adequate. Most importantly at the end of a long day there was plenty of hot water to shower. Breakfast was excellent with a full array of fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals , juices and other beverages- more than enough to start your day for sightseeing. You do have to walk up a long steep fight of stairs to enter the hotel but that is a small inconvenience. Hotel Davanzati is a great place to stay if visiting Florence and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This very well run family hotel offers great service and value. And as everyone says, its in a convenient location. But it’s the helpfulness of the three generations of family working there that’s the best recommendation. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of. After shaking off a 17 hour journey we were given a map and ideas for dinner and gelato – all of which turned out excellent.

Breakfast was full of choices and a nice place to sit and plan the day over coffee. Never went to Happy Hour, but walked through it a few times and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. We had the largest room, and it was beautiful, although the thermostat and television controls were incomprehensible. Be sure and get walked through each. Bathrooms large, modern and well executed. Everything spotless and the beds quite comfy. It was in the low 90s when we were there and the aircon worked flawlessly. Then there's the free wifi and even a laptop in your room to use. Don't you wish the other places you've stayed were as hip to what people want?

I wish we could have stayed longer. There are so many interesting shops and delis to investigate. People tend to go there for the art and history, but its where the people work and what they do that fascinated me. Be sure to wander! Now that I know where to stay, it’ll just make my return that more pleasant.

Room Tip: We had the biggest room(s), with 3 bedrooms. Plenty of space to spread out, but if you want more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secretagent19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Davanzati with a few friends. It was our pre-wedding trip with friends before our big day. We enjoyed the hotel very much. Although it is not a 5 stars hotel, the staffs definitely gave us 5 stars service. It is very conveniently located. It is super closed to Ferragamo (and don't forget to check out the ferragamo museum.) Easy walking distance to everything. Inside the hotel, it's immaculate and quaint. Staff were friendly and they are approachable and helpful. The breakfasts were alright - not that many choices. They served cakes that are packaged, but freshly baked. Happy hour at night is a lovely idea but we didn't take advantage of it. It was a bit crowded. Free wifi, iPads to use in Reception, laptop in your room to use.

One thing they've forgotten was that they never refill shampoo/body wash in the room. And for some unknown reason, my deluxe room is smaller than my friends' regular room?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momo6192010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Davanzati is just Simply Awesome place to stay. Very warm staff. We have a good size room for the four of us. My kids were just excited about the Ipad, computer and TV programming plus a good selection of Free Movies. We arrived late but just enough for the Happy Hour. Free party for the guest, Awesome! Bed is very comfy and we feel very secure in the hotel. The hotel is very near to the attractions in Florence. I wish that all the hotel we stayed are just as good as Hotel Davanzati. Of the five hotels we stayed in Europe during this trip, it is the number One!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_adolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,806 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,407 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing