We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #12 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 12, 2013

There is nothing to say here except that ALL aspects of this hotel are perfected. A fantastic atmosphere and style, extremely friendly and helpful staff, the cleanest sheets and amenities I've ever seen, superb location and still very affordable. The happy hour does make one in the mood for another beautiful evening in one of the world's most lovely cities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was all you could ask for in a room in Florence... seconds from the main piazza… minutes from the Uffizi gallery and Duomo. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor of a building. The staff is just over the top friendly and pleasant. The hotel common area and room was pristine and modern. They have a free happy hour with free wine & bruchetta. The only complaint I have is our room had no windows. We would defiantly stay at this hotel again but I would ask specifically for a room with windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCaldwell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A superbly located hotel where you could easily walk everywhere including from the train station with virtually no steps until you arrive at the hotel. Yes a few (26) steps to reach reception but you do only have to do it with you bags once. Well worth the effort. The best feature about this hotel that no other I have stayed in is the happy hour every night at 6.30. Over a complimentary glass of prosecco or red wine it was a great opportunity to meet and talk to many other travellers about aspects of Florence and travelling tales in general. The coffee was the best we had in our 32 days in Italy. Very friendly staff were always available to recommend a restaurant or give guidance about museums or any other needs. It felt more like a guest house in many ways which suited us perfectly. We did have a superior room which was very spacious, with a small outside balcony, but as with many hotels the shower was very small.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hotel Davanzati. Our decision was based on the wonderful reviews of Trip Advisor and we were absolutely delighted. Its location makes it perfect for enjoying all the sites of Florence - within a three minute walk to the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio and 10 minutes to the Galleria del Academie. A family run hotel, Tomaso was extremely helpful in arranging reservations at some wonderful restaurants. The rest of the staff is equally gracious and accommodating. Our room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom was more than adequate. Most importantly at the end of a long day there was plenty of hot water to shower. Breakfast was excellent with a full array of fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals , juices and other beverages- more than enough to start your day for sightseeing. You do have to walk up a long steep fight of stairs to enter the hotel but that is a small inconvenience. Hotel Davanzati is a great place to stay if visiting Florence and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This very well run family hotel offers great service and value. And as everyone says, its in a convenient location. But it’s the helpfulness of the three generations of family working there that’s the best recommendation. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of. After shaking off a 17 hour journey we were given a map and ideas for dinner and gelato – all of which turned out excellent.

Breakfast was full of choices and a nice place to sit and plan the day over coffee. Never went to Happy Hour, but walked through it a few times and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. We had the largest room, and it was beautiful, although the thermostat and television controls were incomprehensible. Be sure and get walked through each. Bathrooms large, modern and well executed. Everything spotless and the beds quite comfy. It was in the low 90s when we were there and the aircon worked flawlessly. Then there's the free wifi and even a laptop in your room to use. Don't you wish the other places you've stayed were as hip to what people want?

I wish we could have stayed longer. There are so many interesting shops and delis to investigate. People tend to go there for the art and history, but its where the people work and what they do that fascinated me. Be sure to wander! Now that I know where to stay, it’ll just make my return that more pleasant.

Room Tip: We had the biggest room(s), with 3 bedrooms. Plenty of space to spread out, but if you want more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Secretagent19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Davanzati with a few friends. It was our pre-wedding trip with friends before our big day. We enjoyed the hotel very much. Although it is not a 5 stars hotel, the staffs definitely gave us 5 stars service. It is very conveniently located. It is super closed to Ferragamo (and don't forget to check out the ferragamo museum.) Easy walking distance to everything. Inside the hotel, it's immaculate and quaint. Staff were friendly and they are approachable and helpful. The breakfasts were alright - not that many choices. They served cakes that are packaged, but freshly baked. Happy hour at night is a lovely idea but we didn't take advantage of it. It was a bit crowded. Free wifi, iPads to use in Reception, laptop in your room to use.

One thing they've forgotten was that they never refill shampoo/body wash in the room. And for some unknown reason, my deluxe room is smaller than my friends' regular room?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momo6192010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Davanzati is just Simply Awesome place to stay. Very warm staff. We have a good size room for the four of us. My kids were just excited about the Ipad, computer and TV programming plus a good selection of Free Movies. We arrived late but just enough for the Happy Hour. Free party for the guest, Awesome! Bed is very comfy and we feel very secure in the hotel. The hotel is very near to the attractions in Florence. I wish that all the hotel we stayed are just as good as Hotel Davanzati. Of the five hotels we stayed in Europe during this trip, it is the number One!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan_adolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,324 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,881 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,458 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#11 of 410 in Florence
416 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $134 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing