We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect city centre hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
aberdeen, scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect city centre hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from a superb trip 5 day trip to Florence, staying at the Hotel Davanzati. The manner in which the owner Fabrizio looks after his guests is second to none, and he ensures that every detail is taken care of, which allows you to make the most of your holiday. A plentiful continental breakfast is offered in the dining area, which also doubles as the setting for the delightful complimentary happy hour between 6.30 and 7.30, with Chianti, Prosecco and snacks offered to the guests, which is very welcoming after a day's sightseeing.
The airline lost our luggage, and Fabrizio continually called the airport until it was eventually delivered to the hotel, an example of going the extra mile.
He was always happy to recommend restaurants, when asked, and even called to make the reservations for us, which is essential, because there were times when customers without reservations were being turned away.
We used the airport transfer service offered and it was certainly a new experience when their stretch limo picked us up on arrival, with complimentary Prosecco and water.
The location of the hotel is perfect, and is central to everything, with the Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, the Duomo, and Piazza della Signoria all within a few minutes walk.
I certainly have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Davanzati when staying in Florence and would stay here again on any future visits.
Grazie Fabrizio

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,952
    354
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
753
1,584
231
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel last July and had one of my best experiences with a hotel. The owners are wonderful. I was able to arrange a couple of tours in advance through the hotel that turned out to be very good and they were extremely helpful with recommendations on what to do and where to go. Anytime we wanted something to eat, we would tell Fabricio what we were in the mood for and he would recommend 2-3 places within walking distance and then immediately call to make us a reservation. All of his selections were excellent. He also helped make train reservations when we were ready to leave. The rooms were a decent size for my wife and my 16 yr old son and it was very quiet at night. Breakfast buffet was filling and the free happy hour was a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potomac falls, va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, and for just one evening, the hotel was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room for six was perfect...clean and all the amenities. I wish we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was delicious!! I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiawendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. The rooms and common area are clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The happy hour with free wine and snacks was a real treat and the breakfast was fantastic each morning. The hotel is near the train station and centrally located. The only potential downside to some, although not us, is that there are a number of stairs you must climb to access the hotel. When we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgetnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location for walking around Florence. Our room was a comfortable size and was very clean, as were the reception area and breakfast room. The breakfast selection was a little limited, but fresh and included the option of freshly made cappuccinos, espresso etc ... The only real negative or us was our room location, which meant it was very noisy, not from the street but from the hotel itself. It was the first room off reception and the breakfast area and became noisy from about 6.30am, so sleeping after that time was a little difficult .... But I guess someone has to get this room when a property is full. Great to have unlimited wifi for unlimited devices.

Room Tip: We had the room right near reception and the breakfast room (201) so we were woken about 6.30am each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria11K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our room was a junior suite and was very comfortable. The hotel is attractive, clean. One could not find a more helpful, informative, kind hotel staff than the family that owns this hotel. Fabricio, his wife Patricia, and his son Tommaso became our friends as well as our hosts. Our conversations ranged from travel issues to Italian politics, and we felt that the Davanzati was our Florentine home. This hotel is awesomely located, a few minutes walk from the Piazza Signoria and the Uffizi museum. Giovanni was our hotel driver, and he also was gracious and enormously helpful One caution, and the hotel warns about this. There are some steep steps to climb before one reaches the hotel elevator, so very elderly or disabled persons might have considerable difficulty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smwolf7b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing