We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little B&B right in the heart of Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
potomac falls, va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little B&B right in the heart of Florence”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, and for just one evening, the hotel was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room for six was perfect...clean and all the amenities. I wish we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was delicious!! I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiawendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,972
    356
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
760
1,593
231
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. The rooms and common area are clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The happy hour with free wine and snacks was a real treat and the breakfast was fantastic each morning. The hotel is near the train station and centrally located. The only potential downside to some, although not us, is that there are a number of stairs you must climb to access the hotel. When we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgetnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location for walking around Florence. Our room was a comfortable size and was very clean, as were the reception area and breakfast room. The breakfast selection was a little limited, but fresh and included the option of freshly made cappuccinos, espresso etc ... The only real negative or us was our room location, which meant it was very noisy, not from the street but from the hotel itself. It was the first room off reception and the breakfast area and became noisy from about 6.30am, so sleeping after that time was a little difficult .... But I guess someone has to get this room when a property is full. Great to have unlimited wifi for unlimited devices.

Room Tip: We had the room right near reception and the breakfast room (201) so we were woken about 6.30am each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria11K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our room was a junior suite and was very comfortable. The hotel is attractive, clean. One could not find a more helpful, informative, kind hotel staff than the family that owns this hotel. Fabricio, his wife Patricia, and his son Tommaso became our friends as well as our hosts. Our conversations ranged from travel issues to Italian politics, and we felt that the Davanzati was our Florentine home. This hotel is awesomely located, a few minutes walk from the Piazza Signoria and the Uffizi museum. Giovanni was our hotel driver, and he also was gracious and enormously helpful One caution, and the hotel warns about this. There are some steep steps to climb before one reaches the hotel elevator, so very elderly or disabled persons might have considerable difficulty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smwolf7b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel during my stay in Florence and was really glad I booked it. I recommend booking in advance to secure your room. As you can see from the previous reviews this place is a keeper.

Although some may complain about the avg price of a night in the hotel but the perks you get are worth it.

First, the location of the hotel is very close to the train station and pretty much everything else in Florence that you would want to see.- walking distance from the train station ( 10-15 minutes )

Upon arrival you get the feeling that this family run business takes pride in being a reputable hotel.

Me and my girlfriend were luckier and got upgraded to a handicap room which had a larger bathroom which was a bonus. The room is very clean and the bed comfortable as well. The movies are free in the room which was a great bonus when you want a relaxing night after dinner. Feel safe with your valuables securely nestled in the rooms safe.

The complimentary breakfasts surprised me! They had virtually everything. Croissants, coffee, fruit, yogurt. As these items would cost you a pretty penny on the street- the price tag for this hotel starts to be justified more and more.

If the complimentary breakfast wasn't enough, the " happy hour" is the icing on the cake. The happy hour takes place around 6-7pm for two hours where there is free wine, soda and little snacks. I found this to be great as you get to mingle with the fellow guests and have a few glasses of wine on the house.

I really enjoyed my time there and will not look at another hotel when going back to Florence.

Highly recommend! Hats off to you Davanzati :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubbshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! It was more on the pricier side, but worth it! Clean rooms, and washrooms, quiet, awesome happy hour every night and the breakfast every morning was the bomb! (Cappuccinos, juice, fruit, yogurt, croissants, etc!)

Great location, close to attractions and train station! Would recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,031 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
1,083 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
2,662 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
739 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing