We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Davanzanti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #9 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful Davanzanti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a really lovely triple room which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The decor in the room was a mixture of old and new and had a wonderful piece of wall that had been left as exposed brick and then adorned with a rough sketch style painting. It was very unique and added to the ambience of staying in such a wonderful art driven town like Florence. Breakfast was served in a small dining room and was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful right down to providing us with transport to the train station on our departure. There are quite a few stairs to climb in this hotel before you actually reach the elevator but this should not put you off because it is a very small inconvenience. The most wonderful thing about this hotel is its location. The old city of Florence is quite compact and easily gotten around on foot and this hotel is only a stone's throw from all the major draw cards yet it is tucked away on a quiet side street and so traffic noise is not an issue. There are many restaurants very close by and it is not too far a walk to the train station. There is even a laundromat only about a five minute walk away for those that need that service. We really enjoyed our stay here and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,951
    354
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
752
1,584
231
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We throughly enjoyed this hotel! It is in a wonderful location and Fabrizio is so helpful. The room is clean and a great size for a family! If you are looking for a place to stay in Florence this is it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was hesitant about staying here as the second most mentioned fact is the stairs and having knee problems it was certainly good to know about this. But my major consideration was a central location and there being free WIFI available in the rooms. This is what swayed me to eventually opt to stay here. I had already stayed in another hotel in the city where wifi was only available in the lounge and there were always problems getting connected - and staying connected was another issue.
What an excellent decision it was to stay at Hoptel Davanzati. The stairs are not as bad as they are made out to be. I coped quite easily with them, but then I am not on crutches or using a stick to get along! This as a gem of a place and its location makes up for any shortcomings you may read about in other reviews. The hotel is perfectly situated in the historical area of Florence and is a short walk to all the main attractions one should see on a visit to the most beautiful city in all of Italy. The main shopping street is a two minute stroll away and the area has numerous excellent restaurants in close proximity.

The "happy hour" tradition is a great idea, especially for solo travellers. I met a lovely family from the US over drinks and we enjoyed meeting up each evening to share our stories of the day's activities.
Would I return? Most definitely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziqoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

What a great base for exploring Florence. Fabrizio and his team were helpful and friendly hosts, always willing to offer assistance and recommendations. The hotel was well equipped particularly with IT , our only slight gripe being the lack of tea making facilities in the room. However happy hour every day was a bonus and a nice idea to bring guests together to socialise and share their experiences. Breakfast was very good with some lovely pastries and good coffee.

Room very comfortable and modern, allowing the opportunity to experience vibrant city life in this very central location. Good selection of varied restaurants nearby, our favourite bring the local pizzeria La Bussola, over the road which really made use of local ingredients to create wonderful food.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

It's the location. If walking up a lot of steps to your room is a problem, forget it. There's a partial lift, but mostly you'll end up walking up and down. Good for burning calaories, anyway. But wherever you want to go in the old centre is an easy walk, and you can pop back to drop off shopping and go out again without the bother of carrying stuff about all day. Breakfast is routine and not inspiring, but the happy hour with free drinks is a nice touch. Staff know just what to do; leave you alone if you don't want/need help, but do everything you need if you want some assistance. The recommended trips were not something we tried, and the list of recommended places to eat seemed based on a standard formula, not recent experience. We overheard the same tips several times and they looked to be 'for tourists'. Our room was fabulous, spotlessly clean and well equipped, with good strength wifi, good laptop and two tvs. We were in 304, a suite, which is at the top and the back. It was delightfully quiet and had a lovely terrace. Worth asking for if you're allergic to noisy streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night and found it met our needs perfectly. Location was within easy walking distance of the must-sees. We were helped with a suggested itinerary to make sure that we saw what we wanted on our short stay and their happy hour was a great way to meet and share stories with fellow travellers. Everything was extremely comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was good, and a peaceful nights sleep was had by all - what more can you ask from a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac2_a380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thanks again TripAdvisor, for pointing me in the right direction for a trip to Florence with my mom last spring! Great location, lovely room, tasty breakfast, and nice happy hour to encourage us to re-group at the end of the day before heading out to dinner. It's true that the younger staff guy is a shameless flirt, but it is Italy after all. Just roll your eyes and walk away if you're not into it. There were definitely a couple ladies who were loving the attention while I was there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing