We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great front desk assistance”
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #118 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here w my wife and had a great experience.
I believe the gentleman who was great help was Guisepe as he's originally from Dubai.
Overall nice hotel in a nice area.
The room was spacious and everything seemed to work for us.
I recommend the restaurant next door for a good meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteelerFan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for appreciating our services offered,
encourages us to always do our best for our clients

Regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Caravaggio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 793 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very Friendly staff, Breakfast was great, Room nice and clean and adequate. Would stay again.
Only a short 5 min walk to the train station. Located very centrally. Booked it through Bookings.com and got excellent value. So was well please. If visiting. We were going to the MotoGP mugello so it was easily to get trains

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelakesofcavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for the time spent to comment

Looking forward to see you soon
Regards

Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

As this was a much looked forward to city break in Florence for my daughter and I, we chose the Caravaggio for both location and price and we were not disappointed. The room was small but very clean and with a good view of the piazza and its park opposite. Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice of pastries, cereals and fruit. I cannot thank the staff enough for the care they took of us, huge thanks to Guiseppe especially for his advice on restaurants and fun evenings spent chatting and telling stories of travel at the hotel bar! I would definitely recommend the Caravaggio to anyone visiting the beautiful city of Florence and suggest you go on the wine tasting trip into Tuscany as recommended by Giuseppe!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter, the piazza can be a little noisy at times with traffic
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

what else to say ... you have perfectly understood our philosophy about hospitality.
We hope to have you soon as our guest.

Greetings
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked late to visit Florence for Spring Break, and had to find 2 reasonably priced rooms with a good location (1 family room and another for the grand-parents). Hotel Caravaggio met both of those needs, perfectly.

Rooms were large and well-appointed, but a little older. (The mattress in my room [43] needs to be replaced, though). The staff was excellent, helpful and courteous! (they recommended Ristorante Accademia and it was EXCELLENT, see my other review).

The breakfast was fresh but not fancy, everything you needed served in a very clean atmosphere. (They did have a very awkward table setting, with fancy cloth runners draped over into your lap, that if you [or my kids] weren't very careful you could pull the entire table setting off... they need to get rid of those!)

However, the cofee was terrible... or worse. Brewed in a mokka and then poured into a huge stainless steel coffee urn, where it's dispenced from the bottom (thereby ensuring every cup gets sludge). I love Italian coffee, but this ain't it...

Also parking was a bit expensive at 25 euro's a day, but that's Firenze, not the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your valuable suggestions ... we will try other coffee to serve to our guests
We hope to see you soon at the hotel

Regards
Leonardo
Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent three days here and found everything very satisfactory. Room and bathroom were clean well equipped - linen hand towels, lots of toiletries, minibar and safe. Continental breakfast perfectly adequate - apple danish pastries particularly tasty!. Short walk to all main sights and 10 minute walk to bus/train station. Staff very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunyaLargsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for you feedback
Looking forward to see you again

Fandabidosy!!!!

Leonardo
Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Caravaggio for almost 1 week in August 2012. We arrived from Pisa airport by the airport shuttlebus, Autostradale. It took only approx 1 hour, and the hotel was max 10 minutes walk from the train station/bus stop. We were greeted by Giuseppe upon arrival, and throughout our vacation he made us feeling very welcome. He recommended us places to go for dinner and other travelling tips.
The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. We had breakfast every morning, it was good and sufficient to start the day. We had a drink at the hotel bar a few times. One afternoon we spent in the small garden/courtyard reading and relaxing our feet after walking many kilometres round Firenze.
The hotel is located only 10 minutes walk from the Dome. We could walk to everything from the hotel. We travelled 2 girls together, and at no time did we feel uncomfortable being in Firenze.
One day we were too tired to walk around Firenze, Giuseppe advised us to go to the public pool right next to the race course. Just what we need for a relaxing day at the pool, getting suntanned.
You should definately have dinner at Accademia ristorante, if you enjoy wonderful food, it's in short walking distance from the hotel. Try the fantastic pizzas at Baldovino and enjoy lovely Italian ice cream at the ice bar Grom (it's a little difficult to find, but it's worth trying). Not to forget Restaurant 4 Leoni across the Ponte Veccio.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street with a wonderful view of the park in front of the hotel and the lands...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeneKaergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Ladies,

thanks for your valuable comment .
We are awaiting for the next time... at your home in Florence!!, see you soon

Warm regards
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in February (including Valentine's Day) and it was a wonderful time to be in Florence. The room was perfect for two, with a gorgeous view of the Florentine rooftops, including the Duomo, which made for a particularly beautiful sunrise landscape. The marble bathroom was also very nice. Because it was low tourist season, we were also able to stay in such a beautiful little room for an amazingly good value. The front desk staff were also very friendly and accommodating, and there was a very nice breakfast buffet each morning served in an elegant dining room. The location of Hotel Caravaggio was perfect for us and we could conveniently walk to all the sites we wanted to visit. We also found a wonderful little restaurant a short walk away from the hotel and had the most amazing Valentine's dinner there.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a view of the Duomo is worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcaravaggio, Proprietario at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Kristin,
We are happy to know that you spent romantic time for your stay during the valentine's day
We hope to have you soon as our guest

greetings
Leonardo Hotel Caravaggio Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#131 of 411 in Florence
451 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 411 in Florence
560 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#86 of 411 in Florence
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#54 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#59 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#107 of 411 in Florence
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $86 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing