We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #109 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel was small but clean. It was very close to the train station and easy to find. My room overlooked the square across the street and was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful with all the best sites to see, bus routes and train schedule. Breakfast was plentiful and I sat outside both mornings on the balcony. The hotel was in a very good location for all the wonderful sites of Florence. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonsky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 812 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very convenient hotel 10 minutes walk from the train station. It is close to many restaurants and a short walk to shops markets and landmarks. Staff were friendly. The hotel room was very clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast was good with cereal meat cheese and pastries. Not much to fault apart from noise from the street and park across the road.

Room Tip: The street and park can be a bit noisy so choose a room at the back if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chappelli1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room is spacious and clean. It will be great if there is a shower curtain. We had a bit of flooding in the toilet.
Our room is opposite a park, so it can get a bit noisy at times. Breakfast is served in a lovely and cozy room. Service staff at the counter is helpful and kindly booked a day tour for us. There are many nice eateries in the vicinity, including Chinese takeaway, which was perfect after many days of pizza and pasta!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mskmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

When I arrived with my wife, we were both very surprised at the size and comfort of our VERY clean room. I was a bit concerned because it looked like were a bit far from the action but once we got there, we realized that the S. Lorenzo market was a hop and skip away. We practically walked everywhere from our hotel and were very happy to know we would come back to a very quiet and comfortable place! Staff was pretty ok. We didn't interact much with them. Breakfast was pretty descent. Cereals, breads, cheese, meat, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frankyg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a hotel within walking distance of the Duomo and the railway station (so no need for a car) and is a good base for exploring Florence. It looks as though it could be noisy but even in the room next to the lift it was very quiet. The room was light and airy with a good size bed and a decent sized bathroom, air con was very appreciated as it was very hot when we visited (mid 30's). Another thing I appreciated was the tea making facilties - otherItalian hotels I have stayed in have no kettle in the room at all. It was good to be able to make a cup of tea when returning from a day's sightseeing.
The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was good continental buffet - try to get one of the three tables on the balcony to eat breakfast outside - lovely.
free wi fi was good (although only available downstairs in the lobby).
You must visit the central market - less than 10 mins walk away - for leather goods, scarves, tuscan china, Italian glass, etc, etc. It is huge and you can haggle to get a bargain.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mad_Mini_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days earlier this month. This place fit our needs to a tee. Prices were fair, location was SUPERB (just down the street from the railway station). We were able to do all of our sightseeing by foot as it is centrally located. There are ample restaurants nearby and it is also a stone's throw from the giant Central Marketplace (wow, what a place).

What appealed to us most was the friendly personnel and the warm atmosphere. There is a parlor with overstuffed couches and chairs, 2 free computers with internet service, and a small bar. There are outside patios downstairs and also off the 1st floor breakfast room. The breakfast (included with room price) is adequate and the coffee is good and strong. Our room was small (cozy!) and quiet. It had air conditioning and a TV that got American programs.

We couldn't have been happier and will definitely stay there when we visit Florence again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 430kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable, modest place to stay, I recommend Hotel Caravaggio. The staff was awesome and you are very close to the train station. The rooms are clean and nice bathroom space.

Room Tip: Cant remember the name, but go to the restaurant next door - the food is WONDERFUL!!!! Great a/c in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,249 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
405 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#122 of 410 in Florence
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
816 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#139 of 410 in Florence
471 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#120 of 410 in Florence
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 5, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $67 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
500 meters from the central train station of Florence and very close to the Polo Fieristico Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Stazione Leopolda, where the main displays and fairs take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing