We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is absolutely fine”
Review of Hotel Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Andrea
Ranked #307 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I cannot understand the adverse comments from some couples, who must have been here at a similar time to ourselves. We heard no noise from the pleasant park outside, apart from the traffic at around 7am. The lift worked perfectly. Breakfast is a normal continental type. The staff were friendly and helpful.The room was clean, the bed comfortable. If you are a repulsive 22stone slob you might struggle in the en-suite, but that is your fault not theirs. It is within easy walking distance (and I have a hip problem) of all the sights. It is not some souless Hilton type establishment, but a small B&B/Hotel We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonygriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 324 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

This Hotel is close and handy to the train station with a good selection of shops, markets and restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was old but clean and warm. The hotel offers wi-fi for a fee but it wasn't working for the 3 nights I was there. The walls are very thin....say no more! I don't recommend it to anyone who has issues with steps for the hotel is on the 4th level, but perfect for someone wanting cheap accommodation close to the train station.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Handy to the main Railway station and easy walk to the centre of the city. Situated on a Piazza. We had a room on the opposite side, so noise was not a problem. The room was comfortable, and modestly appointed. The bathroom was reasonable, though could have benefited from a shower screen. A big plus was the quaint lift to the 3rd floor, so easy to get luggage in and out. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was lovely. WiFi internet access was only 11Euro for the whole stay, and the hotel kindly posted back to me the power adapter I foolishly left in the room. Local restaurants were very good, especially Trattoria Guelpha.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desflurane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We visited due to good reviews on this site, On arrival found staff very ignorant, 'Heres your key, thats your room'. Room was clean and spacious with great views. Bathroom was tiny to say the least, ok if you are Olga Corbet as you needed to be a gymnast to get to the shower, which was at the far end of the corridor bathroom, past the basin, bidet, toilet and then finally the shower.
Bed time, oooh very comfortable bed, then the noise started, from 11.00pm till 3.00am, outside in the piazza drumks, beggars and teen tearaways screamed shouted and played on slides and swings in the childrens playground right underneath our window.... the infamous room 101.
Breakfast was a variety of stale breads and toast, warm ham and cheese or sickly sweet buns, all served with tepid coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

What a huge disappointment ! Location appears good but like other people have stated it is a nightmare around 11 pm and beyond . When asked at reception was told " this is Italy " .
The lift is a delight and feels like something from a 1950's manhattan thriller . Unfortunately the fun stops at the top . We checked in and were escorted to our room ( 101 - George Orwell is very true .) . Basically the few staff that could speak English only did when they absolutely had to . Bathroom in 101 is minute and you have to perform acrobatics to manoeuvre around the toilet to get to the shower . I couldnt even shave as theres no room to bend over sink . The breakfast is shocking and is a continental excuse . What a shocking stay !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borobarmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Location is very handy - we walked from main Firenze train station, Santa Maria Novella, down Via Nazionale to easily find the Piazza Independencia - which the hotel faces. Easy access to San Lorenzo market, Uffizi,, Galleria Academia, etc. Room 102 has a very nice view. Yes, its small, but tidy and pretty. Friendly staff. Regarding street noise - this is Italy! Italians are frequently outdoors, and we heard street noise when we stayed in a 4 star hotel in the provinces.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel is on the third floor of the building,good location,with the park in front of it ,and if you get the room with the beautiful view on the Santa Maria del Fiore and the park in front of it,I have to say that your joy won't last very long!Well,everything is beautiful until eleven o'clock in the evening when fiesta starts in front of your window with lots of lots of people who have dinner on the benches in the park and children screaming and playing football and screaming more and more and that's going on until 1-1:30 in the night,so if you are going on the holiday and want to rest,take your earplugs or search for the room on the other side of the hotel.What a waist of a good view!!!
The room is very small,but neat and with even smaller bathroom.the bathroom doesn't have shower cabin or bath,and you have to take the shower above the toilet,and it smells real bad on the mould.
Breakfast is o.k,not very reach,but enough.
All in all it's not bad for a short stay,but that's all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Srna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Delle Camelie
Delle Camelie
#192 of 411 in Florence
148 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#268 of 411 in Florence
610 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#287 of 411 in Florence
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#152 of 411 in Florence
1,056 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#305 of 411 in Florence
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andrea

Address: Piazza dell'Indipendenza 19, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Andrea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rino and his staff are pleased to welcome you at the Hotel Andrea where hospitality and home. You will also find friendly and helpful staff. The hotel decorated in typical Florentine style features rooms with views out over the city with views of the hills and the most important monument of the Florentine Renaissance, the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore with its artificial dome by Brunelleschi and the famous Campanile Giotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing