We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filled our need well”
Review of Hotel Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andrea
Ranked #292 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Location is very handy - we walked from main Firenze train station, Santa Maria Novella, down Via Nazionale to easily find the Piazza Independencia - which the hotel faces. Easy access to San Lorenzo market, Uffizi,, Galleria Academia, etc. Room 102 has a very nice view. Yes, its small, but tidy and pretty. Friendly staff. Regarding street noise - this is Italy! Italians are frequently outdoors, and we heard street noise when we stayed in a 4 star hotel in the provinces.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel is on the third floor of the building,good location,with the park in front of it ,and if you get the room with the beautiful view on the Santa Maria del Fiore and the park in front of it,I have to say that your joy won't last very long!Well,everything is beautiful until eleven o'clock in the evening when fiesta starts in front of your window with lots of lots of people who have dinner on the benches in the park and children screaming and playing football and screaming more and more and that's going on until 1-1:30 in the night,so if you are going on the holiday and want to rest,take your earplugs or search for the room on the other side of the hotel.What a waist of a good view!!!
The room is very small,but neat and with even smaller bathroom.the bathroom doesn't have shower cabin or bath,and you have to take the shower above the toilet,and it smells real bad on the mould.
Breakfast is o.k,not very reach,but enough.
All in all it's not bad for a short stay,but that's all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Srna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I chose this hotel only because I had 5 days of business on that side of the city - otherwise the location is too far out from any attractions - you can do much better elsewhere. having reserved for 6 nights and been assured all comforts in room including laptop I arrived to be greeted by a sullen receptionist who took me to a dank, dark numberless room which could serve as a closet. the only light being from a door to a balcony where 7 a/c units hummed along all day and night. my own a/c was nothing but the sound of running water. was told the laptop was at reception, none in room. no phone, no fridge, plenty of mosquitoes. towels were not changed nor was a new plastic cup given in 4 nights. having spoken to colleagues staying at other hotels learned that this was not the standard for the price so complained. was told that altho this was a 3star hotel I only had a single room. so - single room is single star despite the hotel ranking? was moved to a much better room with laptop, fridge, etc. and view. but had already suffered too long - no-one should be put in such a room, or at least told what they are getting for the price. if you want a tiny closet room go to Hotel Medici for at least 20 euro a night less practically on top of the Duomo with a splendid private rooftop terrace just for guests. there is no reason to stay at Andrea.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The Andrea Hotel is a delightful 3* hotel close to everywhere you would want to visit in Florence. The frontage is not well signed - only a brass wall plaque - and we walked past it once before turning back to find it! The lift to the 3rd floor Reception is not for the faint hearted but it only broke down once (for an hour) in 8 days. Ask for a room with a panoramic view to the front. We had No 101 and the vista over the adjacent tree lined Piazza Della Indepenza, the stunning Duomo and the rooftops of Florence was breath-taking. Our room was fairly basic but was pure Tuscany. Comfortable and immaculately clean. One highlight was the small terrace off the breakfast room. Ideal for said breakfast on the warm, sunny mornings we enjoyed and equally delightful for an early evening tipple before dinner. Wine was available for 6e a bottle, the local chianti and rose were superb - as was the ability for me to enjoy a mellow cigar watching the swifts and swallows feasting on the mosquitos. Breakfast was modest but plentiful. The only down-turn was the absence of either "real" cheese" or the classic smoked meats and sausages that Italy is famous for. Biggest plus? The staff, - each and everyone of whom was charming, helpful, ever smiling and made you feel valued as a guest. My culture & history loving lady friend insists we return to Florence and it will only be to Andrea Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raratrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The good points - near train station, clean, has a lift, nice breakfast but overall a little 'tired'.
The bad points - poor heating, no space in bedroom - a double bed squashed in between a shaky cupboard, broken desk and bar fridge. Could not actually unpack and it was only me in there! The bathroom was a corner of the bedroom with a shower that flooded as soon as it was used.
You can do better at a similar price. Definitely the wrong star rating!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj_mct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The hotel was located in a safe location next to a park. Within easy walking distance to all tourist locations and transportation. Our room was spacious, clean and had a great view of the Duomo! We enjoyed the variety of foods and coffees for breakfast, which were served on a small balcony. The staff were courteous, helpful, and made us feel most welcome in their hotel. We would return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CDNTRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

If you look for a family hotel near the center, this is the place to go.The hotel is located at 3rd floor of an old house and well decorated in the pure toscan tradition.
The room we got was enough big for two but the bathroom very tiny...this is also the charm of Italy. Breakfast is not huge but was ok for us.The staff is very helpful and very kind. Thank you to all. If you want to save money and feel the real Italian way of life, I will recomand you the Hotel Andrea.
We'll go back....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Delle Camelie
Delle Camelie
#189 of 409 in Florence
147 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#158 of 409 in Florence
278 reviews
Albergo Sonia
#293 of 409 in Florence
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 409 in Florence
230 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Arcadia
Hotel Arcadia
#266 of 409 in Florence
205 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 409 in Florence
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andrea

Address: Piazza dell'Indipendenza 19, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $67 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Andrea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rino and his staff are pleased to welcome you at the Hotel Andrea where hospitality and home. You will also find friendly and helpful staff. The hotel decorated in typical Florentine style features rooms with views out over the city with views of the hills and the most important monument of the Florentine Renaissance, the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore with its artificial dome by Brunelleschi and the famous Campanile Giotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing