We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with nice view of city skyline.”
Review of Hotel Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Andrea
Ranked #303 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Andrea. They provided a very nice buffet breakfast every morning. The lobby is on the 3rd floor, so our room had a great view over the tops of the trees in the Indepence Plaza Park across the street. The staff was also very friendly and helpful to us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semi_retired_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Andrea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 319 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights over the Easter period. Truth be told, it was a last minute booking as most other hotels more central were booked up. Coming from London, Florence is an easily walkable city anyway, the Duomo is about 10 mins walk. The view from the room was amazing and staff were friendly, recognising us so we didnt even have to ask for our room key, they just passed it to us. However, as with most of Italy, its an old building and the walls are as thin as newspaper, we were woken both nights by other room residents making the most of each other, and as our room was right by reception, the telephone and doorbell kept waking us up thorughout the night. The bathroom was adequate, the water was scorching hot and unpredictable, no safe, no kettle but decent wifi. We were overlooking the square but the windows were great at keeping noise out. All in all, decent, but sleepless nights. I suggest walking around Florence until you're so tired you pass out til morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenchinnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

very-very noisy,shabby.It not three stars, it's minus of 3 stars
check-out in 11, but in 10.57 our luggage was in reception, All that remains outside of a suitcase - have thrown out in garbage/
service of a parking - the car we waited each time for 45-50 minutes

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xantalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treeffe, Proprietario at Hotel Andrea, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear Guest,
we're very upset from your review. The check out time is at 11 a.m. but we are always willing to wait if the customer needs to continue to use the room for a while. Obviously we can not wait until lunch time because there are new customers who are entitled to arrive and find a clean room waiting for them.
The day of the departure, we permit our customers to leave their bags and to come back to catch them when they want in the afternoon. If you leave something in the room, when the maid cleans it she throws away the things that are judged as "waste" (left by the client for this reason) and keep safe the things that we think have been forgotten by mistake.
If we find something important in the room, be sure that we preserve it and you can call us to have it back.
For the parking, we have a conventioned garage which is usually very efficient. They come here in few minutes (20 minutes max). Even if, sometimes you can wait longer but not much than 20 minutes. And the delay is not due to them: a big problem of Florence is the traffic, aboveall near the city center.
We hope to have clarified your negative remarks and to have the opportunity to change your mind about us! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I cannot understand the adverse comments from some couples, who must have been here at a similar time to ourselves. We heard no noise from the pleasant park outside, apart from the traffic at around 7am. The lift worked perfectly. Breakfast is a normal continental type. The staff were friendly and helpful.The room was clean, the bed comfortable. If you are a repulsive 22stone slob you might struggle in the en-suite, but that is your fault not theirs. It is within easy walking distance (and I have a hip problem) of all the sights. It is not some souless Hilton type establishment, but a small B&B/Hotel We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonygriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This Hotel is close and handy to the train station with a good selection of shops, markets and restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was old but clean and warm. The hotel offers wi-fi for a fee but it wasn't working for the 3 nights I was there. The walls are very thin....say no more! I don't recommend it to anyone who has issues with steps for the hotel is on the 4th level, but perfect for someone wanting cheap accommodation close to the train station.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Handy to the main Railway station and easy walk to the centre of the city. Situated on a Piazza. We had a room on the opposite side, so noise was not a problem. The room was comfortable, and modestly appointed. The bathroom was reasonable, though could have benefited from a shower screen. A big plus was the quaint lift to the 3rd floor, so easy to get luggage in and out. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was lovely. WiFi internet access was only 11Euro for the whole stay, and the hotel kindly posted back to me the power adapter I foolishly left in the room. Local restaurants were very good, especially Trattoria Guelpha.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desflurane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We visited due to good reviews on this site, On arrival found staff very ignorant, 'Heres your key, thats your room'. Room was clean and spacious with great views. Bathroom was tiny to say the least, ok if you are Olga Corbet as you needed to be a gymnast to get to the shower, which was at the far end of the corridor bathroom, past the basin, bidet, toilet and then finally the shower.
Bed time, oooh very comfortable bed, then the noise started, from 11.00pm till 3.00am, outside in the piazza drumks, beggars and teen tearaways screamed shouted and played on slides and swings in the childrens playground right underneath our window.... the infamous room 101.
Breakfast was a variety of stale breads and toast, warm ham and cheese or sickly sweet buns, all served with tepid coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Leopolda
#264 of 411 in Florence
297 reviews
San Lorenzo
Delle Camelie
Delle Camelie
#193 of 411 in Florence
143 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#219 of 411 in Florence
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#271 of 411 in Florence
584 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#156 of 411 in Florence
453 reviews
Hotel Ferrucci
#204 of 411 in Florence
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andrea

Address: Piazza dell'Indipendenza 19, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $71 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Andrea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rino and his staff are pleased to welcome you at the Hotel Andrea where hospitality and home. You will also find friendly and helpful staff. The hotel decorated in typical Florentine style features rooms with views out over the city with views of the hills and the most important monument of the Florentine Renaissance, the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore with its artificial dome by Brunelleschi and the famous Campanile Giotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrea Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing