We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average stay on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Derby Florence

Hotel Derby Florence
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Derby Florence
Ranked #364 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average stay on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

If you're on a budget and does not have any particular need except for a bed and a bathroom, this is a place to consider. 5 minutes walking away from both railway station Santa Maria Novella and city centre (Duomo, etc...), the position is the principal reason to book this place. Decent rooms (the place was going to be refurbished when I stayed there), acceptably clean.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Gzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Situated near by the central station and all important museums and sights. Good service in lobby, clean room (except for mouldy stains in the bathroom) but in need of some renovation. Breakfast OK with very white toast, jam and spread cheese. Good coffee. Very friendly staff. A good basic hotel worth the price in a city where you're not supposed to spend time at the hotel unless you're sleeping. (An extra plus for the daily drama of the cats in the backyard)

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ASofieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I stayed three nights in Florence, in this hotel. Apon arriving i found it hard to find. I had to ask at another hotel for directions to the hotel i was staying at!

When i found it, i could bearly fit into the elevator with my backpack, but when i got to the front desk i found i had been upgraded to a nicer room, that was very nice of them.

The staff was very nice, helped me when i needed help. I stayed in room 9 (i think) It was small, but i had a huge bed! very comfortable too. The only real problem i had with the room was the smell, it constantly had a faint smell of bleach... it was bearable and with the window opened it went away. The bathroom however! That smell never went away, i had a private bathroom, with no windows and the smell was unbearable! it smelt like mold, damp and bleach, it was terriable, even with the fan on, i tried to hold my breathe everytime i went to the toilet.

I loved the view from the room, it was completely magificant! the best part of my stay!

I also read about the room top terrence online, and was looking forward to eating breakfast there ever since i booked it, sadly i didnt get to even see it! i was quite disapointed.

I would not go there again. and i wouldnt reconmend to a friend.... there was a few nice things about the hotel, but all up i wasnt pleased with my experince.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada, spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We arrived at Hotel Derby with the excitement of the Terrace, too bad for us that it was beat up and not very pretty at all, but the view of the duomo is exceptional. The bedroom was really tiny, so not ideal for a young child who needs space to move. On the other hand once we got into bed the room was nice and warm and cozy. Still, the breakfast the next morning was nothing more than a coffee and a slice of break with jam and some cookies, not exactly a well balanced breakfast. Though the attendant was courteous. When i went to pay they told me they only accepted CASH, frustrated by this because i had to walk outside in the rain to the ATM, they apologized but i was still a little annoyed especially since the man made a comment the first night that he assured us we could pay with credit card, and that it would be no problem.

All in all, i would pay 20 euros more and go somewhere else. This place is very much a backpackers hotel/hostel. The only thing nice or exceptional was the man who cleaned our room was very thorough and sweet.

p.s parking down the street is 26 euros a night. and the cheapest closest one is about a 20 min walk and cost 20 a night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyingtheshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Hotel Derby is definatly a backpackers type place. The building is owned by one person. There are several floors that are hostels and the Hotel Derby is one wing of the 3rd floor. The only difference between it and a hostel is that it has private bathrooms. It is a VERY clean hotel. The rooms had A/C and comfortable beds with clean sheets and towels. The bathroom was spacious for Europe. The lobby is on the 5th floor and that is where you get breakfast and your internet service. It is a very appropriate place for backpakcers and budget travellers. The rooftop terrace had beautiful views of all of Florence and was a greta place to have fun, play games and socialize. We met many people here while we stayed here.
The hotel is near several shops and resturants and is two blocks from the main shopping street. It is maybe 6 blocks from the Duomo and all the sites. We walkeed everywhere while in Florence. It is also in a safe, lively area. Almost all of Florence is very safe and the hotel area made it easy to come back late or go out at night.
Overall a fantastic experience and would recommend and stay again should I find myself in Florence in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

we booked 3 nights at this hotel, we were in florence for a wedding.
However when we arrived i had read about the lift being very small but
did not expect it to be as small as it was you can only fit one person with one bag at at time into it.
We were giving room number 9, when we went in i had being expecting it to be old from the reviews but this room was terriable there was ants walking on the table the toilet seat was cracked and the shower was filty. Iwent to the manger and he gave use a different room.
Room 13 this room was even worse the dirt in the shower was so bad that the door would not slide. When you walk into the room you almost fall over the bed and there is now more space in the room to put your luagage down. when i checked the bed the sheets were perfect white and clean but under them was a dirty off white full of dirty fluff blanket.
At this stage my skin was crawling and my stomach turning i could not stay in this so called 2star hotel even if it was free.
We went back to the manger and canceled our reservation. We still had to pay for one night stay which was better than staying in any of his hotel rooms.
On the up side the staff are nice friendly people.
Rachel Dublin

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gliterchairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

The hotel is very nice! But it's rather old.
It is situated just 5 minutes from railway station and 5 minutes walk from the city center. Great location!
Friendly staff, good breakfast for this price!

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry_Sorokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cantoria
Hotel Cantoria
#201 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#118 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#98 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#134 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby Florence

Property: Hotel Derby Florence
Address: Via Nazionale 35, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Derby Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing