We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with an axcellent roof top terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Derby Florence

Hotel Derby Florence
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Derby Florence
Ranked #364 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel with an axcellent roof top terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Great for the price...comfortable with airconditioning and free internet access (for 30mins). Has a fabulous roof top terrace with great city views. Staff are fantastic and allow you to take own food and drinks to have on the roof top terrace if you want to save some money and not eat out. Well worth staying for a good price.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1801Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately the hotel is too far from the centre of town .It probably takes approx 1 hour to walk to the centre.
I will stay here again whenever we visit Florence.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MDuvalle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Booked this hotel through our local travel agent. Came home and checked Trip advisor and wondered what on earth we were going to get. I did want to change but glad I didn't. The room was nothing like what other reports had said. It was clean and tidy. As it is an old building some of it looks a bit grotty but at the end of the day its only a place to shower and sleep - obviously the owners have taken note of the previous reports. The hotel is not badly situated and the roof garden had spectacular views of the city. Don't go with great expectations and you won't be disappointed, I expected the worst and was quite surprised.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the tiny lift
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Not only doesn't this hotel deserve its two stars but it shouldn't even be allowed to exist. My boyfriend and I found it after searching for like 2 hours cause there was not even a `hotel' sign visible from the street. To enter the building you have to step in dirty water, then take the most minuscule elevator ever (maximum two slim people can fit in it). When you get in the hotel it's all dark, old and musty. The guy at the front desk was pretty shaddy. The room was old, mouldy and dirty. We had booked through the hotel's website that shows photos that are completely misleading. The service has nothing to do with the description. When the electricty went off we decided to leave. The guy promised not to charge us for the night , what he actually did. We were lucky to find a room at the Hotel Byron a few blocks away: 3 stars, exact same price with parking included, huge room and excellent service.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank unrealcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

This is truly the worst experience imaginable. My stomach wretches when I think of how awful my experience was. How can this hotel be permitted to exist. It is disgusting! The dirt on the walls in the bathroom was incredible. The dirt around the shower was dreadful. The room was small, beds unclean, mattresses so old ,furniture cheap and nasty.Think of your worst experience staying in a hotel or guest house then multipy it by 5.
I checked out early and I am still scratching my head and body with the effects of bugs and tics from this place.
The staff are just out to screw travellers in the most low level way.They offer no service and then insisted on charging me for the nights that I refused to stay. I only hope that one of them has a similar experience when travelling!!!!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank breathingiseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeneve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

The hotel is in the middle of the historical city center near duomo and piaza signoria and far just little steps from the trainstation. It's not so beautiful but is nice, comfortable and clean, the breakfast is excellent and the staff kind and likeable. There is a beautiful terrace on the roof where to be able to make breakfast, to stay under the sun reading a book and to admire from high the cupola of duomo and all the city skyline. The front desk is opened day and night and the staff it is able to help for whichever, in order to reserve the visits to the museums, the ticket train, the restaurant, the taxi or other necessity. The dogs small and big are accepted also. I suggest it to all those don't want to spend for a 5 stars hotel but want all the comforts. I suggest also to visit the magnificent ancient market forehead the hotel opened in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

Awful!!
smelly
blood on the sheets
mould on the walls
curtains didnt close, we held ours together with hair clips
sheets on the walls covering holes in the plaster
plugs coming off the ways
camp beds
rude/ creepy staff
disgusting breakfast
doors dont open properly
tiny lift
on 5th floor
12am curfew, including adults (they lock the doors)
hair in the shower
Is this enough for you to decide whether to stay here??...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything, Honestly the travel agent transfered us coz it was so bad!!
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthbrookGirls!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cantoria
Hotel Cantoria
#197 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#118 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby Florence

Property: Hotel Derby Florence
Address: Via Nazionale 35, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Derby Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing