We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #55 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Stay Ever”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Although the hotel is a little out of the city center, it is definitely within walking distance and there are plenty of public buses to take you to the center in the nearby bus stop. I had reserved the deluxe room because it has a jacuzzi bath and being that it was our honeymoon, we needed a few days to relax. We had stayed in some of the finest hotels in Italy including the Rome Cavalieri, The Excelsior in Naples, and the Molino Stucky in Venice and so I was a little concerned about staying in a small non-large chain hotel and to my surprise, it was our best stay. Lucas greeted us with a smile and congratulated us on our getting married and thanked us for choosing the San Gallo as our hotel of choice for our honeymoon. We remembered that I had requested the deluxe room with the jacuzzi and he upgraded us into one of the suites with the jacuzzi. What a delightful surprise that was. After having a terrible stay at the Excelsior in Naples where they wouldn't even offer an upgraded to which I was entitled for being a gold member and the manager wasn't even willing to offer breakfast or any other amenity for the inconvenience or for choosing them from my honeymoon, it was definitely unexpected to being upgraded just because. The suite had a small living room area, a humongous walk in closest, the largest bedroom in Italy with a King size bed and the best more relaxing bathroom I have have ever been in. The jacuzzi was very enjoyable as you can imagine after a long adventurous day through Florence but the shower also had the side massaging nozzles and it was a real treat. But the best of the hotel would have to be the food. They offer buffet breakfast in the morning and they offered everything you could probably ask for inlcuding an assortment of breads, jams, yogurts, cereals, cold cuts, pastries, fruits, and cheeses. Delicious. Room service was great. The food was delicious and surprisingly afforable at about 10-12 Euro for a large dinner plate of food and 6-7 euro for desert. The best part of my stay was that the suite had a large terrace just for our room with a small table and two chairs. We bought a candle in the city and ordered room service and had the most romantic candle light dinner ever. The San Gallo Palace made our honeymoon that much more pleasureable and the front desk was very accomodating to our every need. Thanks for a very pleasureable and romantic stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JermanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    711
    117
    27
    8
See reviews for
294
1,105
41
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beja, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

San Gallo palace is a great hotel, very clean and tidy and the rooms are spacious and luxurious.
The area of the hotel is OK, about 15 minutes walking from Duomo and other Florence main attractions.
There are great restaurants nearby as a Pub in Via San Gallo, were you can eat a tasty buffet, including long drinks, beer and cocktails, for only 8€ ( a real bargain).
A will return asap.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at the San Gallo for two nights in April chosen mainly because the rate we got (60 euros a night inc breakfast through hotelbook.com) was way lower than anything else more central for the same grade of hotel. After reading the reviews we decided that we'd stay a bit further out and walk in and save our euros.

The hotel itself was great - bedroom was massive and the bathroom was very nice. We had a little walled terrace to sit out on and although there weren't any tea making facilities in the room, they brought a little kettle and cup etc up for me on request. Breakfast was really nice and offered a choice of continental pastries, meats and breads but there was also scrambled egg and bacon available. The lady and gentleman serving in the breakfast room were absolutely lovely and provided an excellent service.

Location wasn't that great - about 20 minutes walk into the centre and there wasn't much nearby in terms of eateries. It was near enough to stroll in but far enough not to want to bother coming back to the hotel to get changed to come back into the centre for dinner so we'd tend to stay out all day and eat before we came back. On the way there we got a taxi from the train station which was 10 euros and when we checked out we walked back to the station - we only had little cases so it wasn't too bad but it is a good 20-25 minutes. We then ended up leaving our cases at the train station as we had an afternoon departure but wanted to visit some museums in the centre before leaving - again the same problem around the time and effort it would take to come back and collect the cases so decided against it.

Hotels in Florence are expensive so if you are looking for good value and don't mind the walking and being a bit out of the way then you can't do better than the San Gallo.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The rooms and hotel itself were nice, nothing special. I guess I was expecting more. But, it is very clean, roomy, and comfortable. Bed was super comfortable. It is quite far from everything. We were able to walk, but it's a far walk, especially at night. Great service from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7kendra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

After flying into Rome from the states we drive directly to Florence, so we were a bit tired and it was our first trip to Italy....The staff made us feel welcome and as we had many questions, were able to direct us not only to restaurants buy also to highway connections to travel to Siena and other locations. Our room was quite nice and had a huge shower, uncommon in our travels after. They have a small garden to the side of the hotel which was nice to decompress after sightseeing all day. Arrangements of the Uffizi were also taken care of by the hotel. I highly recommend the double decker sightseeing buses in Florence. Saw much more by using one....it was not as good an experience in Rome as they dropped you much farther from the locations in Rome. Wonderstay and wonderful people at the desk at all hours....Thanks

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This hotel is beautiful. Staff made us feel like it was all ours and took wonderful care of us (thank you Riccardo, Essat, Laura, Luca and all the others). Location perfect. Far enough away from the crowds but close enough to walk to all the major attractions (and crowds) whenever you wanted (which was often!). Hotel so clean and professional but extremely friendly. Would definitely recommend you check this one out. My perfect Italian experience. 2 (50+) female teaching friends. Australia and England

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megstarAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We got to Florence via train from Rome. On their website, it says it's a walking distance from the train station. Wrong! Especially if you are hauling luggages. Take a cab or if you don't have lot to carry, take a bus. The hotel itself is clean, roomy, and great bathrooms! It was a big relief to have such huge bathroom with wonderful shower features. Staff was not too friendly, did not speak English well enough to communicate what we are looking for. Location is great. It is away from craziness of central Florence but only 5 min. bus ride. The area it's in is quiet and very charming. Try different small restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov2bParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,220 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
1,842 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
767 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing