We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #57 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the San Gallo Palace - it was clean and comfortable with friendly staff. The one downside that we found was that we had to call reception for heat in our room which seemed to be a bizarre idea. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of options and delightful coffee (standard Italy!). The location is a bit of a bone of contention - we didnt think it was that good but we did have rain so it probably felt further to walk into the main centre. However, for the price, we couldn't really complain - i'm sure you could stay further in but you'll definitely pay for it. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    717
    120
    27
    8
See reviews for
299
1,116
41
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great choice!! Really good location, friendly stuff, tiny but very convenient and clean rooms. Good price for such hotel. Delicious breakfasts. Will definitely stay here next time in Florence. I can advice this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Boris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We left this hotel this morning after a 3 night stay....one word to describe it all...wonderful. Beautiful room, fabulous breakfast and charming staff. A 15 minute walk from the centre which suited us.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulieCranmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The San Gallo Palace hotel has a number of excellent plus points;

The staff are attentive and helpful, from the minute me and my girlfriend stepped into the hotel it was obvious that the staff pride themselves on their level of service.

The bedrooms are (at least in our case) clean, tidy and well spaced, in addition to being quiet I.e. noises from next door were not easily made out. The only negative was that the plugs in both our bath and sink were slightly defective however this was sorted quickly following discussion with the receptionist.

The breakfast is extremely good given the relative size of the hotel. They attempt to cater for all needs and the women managing the service are friendly, polite and eager to help.

The only two negatives of note are 1) the hardness of the bed (although I fear this is a trend throughout hotels in Italy) and 2) the distance to attractions such as the pitti palace however on the latter, it is such a pleasant 10-15 minute walk it is hardly worth mentioning.

Anyone wanting a pleasant, but perhaps not overly luxurious base from which to explore Florence, should consider staying at the San Gallo Palace, it has everything you could need, is not far from the attractions and presents great value for money.

If ever I return to Florence I would definitely consider staying again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early January. This hotel was perfect for us. The location was away from the sights but not too far to walk. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was very good and the front desk was incredibly helpful and nice to us. The room service food was also very good. If I am every lucky enough to come back to Florence I will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShesOnlyRocknRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is good and close enough to walk to most of the tourist sights. We booked a suite as we have a young daughter. The suite had a balcony overlooking the square which was nice but the 'lounge' area was a narrow room with a sofa and desk only. The TV was in the bedroom so you couldn't sit on a sofa or chair to watch TV. The 'lounge' area is pretty pointless really. However, the hotel is well kept and staff were great. Parking is limited on street but the hotel offers secure underground parking 200m from the hotel at 10euro a day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel is highly recommended: great service, great rooms. We spent 4 nights here on a city break. The hotel staff are all lovely and very attentive. Breakfast was lovely - good selection of food with bacon, scrambled eggs included. It is not right in the city centre but takes 10 mins to walk to the Academia and another 5 to the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing