We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel During Our Italy Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #61 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I visited Venice, Florence and Rome staying in a different hotel in each city. By far, this hotel was our favorite. The staff was excellent and even helped us make our tour confirmations. Also, the bartender helped us find a restaurant that was open late so we didn't have to eat frozen bar food. Our room however was the best part - Room 101. It had a private spacious balcony overlooking a garden with it's own patio and patio furniture. We sat out there each night sipping wine and reflecting on our travels. We enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning and the wait staff was superb - pastries, eggs, fried prosciutto, yogurt, fresh coffee and carrot juice...you must try the carrot juice, sweet and delicious!

The walk from the hotel to downtown Florence wasn't too bad. It's in a safe area and really just a straight shot to the Medici Chapel and the Duomo if you walk directly down Via San Gallo. Also, you must try the gelato at the cafe across from San Gallo Palace, tasty and has the best price in town!

I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in San Gallo Palace during our travels through Italy. The garden outside as well as the bike rentals was a nice touch. Florence is a hard city to drive in so I suggest the convenient local transportation to downtown as well as to Fiesole. The breakfast was typical fresh Italian food. (Remember, Italians don't eat eggs and bacon as often as Americans do.) Also, remember to immerse yourself in the culture and language as best you can to have the most fun and memories. (Why would we expect all Italians to speak English when they live in Italy?)

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking a side street and was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glo1985__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were staying there for the third time and this year we use San Gallo Palace just for one night during our trip to Chianti.This hotel is situated not directly in the centre but within 15 minutes walk to Duomo. Rooms are well decorated,clean and big enough for stay in Florence. Breakfast buffet could be more varied, but it is sufficient. Staff more then helpful. We can reccomend hotel for everybody who wants to enjoy Florence without surprise and safe and we will deffinitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Takes a bit of a walk to get to the sites. Walked it on Day 1 to the duomo. Not too bad until you have to walk back too.

But figure out the C1 bus, and everything becomes convenient. The bus is just around the corner.

This is clearly a 4 star hotel once you walk in. Finally a hotel wih professionalism I'm accustomed to. And at a budget price.

Room was large and clean. Mattresses are comfortable.

If visiting florence, definitely give this hotel high consideration.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a really lovely hotel, very clean and lovely spacious rooms, which is quite rare for hotels in Italian cities. As other reviews have mentioned, it is a bit of a walk to the centre (about 20 minutes to il duomo) but I didn't find this excessive and think the location is reflected in the price as I found the hotel very good value for money. Sometimes it was nice to be walking back through the bustle of the city, knowing you were going back to a nice quiet room! My only criticism would be the cost of the wi-fi and the fact that you have to pay for parking, which I think should be included as a guest of the hotel, but overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind a short walk to the city's attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lols80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great Location within a short walk to town centre, superb rooms, true italian style, renovated bathrooms. Awesome staff. Could not ask for more helpful staff, nothing was ever a problem. Wifi you have to pay for which was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Before reading my review, just a little information on myself. My fiancee and I stayed here in May 2013. I am very honest in my reviews and take into perspective not only the hotel overall, but the price, location, etc. when reviewing. The hotel was very clean and the room was of decent size. I wouldn't say it is a 4 star hotel by any country standards however. The breakfast was ok. Yogurt, fruit, pastries, eggs, the standard. There was a nice outdoor area for eating. The bar was ok at best. There is a very small gym located there, but beyond basic: treadmill, ellyptical and one weight machine. The location itself is about a 10-15 min walk to the Duomo with a few restaurants on the way if you walk down certain streets. In general there is not much within a 5min radius to do, see, eat or go out at night. Given taxis are expensive, you might want to factor this into your budget. Also, wifi is not free. So if you are looking for a romantic 4 star hotel with location to nightlife, you may want to look elsewhere. Overall, experience was good though and you won't be upset by the $200 US price tag per night considering prices of nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Burnzes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are glad you experienced all our valued services offer to our guests but please allow us to inform you that we have a lot of interesting proposal and special offers for those who are looking for something special…

"Fabulous Florence in a chariot...."
Booking this special offer with 2 nights in a Superior room, we will organise a special unforgettable evening: an horses chariot, symbol of Florence that was, will bring you at the discovery of the most important Palaces, Monuments, Squares and Churches. After one hour ride the “fiaccheraio” (two-horses carriage driver) will bring you “Oltrarno” (opposite side of the river Arno) at a famous restaurant where you will taste a good traditional dinner offered by San Gallo Palace. Antique roots of this restaurant born from Cosimo de’ Medici age are keeping unchanged florence tradition and good food.

" Love Surprise" Package – Suite :
Take a short unforgettable lovers' break in Florence...A romantic getaway for two, intimate atmosphere, a game of glances in magic places , irresistible gluttony ... intense emotions to recall the moments when souls have met and loved for the first times... Celebrate with esclusive breakfast champagne surrounded by the scent of fresh flowers and more other surprise..

Special Offer "Inferno Dan Brown tour":
"All hope abandon, ye who enter here ... search...find! "
Booking an "Inferno Dan Brown tour stay with San Gallo Palace" you will have the possibility to take part of a an exclusive 3 hours city tour around Florence on the clues of Robert Langdon and of the hidden main character of the Dan Bown's book, inner visit of Palazzo Vecchio , of the Baptistry and Cathedral of Florence at a special rate

… and other more offers and packages that you can check and book directly on our official web site.
Should you ever decide to come back to us, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. Sincerely,
Oana Stancu – F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
836 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#63 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 409 in Florence
1,194 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 409 in Florence
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $87 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing