We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and convenient - a winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #58 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. We were very happy with the hotel. I would give 4 1/2 if it were possible, so that would be a very, very good thing. Now if you absolutely need free wi-fi to make your visit to an amazing, historic, art-filled city like Florence worth your while, you should pick somewhere else to stay. Otherwise this place absolutely did it for us. Okay, the breakfast wasn't what i would call 4 star but it had a good range of food and the juices were great. It does sit quite near to a busy roundabout so it's not the quietest place, but then again you are in a major city and traffic happens. Just depends on what you want. Once you are in the hotel you can’t really hear the traffic. It's not a huge place, with 3 floors of rooms and facilities and one below ground which is where the breakfast room is. Off the breakfast room are about 8 tables outside so you can breakfast in the open, which is a really lovely way to start your day. And a boon if you happen to be a smoker. The service was faultless – the staff was friendly, accomodating and helpful in any way. The hotel is a bit of tardis - you don’t feel like you are in a big hotel but in a more homely place. There wasn’t noise in the hotel, it’s carpeted, the halls are not huge so it’s almost like soundproofing. Our room, a Classic room, was the perfect size for us - not huge but had everything in it that you would need, and it even had a small balcony as well, which overlooked Italian flats. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle and the view was just so “Italian”. It was very comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space (something is lacking in other hotel rooms that are twice the size!) and the air conditioner worked very well – very important in Florence in the summer! There’s a garden in the front of the hotel, just off to the left as you walk through the gate, with about 5-6 tables – great for drinks or even a light meal if you can’t make it back out of the hotel after an exhausting day of sightseeing. This is not a big name hotel and it’s not in the middle of the action, which made it perfect for us. Also to note is that it’s very close to bus stops that will take you into town and even one of the hop –on / hop-off buses stops just a few minutes away. We walked from the main train station, which I wouldn’t recommend if you have heavy bags or if you are already a bit tired. Spring for a cab – it’s about 10E and definitely worth it - or take one of those City bus which stops near the hotel . Another thing that we loved is that it’s about a 10-15 min walk to the Gallerie dell'Accademia – you must stop in and see Michaelangelo’s David if you can (but get ready for long queues!). There are good restaurants in the area, a very nice gelateria about 30 seconds away and the Piazza della Liberta is on your doorstep. According to Wiki – the Piazza is the northernmost point of historic Florence – so really a good way to start your trip! All in all we really loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we can ever back to Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DakotaTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise for the hotel and for rating our staff so highly. It is a pleasure to have delivered an experience beyond expectation .
We look forward to your return for another “homely” stay.

Sincerely,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I cannot understand why everyone is raving about the location of this hotel. It is an absolute nightmare walking 25 minutes into the nearest attraction, in 30 degree heat. 25 mins didn't sound that long to me until I actually had to do it in heat and humidity! Perhaps the other reviewers travelled in winter and therefore did not mind the walk so much. Yes there is a bus about 200m away from the hotel, BUT you need to buy tickets from a parking meter looking type machine in italian with no english translation on it, we certainly couldnt figure it out! The first lady on the front desk didnt bother trying to explain the bus to us the first time we asked. The second time we asked on a different day, a man tried to be very helpful but gave us wrong info on where to buy bus tix! We wasted 45 mins running about downstairs in front of the hotel trying to get it sorted and ended up walking in the end anyway. To the hotel staff - would it be such an inconvenience to you to sell these tix to tourists given your terrible location?

The hotel otherwise is fine - bed's a bit hard but the airconditioning is great. Shower has good pressure, rooms are a good size, shower gel provided no shampoo and conditioner. Body lotion watery. Breakfast was forgettable but good coffee! we got there with 30 mins left until breakfast ended and there was no more food - the ladies were trying to ration this very very carefully! BOTH lifts were broken during our entire stay and they put us on the third floor!

Room Tip: Check to make sure the lifts work before they put you on the third floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore generale at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,
we are always sensible to our clients suggestions, but lookink forward our location in Florence we want to specify that the distance, by walk, from the Hotel and Accademia, Piazza San Marco is maximum 10 minutes; to reach the Duomo you need 15/20 minutes walk. It's a pleasant walk through Via San Gallo , one of the oldest streets of Florence with many wonderful buildings and called "Street of booksellers".
We are sorry if we have been not able to give you the right informations about bus stops, but at 100 meters from the hotel you could find bus "C1" to the Duomo; otherwise 150 meters from us bus nr. 1 that in 10 minutes reach the main train station Santa Maria Novella. To come back to the hotel you could use bus nr. 1, 11,13,17 and Others.
Regarding our elevators, we want to specify that only one has been out of order and not both.
Best regards.
Antonio Giorgio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. While the hotel is quite pretty with very friendly staff and comfortable, large rooms, we did find the hotel a bit far from the central spots in Florence. The hotel is a ten euro cab drive (not walkable distance) to the central train station as well and a 40-60 min walk to the central sightseeing places in Florence. If you are a tourist and dont enjoy walking very much, I would recommend a hotel closer to the city center, especially with the long, tiring queues to the museums and other sights, I would recommend saving your evergy for those, rather than walking up and down to the hotel everyday.

The hotel does not have very many decent eating options around, so, if you are staying at the hotel, recommend wrapping up dinner at the more lively city center and then planning your hike back to the hotel. We didnt try the hotel restaurant..but breakfast was delicious with a large spread and extremely prompt service. All in all very nice hotel, but no points for proximity to either the train station or tourist hot-spots.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit smallish, but very comfortable and well-designed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were visiting in May, for business. The organization chose this hotel. It turned out to be a lovely discovery-just off the beaten path, but close enough to walk to all sites.
We has a few problems with ventilation but that was addressed promptly.
The room and bath were a good size.
As is often the experience, there were only a few towels...we did not ask for extra.
The mattress was too firm for our taste (downright miserable for me, OK for the spouse), but found this often the norm throughout Italy.
As many have said, the staff are lovely, informed and helpful.
Breakfast was generic & offered a wide selection-designed to meet the tastes of travelers from all over.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first (not ground) level, facing the street, but it was very quiet...so do not...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beantownadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is one of the rare hotels in Italy that does not try to fleece its customers with exorbitant fees and overpriced food and services. Clean room, excellent service, very good location, highly recommend it to American tourists whose dollar is worth 40% less than at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2012. We walked from the station to the hotel - something that I would NOT recommend unless you haven't walked enough on your vacation. Rather take a taxi or the bus (although it takes quite long with the bus) if you are not driving yourself. Upon arrival we were moved into a slightly larger room when the front desk saw that our booking was for six nights which I must say was a nice touch. The room was neat and tidy with everything that you would expect. We loved the speaker in the bathroom ceiling as you could listen to the music from the television while enjoying a bath. The nice little fridge also came in handy.
Most of the front desk staff, although professional, were not extremely friendly and quite "business and no pleasure".
Breakfast is served on the lower ground floor and we enjoyed it although after day four it started to be a bit repetitious. A good selection with friendly waiters. After staying a few nights one waitress even knew our preferred drink even before we ordered.
To summarize: this is a good value-for-money, not-too-many-frills hotel which is located not too far from most of the must see attractions in Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faansie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
804 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,136 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,169 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#43 of 411 in Florence
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $106 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing