We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, excellent location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #53 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good value, excellent location, good service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is one of the rare hotels in Italy that does not try to fleece its customers with exorbitant fees and overpriced food and services. Clean room, excellent service, very good location, highly recommend it to American tourists whose dollar is worth 40% less than at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    793
    129
    27
    8
See reviews for
354
1,247
45
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2012. We walked from the station to the hotel - something that I would NOT recommend unless you haven't walked enough on your vacation. Rather take a taxi or the bus (although it takes quite long with the bus) if you are not driving yourself. Upon arrival we were moved into a slightly larger room when the front desk saw that our booking was for six nights which I must say was a nice touch. The room was neat and tidy with everything that you would expect. We loved the speaker in the bathroom ceiling as you could listen to the music from the television while enjoying a bath. The nice little fridge also came in handy.
Most of the front desk staff, although professional, were not extremely friendly and quite "business and no pleasure".
Breakfast is served on the lower ground floor and we enjoyed it although after day four it started to be a bit repetitious. A good selection with friendly waiters. After staying a few nights one waitress even knew our preferred drink even before we ordered.
To summarize: this is a good value-for-money, not-too-many-frills hotel which is located not too far from most of the must see attractions in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faansie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were two couples and made our reservations at the last minute, since our previous plans in Florence fell through. We were very pleased that the San Gallo was better than expected, for a reasonable price. The rooms were clean and convenient, breakfast was very good, everyone at the desk and dining room was accommodating. The real star of the show was Alessandro who helped with directions and advice to get our car back to the Hertz lot in town (not an easy task). He also recommended two wonderful restaurants, made our reservations and did it all with such a lovely smile and manner; we were all quite taken with him and he helped to make our short stay in Florence delightful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you so much for spending your time to review our Hotel. We always try to do our best to ensure to our guests the maximum in service and quality.
Best regards.
Oana Stancu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon at the start of a 3 night stay. The location was right. a bit away from Duomo but quiet. We found ourselves walking into the centre and taking taxis back at the end of the day.
Room: mattress wasn't comfy. I hope it was just this room. Air conditioner didn't work well. room 307. I contacted reception thrice. they kept saying it was fixed but I got tired and just stopped complaining. Again I wanted to use the room telephone and didn't want any surprises on the bill so asked reception for rates. They didn't know either! they said a private company will issue a charge. The TVs belong to the 80s. A 4* star hotel deserve LCDs or at least bigger screens.
Wifi: I knew ahead there was a charge. 14 euros per 24 hours. However this was per device which was surprising . so if you want to log on more than one device then you'll have to do the maths.....
Breakfast: forgettable. would happily skip if there was an alternative close by.

Staff: they were polite but unfortunately there wasn't enough personality. I guess this hotel would be ideal for a lay-over on a business trip. then you wouldn't notice .

This hotel would be 3 star at best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dotade19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for spending your time to review our hotel. We apologise for the unconvenients accurred to you; we will do our best to improve our services following your suggestions. Best regards.
Oana Stancu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived at the San Gallo tired and needing to go on a tour leaving in 30 minutes. When I went into the lobby the desk clerk Alessandro immediately said" don't worry about anything we are here to make sure everything goes well for you." Alessandro. backed up his words with actions and the Hotel as a place to stay also lived up to our expectations. I have to say the hotel was clean , friendly, and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jary13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, france
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is far from the madding crowds but within an easy walk to the centre of the city on the Dumo side of the Arno. Our twin room on the third floor had a very large wrap-around terrace with a table and chairs where, if it had been warm enough, it would have been very pleasant to sit and sip wine and watch the sun set over the Florentine roofs.
The shower had massage jets on the side which were welcome after a hard day's walking around the city.
The breakfast buffet had an adequate choice of food and I particularly liked that much of it was typcially Italian. I had never tried ricotta cheese with fruit salad before and found it delicious.
The beds were comfortable and the room very quiet.
This is a four-star hotel which is very reasonably priced. We paid €580 or so for two people for three nights including breakfast.
My only negative comment concerns the internet: I find it incredible that the better quality the hotel (and this is true almost the world over) the more likely it is that you will have to pay for internet access. In this hotel I had to buy a card for €5 for one hour's access. I assumed this meant I could use it for 60 minutes whenever I liked. Wrong: the small print (which I did not notice) says it's one hour from the time you first connect. So I did the work I had to do in 20 minutes or so and then in the evening went back to check my e-mails and my card had run out. Very irritating.

Room Tip: Ask for the twin room on the third floor with the very big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apiersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#44 of 412 in Florence
2,088 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing