We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #54 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent hotel and good service.

Only drawback, it is about 30 minutes walk from the tourist sites and it is too quiet during the night so we (myself and my daughter) preferred to take the taxi on the way back.

Breakfast was good and consistent and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gallo Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was very quiet and that was probably due to the time of year. The hotel is a pleasant fifteen minute walk to the city centre. The hotel could not be faulted and four stars is about a fair reflection. The television channels on offer could possibly offer more to the British as only news channels on a loop were available.We would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

By far, this was the nicest hotel on our trip--not to say the other were not nice, but this place was away from the noise, close enough to walk to the main tourist area, and close to the hop-on-hop-off bus. Although I consider it close to the train station, and yes, we did walk, I would not recommend walking from the train to the hotel, as the sidewalks are terrible and much crowed. DO TAKE A TAXI--MEN, LISTEN TO YOUR WIFE/BETTER-HALF ON THIS ONE! The rooms are large, beautiful, and clean, relaxing....need I say more. The price was the best of our 4-city visit and the front desk staff was excellent in setting up a day trip for us. Enjoy the breakfast as it is prepared very nicely and the staff make you feel welcomed. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Florence

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsroufe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights and every day was enjoyable. The front desk staff were incrediable . They were friendly and eager to help with directions and finding us great places to eat. We enjoyed a nightly drink in the bar with the bartender that made us feel at home with snacks and travel tips . The rooms were clean and very comfortable . The hotel is only a 20 minute walk to the tourist sites and the train station. The breakfast was more than we hoped for - you name it and they had it. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff was wonderful!! Room was large by even American standards. HUGE bathroom. The breakfast was great. The area had a lot of restaurants - go to Da Tito it looks like it is down a dark alley (and it is) but the food was amazing!! Easy to get to attractions. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the front and it was large and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I and my wife have passed 5 nights in the hotel in Oct. 2012. It's about 15 to 20 minutes to SMN and the church by walk. We like to walk so the location is good for us. There's a small garden and it's beautiful. The bathroom is very good. It's amazing that you even can watch CCTV-9 although it's in English. I only hope the breakfast can be better. I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is not located in the best place but the rooms are spacious. The area does seem to be safe though. However, be forewarned, there are cameras INSIDE the hotel room. I was very disturbed with that since I was traveling with my wife and two young daughters. I would not stay in this hotel in the future given the monitoring that apparently goes on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,970 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,166 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#42 of 411 in Florence
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing