We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gallo Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Flacq, Flacq, Mauritius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent hotel and good service.

Only drawback, it is about 30 minutes walk from the tourist sites and it is too quiet during the night so we (myself and my daughter) preferred to take the taxi on the way back.

Breakfast was good and consistent and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    533
    89
    19
    7
See reviews for
206
779
30
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was very quiet and that was probably due to the time of year. The hotel is a pleasant fifteen minute walk to the city centre. The hotel could not be faulted and four stars is about a fair reflection. The television channels on offer could possibly offer more to the British as only news channels on a loop were available.We would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

By far, this was the nicest hotel on our trip--not to say the other were not nice, but this place was away from the noise, close enough to walk to the main tourist area, and close to the hop-on-hop-off bus. Although I consider it close to the train station, and yes, we did walk, I would not recommend walking from the train to the hotel, as the sidewalks are terrible and much crowed. DO TAKE A TAXI--MEN, LISTEN TO YOUR WIFE/BETTER-HALF ON THIS ONE! The rooms are large, beautiful, and clean, relaxing....need I say more. The price was the best of our 4-city visit and the front desk staff was excellent in setting up a day trip for us. Enjoy the breakfast as it is prepared very nicely and the staff make you feel welcomed. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Florence

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsroufe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights and every day was enjoyable. The front desk staff were incrediable . They were friendly and eager to help with directions and finding us great places to eat. We enjoyed a nightly drink in the bar with the bartender that made us feel at home with snacks and travel tips . The rooms were clean and very comfortable . The hotel is only a 20 minute walk to the tourist sites and the train station. The breakfast was more than we hoped for - you name it and they had it. We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff was wonderful!! Room was large by even American standards. HUGE bathroom. The breakfast was great. The area had a lot of restaurants - go to Da Tito it looks like it is down a dark alley (and it is) but the food was amazing!! Easy to get to attractions. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the front and it was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I and my wife have passed 5 nights in the hotel in Oct. 2012. It's about 15 to 20 minutes to SMN and the church by walk. We like to walk so the location is good for us. There's a small garden and it's beautiful. The bathroom is very good. It's amazing that you even can watch CCTV-9 although it's in English. I only hope the breakfast can be better. I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is not located in the best place but the rooms are spacious. The area does seem to be safe though. However, be forewarned, there are cameras INSIDE the hotel room. I was very disturbed with that since I was traveling with my wife and two young daughters. I would not stay in this hotel in the future given the monitoring that apparently goes on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Property: Hotel San Gallo Palace
Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing