We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B in Florence, Italy”
Review of B & B Novecento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B & B Novecento
Ranked #347 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2004

Lots of positives -- great location just steps from the Duomo, exceptionally friendly and helpful owners, a clean and pleasantly decorated (albeit small) room. The only negative is that we were surprised to find the B&B is on the 3rd floor and has NO lift/elevator. There are 61 steps to be exact which given a recent foot injury, were uncomfortable for me especially when we arrived with our luggage after a tiring journey or at the end of a full day of sightseeing.

5  Thank SammyK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 140 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong, HK
16
Reviewed September 6, 2004

The worst place we have stayed in all our holiday. Terrible service. Cramped bath room. First of all you have to walk 3 flights of stairs to get there. Secondly the hosts Franco and the Japanese lady will say no to every request you have. Not good from value for money perspective. Room was uncomfortable. When we requested them to take care of our luggage for a few hours - the Japanese woman barked - "We are not a hotel, we are a B&B and hence are not obliged to provide you with the service"

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2004

My sister and I just got back from 10 days in Italy and stayed 2 nights at the B&B Novecento in Florence. We will never stay anywhere else!! It's location, halfway between the Duomo and the Academia, couldn't be better! Sawako is a welcoming hostess and gave us plenty of information and site seeing tips (like the Academia was open late our first night and was FREE! We walked right in, no crowds, no queue, just David! No guidebooks or websites had that tip!). Franco made breakfast every morning an absolute delight!! He is hysterical and makes you feel so much at home that you almost feel guilty about leaving your dishes on the table! There is a rooftop garden with tables and chairs set up and an amazing view of the Duomo!!! It is the perfect place to relax in the evening and enjoy the view!
The rooms are simply and tastefully decorated, are spotlessly clean and have air conditioning. You get huge towels to dry off with and fresh ones in the room every day. We had no problems at all with street noise. Couldn't hear a thing!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend B&B Novecento to any traveller. There was even a family staying while we were there and their 5 yr-old daughter loved the rooftop terrace and joking with Franco at breakfast. Trust me when I say you wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

4  Thank Wandering_N0T_Lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2004

B&B Novecento is a place owned and taken care by a couple. They try hard to keep the place clean, decorated and they even serve breakfast themselves. The location is great I agree with the other opinions. However we had some problems. First of all I did not know that the b&b is located in the 3rd floor with no elevator. Second, the shower is non-existant. Imagine that you have a bathroom with sink and toilet and in front of the sink you put a hole in the floor, a hoop in the ceiling to hang a curtain and then put a shower head. That is the shower! So I imagine that if you take a shower the whole floor will be soaked. I only imagined because we could not take a shower. We took a nap in the afternoon and when I woke up to go to the bathroom and to take a shower, there was dirty water everywhere!!! Apparently the sewer was clogged and spitted out water.... Thirdly, when we had this problem we wanted to contact the owners. They have many signs telling you where to call if they are not home but there is one minor problem: you can't make local calls from the phone that you have in your room. I guess you need to have a cell phone or go down 3 stories to a public phone in the street.....mmmm
We did not see the owners until the next day and when we explained the problem they did not believed us. After several tries they agreed to reduce the rate by 20 EUROS. I am not impressed by this b&b. Next time I will try to find something else. The original rate was 135 EUROS. I think we could have find something much better for this price but everything was booked.

7  Thank anapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Livonia, MI
213
Reviewed April 19, 2004

This bed & breakfast has a great location, although the street name is easily missed when trying to find it. It is located between the Duomo & the Academy Gallery (where David is). So great location. The room was very nice & clean, although it was located up three flights of stairs with no lift. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. I prefer traditional hotels, but for a very modest price, this B & B offers good accomadations with a weak breakfast. All in all, a nice choice if seeking good location.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed March 26, 2004

We stayed at the Novecento B&B in Florence. I found it on a website that advertised a bunch of B&B's in Florence, but I was convinced after I saw their great website (-----) and called for information. I could tell immediately that the owners were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were incredibly clean and beautifully decorated. We were only one block away from the Duomo, so we could easily walk to all the main attractions. I highly recommend this B&B, it is one of the best I've seen in Italy!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank La M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#60 of 409 in Florence
1,183 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#154 of 409 in Florence
2,039 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
834 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
55 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Novecento

Address: Via Ricasoli 10, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $89 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — B & B Novecento 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the centre of Florence,in one the most characteristic streets of the city, few steps far froom the Academy. Where is situated the David of Michelangelo (the original), not far from Medicis chapels, near to the most famous squares of the city. Every 30 minutes about you can benefit from the bus service, from and to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your B & B Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing