We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cordova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cordova
Ranked #383 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in a quad room which we got at the last minute for a really great price including breakfast. The room was big but the bathroom was too small. Maybe they could have added a bit more space from the room to the bathroom! The water from the shower made everything wet, everything was so close inside. Apart from this, the service was really great and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast was fulfilling with bread, cornflakes, cocoa, coffee everything spread out into a buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishakopikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    26
    34
    37
See reviews for
17
29
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Having stayed in this hotel some years ago I knew it was a budget hotel however then it was clean with air conditioning that worked! I spent 2 nights here in June with broken air conditioning and a tv that didn't work. It took me several trips to reception to discover that I should have been given remote controls for both the air conditioning and tv, in the end it didn't matter as neither worked, which was a joke as there are notices everywhere telling you to switch the air conditioning off when leaving your room! The only mirror was in the bathroom which is rather useless when you are trying to get ready for a special event for which you are in Florence. Don't bother with the breakfast. In all not a hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Pluses: Shortish walk to the Duomo, and had a view of it from the balcony.

Minuses: Horrible Horrible sewer smell in our room. Yes, sewer smells happen in Florence. But this was so extreme it made me ill.

Air- conditioning did not work in all rooms. The entire 2nd floor was without it during our VERY long 5 night stay.

Mattress was horrible. Had a huge dip in it.

And yes...most rooms have the shower directly above the toilet. Add that to the sewer smell and its not a grand experience.

Note: Apparently the owner started with one floor of an apartment building and then expanded. The hodge podge approach is obvious. Fortunately I have been to Florence before and stayed in much nicer places. If this had been my only trip to Florence, I would have been very unimpressed as the housing colored our view of Florence this time around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timezoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

A small hotel not far from the main attractions. most hotels in Florence are overpriced and this is no exception. the standard of decor, comfort and cleanliness is very low. breakfasts are better taken at the nearby caffe cavour. hideous bathrooms. in my case the shower was IN THE TOILET...literally!! only stay here if you can't afford anywhere better. beware the new tourist tax being charged in Florence. it looks like a simple surcharge on your bill and demand a receipt from reception when they demand it

Room Tip: check the bathroom first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

This was our worst experience of staying at a hotel.
For the same price we had got a good 4 star hotel in Roma (Christoforo colombus). But Cordova in Florence was a big disappointment, firstly the area was not a nice place to stay and seemed pretty scary at night. We could hear the noises (like toilet flushes) of the surrounding rooms.
The hotel was located on 3rd, 4th floor of a building and the lift used to go till 3rd floor only. Apparently the hotel staff could operate/restrict the lift by themselves.
The double bedroom given to us had 3 beds in the room of which 2 were joined to make double bed. The furniture and bedding was quite old and seemed like bought from some second hand store.
The hotel staff would ask us to deposit keys with them every time we went out..not sure why they did that but that meant we had to be back in time to get the keys back else would be left standing on streets.
The breakfast was of poor quality with just cornflakes, milk, tea/coffee and orange juice available.
They had instructions(restrictions) on every thing. If you don't leave your towel on the floor that means they will not change the towels. The bathroom had no essential(bathing soap etc) available.
The room had mosquitoes and insects and we had to sleep covered even if it was hot.
The room was supposedly "air conditioned" but when we asked the hotel staff they said "its not working and besides its going to be fine weather at night!!!"The 1970s TV they had in the room didn't work.
The location indicated by them is 800m from station but was around 1.5 kms going through some bad streets. The hotel was around 3 kms from Michaelangelo.
Overall hotel Cordova was a bad experience and we wanted to checkout as soon as possible. We wanted to checkout by paying for the first night(as told in cancellation policy while booking) but the hotel had deducted the whole amount already.

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Moreover gives a bad reputation to Venere.com site as well from which we had booked.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel whatever be the case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I have stayed at the Corova numerous times, usually with college student groups. (Don't le tthat worry you - I think we are the only group that has discovered this hidden gem of a hotel) It certainly isn't the Hilton, but for a 2 star hotel it is great value. Location is fair and the rooms are clean. Finding the lobby is an adventure in itself - it is on the 3rd floor. Three negatives - tiny and somewhat useless elevator, terrible towels and minimal breakfast.
However I have found the management and staff to be friendly and helpful and over the past few years, rooms have been progessively updated and range from quite acceptable to very good. Would recommend for a great value place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

The man running the desk was a swindler.
There IS air conditioning, but he will not turn on the breaker so that you can use it.
There IS an elevator, but it only stops at the landings, and the man at the desk will not turn on the breaker for that either.
I tried to get some air by the window at the dining table in the common area because it was sweltering, and the man turned on the ceiling fan for me, but then he started to smoke in the same room even though I'd been saying that I wanted air.
read around the internet, and you'll see that if you go during the hot months, you are going to run into noisy school groups and this guy turning off the electricty to save money. Really, don not stay here. Try 15 Borgo Pinti (a gorgeous convent for 40 euro a night).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FordhamRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#319 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
#349 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#304 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#196 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#139 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordova

Property: Hotel Cordova
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 96, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordova 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cordova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordova Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing