We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic Hotel!! would never recommend this to anyone!!”
Review of Hotel Cordova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cordova
Ranked #383 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This was our worst experience of staying at a hotel.
For the same price we had got a good 4 star hotel in Roma (Christoforo colombus). But Cordova in Florence was a big disappointment, firstly the area was not a nice place to stay and seemed pretty scary at night. We could hear the noises (like toilet flushes) of the surrounding rooms.
The hotel was located on 3rd, 4th floor of a building and the lift used to go till 3rd floor only. Apparently the hotel staff could operate/restrict the lift by themselves.
The double bedroom given to us had 3 beds in the room of which 2 were joined to make double bed. The furniture and bedding was quite old and seemed like bought from some second hand store.
The hotel staff would ask us to deposit keys with them every time we went out..not sure why they did that but that meant we had to be back in time to get the keys back else would be left standing on streets.
The breakfast was of poor quality with just cornflakes, milk, tea/coffee and orange juice available.
They had instructions(restrictions) on every thing. If you don't leave your towel on the floor that means they will not change the towels. The bathroom had no essential(bathing soap etc) available.
The room had mosquitoes and insects and we had to sleep covered even if it was hot.
The room was supposedly "air conditioned" but when we asked the hotel staff they said "its not working and besides its going to be fine weather at night!!!"The 1970s TV they had in the room didn't work.
The location indicated by them is 800m from station but was around 1.5 kms going through some bad streets. The hotel was around 3 kms from Michaelangelo.
Overall hotel Cordova was a bad experience and we wanted to checkout as soon as possible. We wanted to checkout by paying for the first night(as told in cancellation policy while booking) but the hotel had deducted the whole amount already.

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Moreover gives a bad reputation to Venere.com site as well from which we had booked.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel whatever be the case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

I have stayed at the Corova numerous times, usually with college student groups. (Don't le tthat worry you - I think we are the only group that has discovered this hidden gem of a hotel) It certainly isn't the Hilton, but for a 2 star hotel it is great value. Location is fair and the rooms are clean. Finding the lobby is an adventure in itself - it is on the 3rd floor. Three negatives - tiny and somewhat useless elevator, terrible towels and minimal breakfast.
However I have found the management and staff to be friendly and helpful and over the past few years, rooms have been progessively updated and range from quite acceptable to very good. Would recommend for a great value place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEMOreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

The man running the desk was a swindler.
There IS air conditioning, but he will not turn on the breaker so that you can use it.
There IS an elevator, but it only stops at the landings, and the man at the desk will not turn on the breaker for that either.
I tried to get some air by the window at the dining table in the common area because it was sweltering, and the man turned on the ceiling fan for me, but then he started to smoke in the same room even though I'd been saying that I wanted air.
read around the internet, and you'll see that if you go during the hot months, you are going to run into noisy school groups and this guy turning off the electricty to save money. Really, don not stay here. Try 15 Borgo Pinti (a gorgeous convent for 40 euro a night).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FordhamRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

the location is great...straight down a street from the Duomo, but arriving with a large group it was bedlam. Reception is on the 3rd floor and the elevator will only hold one person and one or two suitcases. We should have just ferried the luggage up, but no one thought of that so 46 or so of us carried our bags up at least 3 flghts of stairs. My room was on the 5th floor! Nice big room with decent sized bathroom, but no screen on the window so mosquitos came in the room. Many of my group had bathrooms with the toilet, bidet, and shower all in one. The shower head was literally above the toilet! The coffee in the morning was great but the food wasn't. I bought pastries at night to eat for the next morning. The front desk clerk was not friendly at all!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Was a little worried after reading some of the reviews, but found it to be an excellent choice for our vacation. It was clean, neat, and the help and advice available from Roberto at the desk was invaluable.

Yes, the shower was a corner of the bathroom - strange perhaps to some, but certainly not worth getting bent out of shape about. It was a larger space than I got for a shower in several 3 star hotels, and didn't flood the bathroom or anything. Much better than the one in our Athens hotel that only had a hand-held sprayer! The location was great, the price was great, and breakfast was great.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank sueod628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

A genuinely awful hotel, dirty and cold. From the moment you walk inside the door and choose between a tiny cramped lift or a long haul up the stairs you can clearly see that it is a poorly thought out hotel. Having the recption on the thrid floor rooms on the 2nd 4th and 5th is a lunatics paradise but not an ideal setup for a hotel that does manage to win one catogry in that its in a fairly practical location with regard to te city centre. Dried blood and other ambiguos stains on the mattresses in the rooms complimented perfectly by flimsy bed frames prone to falling to bits at the slightest contact with anything else and a television that collected so much dust it was almost lethal. Of a possible 5, one member of staff was friendly and listened to our requests. The towels smell of VINEGAR which from what i have seen is the view of everyone who has stayed here. Luckily our visit to Florence was not spoilt by this abomination and the fact that we had a bed to sleep in was about the only saving grace. The words "don't stay here if you have to" are the best way to describe this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forest5592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

The guy on the desk was so helpful, we mentioned we need to get a train timetable and he got onto the web to research the one we wanted and printed it off. He made suggestions on which times were the best ones to get.

We also found the guys to be very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and were able to give great advice.

After reading others reviews we were really scared to what we going to find, while it’s not a big place it is in a great location and the facilities were pretty good.

We would definitely recommend this place to someone else travelling here.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JulesAdelaideAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#100 of 410 in Florence
819 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,575 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordova

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 96, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $60 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordova 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cordova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordova Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing