We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atheneum good value with exellent meals”
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #216 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 6, 2010

As a mature couple we found room very quiet, spotlessly clean& the resteraunt meals were fantastic. However be warned the portion sizes were quite large. You coud easily miss out the main course & still be full.The resteraunt manager Pietro(Peter) was particulary helpful in organizing a private car tour of Tuscanny .One warning, try to avoid staying when there is a conference on as they just about double the priceon those particular nights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 703 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

I spent just one night in Florence on my way to Siena. After being on a plane for nearly an entire day, it was very nice getting to the Athenaeum. I recommend taking the bus from the airport to the train station and it is only about a 10 minute walk from there (which isn't bad unless you have a lot of luggage!).

The staff members at the front desk were helpful (but seemed slightly annoyed once in a while - maybe because of my poor attempts at speaking Italian). They gave me a map and marked the bus station I needed to get to on it, and were helpful with getting me access to the internet.

The room was great. I stayed in a single, which offered more than enough room for a single person and some luggage. The bathroom was very clean and the towels were huge. The internet access was provided with no extra charge. There was a breakfast buffet offered in the morning that was pretty good. I did not have the opportunity to eat at the hotel's restaurant, but it is located in a beautiful courtyard that I could see from my window.

The hotel is fairly conveniently located and is just north of San Marco and the Galleria dell'Accademia (about 3 blocks) and the Duomo (maybe 10-12 blocks).

The only things I didn't really like about the hotel is the lack of help with your luggage (I struggled to get mine up the stairs to the reception area and had to take up another guest on their offer to help me on my way out the next morning)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richellemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had taken a group of 70 of our Top distributors to celebrate our 10th year in business
I was apparently "upgraded" to a superior single room. It was the tiniest room I had ever stayed in in my life. I didn't even have space to keep my bag anywhere. The bathroom also was the smallest ever! Although the room had a balcony which seemed bigger than the room, the view from the balcony was of the street. In the night the Airconditioning didn't work properly and I had to open the door to the balcony and bear the noise coming from the street. Noise coming from within the hotel was anyway a problem with the waifer thin walls (I guess)
The location wasn't very bad and was a few minutes walk to the the Duomo, but i am sure there are many better Hotels in the vicinity that offer much better value for money
Breakfast was OK and nothing great to talk about
Avoidable Hotel in Beautiful Florence!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepakmalik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

The best parts about the Athenaeum is its quiet but close location to the Duomo (about a 10 to 15 minute walk) as well as its excellent staff. The staff is very knowledgeable about various places in Florence, such as restaurants and shopping. The hotel was relatively clean and comfortable as well. The only drawback in my opinion is that the caulking in the shower very much needed to be replaced in our room. Although not molded, there were many places where the caulking had turned black, especially near the shower door. Since everything else looked clean in the room, this was a drawback for me. Other than that, we enjoyed the hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrgulloMexicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I absolutely loved this place. We got there a little early in the morning (before check-in time), and decided to drop our bags off. The front desk staff told us that they'd be happy to get us a room right away, and because we were there so early, they were able to upgrade us to a suite at the top floor. We had to park our car, and they even drew the best driving route to the parking garage on our map.

The room was very spacious; of course, the best feature was a private rooftop terrace with planters on the perimeter to give enough privacy, yet you could still enjoy a glass of wine while looking onto the street (especially after a whole day of walking around!). The terrace was so big that we could have easily thrown a party. The room and the bathroom were gorgeous; the pictures on the hotel's website really don't do them justice.

The staff was great; especially Jacobo, who even told us how to best get to all the museums with minimum time spent in lines. That guy deserves a promotion!

The breakfast place was fine; I found it to have much more variety than some other hotels we stayed in, but the best thing to do in the morning was to sit out in the courtyard and relax with a cup of coffee.

This place is a hidden gem - it doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's awesome inside; the staff is just great; and all of this is right in the heart of Florence!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fekla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Supposed to stay at another hotel but delayed in Venice due to illness & travel company booked us into Athenaeum for 3 nights. Thanks to the volanic ash we ended up there for 7 nights. Wonderful hotel, staff were very friendly, kind and helpful, room very modern, clean and chic. Overlooked central fountain and patio area. Ate in the restaurant several times & food was great, just a pity there weren't more guests using the facilities. As we were all dashing around for several days desperately trying to get transport home, we couldn't have been stuck in a better or nicer hotel. Would certainly return here & highly recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This is a very good hotel in central Firenze, just 10 minutes walk from the Duomo. Comfortable and very clean rooms with a good quality bed, friendly staff, very good breakfast buffet. Our room was very quiet and had a big balcony which was an added bonus.
I recommend this hotel to people who want to be in the centre of Firenze but who still want some peace and quiet. Everything is within walking distance but all the main bus lines also have a stop just opposite the hotel, including the bus to Fiesole (a recommended day trip).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaK_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#198 of 410 in Florence
1,301 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#85 of 410 in Florence
957 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#149 of 410 in Florence
728 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#137 of 410 in Florence
1,176 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 410 in Florence
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $110 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing