We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Athenaeum hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #208 of 422 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Athenaeum hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was my third visit to the Athenaeum. As always we were impressed with the hotel and the service. The room was large and very clean and, importantly, had fully functioning air-conditioning which in the Florence heat was greatly appreciated. The breakfast was excellent and always well stocked.
As well as the quality of the hotel itself, another reason for returning to this hotel, is it's location. A 10 minute flat walk and you are in the centre of everything.
Would really recommend taking a bus from nearby Piazza San Marco for Fiesole and enjoy lunch in the Tuscan hills with a perfect view of Firenze.
Will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    286
    105
    34
    23
See reviews for
115
319
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Friendliness, willingness, and generous nature are what made the Athenaeum such a pleasure to stay in. For business, very clean, quiet and comfortable, a good breakfast, and effective wifi, but it was the staff who really made the difference to this stay, from across from the reception, the bar and breakfast service.

Hotels forget, that staying away from home is living somewhere strange for a week and it is actually a significant amount of time to be with strangers. How very nice to be treated with genuine consideration, this was part of the culture and it went well beyond what was needed. What a difference to a stay.

Room Tip: Rooms mixed between showers and baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed there recently and found the hotel to be a good four star hotel that is walking distance to all attractions in Florence. It is clean, comfortable, and well maintained hotel with friendly staffs. In comparison it is like Courtyard Marriott in smaller scale having smaller size room and elevator. The breakfast is typical European style.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gofreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my second stay and i enjoyed every day of it.
The hotel personnel and service was all I needed to tackle my daily challenge. The restaurant is fine ans the personnel very kind and professional.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firenze201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I spent four nights at this hotel with a friend who has already stayed here before.
The location is truly superb as it's walking distance from the main centre and all the shops.
Staff are friendly, offered us a free upgrade, looked after our luggage for a few hours after we checked out but haven't left the city yet and booked us a cab too when we needed.
Our room was really spacious and clean.
It was good value for money. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaandHaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that's close to the heart of Florence and has great amenities, this is the place. Having a parking garage on site was a bonus. We were able to walk easily to museums and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helped us with dinner reservations both evenings we were there. I highly recommend Athenaeum!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wines01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked our trip thru Groupon so didn't have much say as to our accommodations. Our travel agent asked us if we wanted to "upgrade" but we decided to stick with what was offered. Glad we did. Rooms were more than adequate. Clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet was wonderful and they even packed us a "to go" bag on a day we had an early tour. Bus stop that took us right into the city was just across the street. I'm a little surprised as some of the low ratings. I really thought it was very nice and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fivebz1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#219 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Art Atelier
Hotel Art Atelier
#124 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#36 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#177 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
Palazzo Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
#216 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#77 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing