We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I had 3 nights here, The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant superb. The rooms were good and comfortable.
The hotel is well sited for walking to all the sites in the city.
5 min to Galleria del Accademia, 10 min to the Duomo and 20 min to the Ponte Vecchio.
Ove all excellent value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin101fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate your kind words. It’s very important for us your opinion and our main goal is guest’s satisfaction.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    272
    95
    32
    22
See reviews for
111
292
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We liked our stay here. The location is great, a reasonable walk to all the main sites, plus bus pickup is a few steps down the street. It is a business hotel, but that didn't matter to us as we were gone all day visiting the sites. The breakfast was great, you can ask the waitress for bacon, eggs, ect, and special coffee drinks, along with all the displayed breakfast items. Our bathroom was spotless and good size. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They took the time to draw me a map for driving to San Gimignano. They also have underground parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks to choose us for your stay in Florence. We are really happy to hear that you enjoy our breakfast and that we have been helpfull in your way to San Giminiano.
We hope to welcome you back in Florence soon.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano - Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful, room was great (smallish but clean), location was important as we wanted to be close to public transport as well as walk into the centre of Florence, which we did multiple times. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice. Laundry mat located in a nearby street, 5 min walk. Lots of choice for meals in the surrounding streets - you will need to walk a little however it's all part of the fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comment.
We hope to see you again in Florence during your next stay.
Enrico Pezzano - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading some reviews we had some reservation about this hotel but it was surprising
We were with a tour so we expected the worst but the check in was quick and organized the room was not that big but modern and clean. We had dinner in the hotel with our group and the 3 course meal was very good the service quick and the staff friendly.location is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently stayed here for a few nights and did not much like this hotel at all. The room was tiny and seemed rather dingy to us. Air conditioner did not cool the room down nearly enough which forced us to leave the windows open at night. As our room looked down on the bar and restaurant, it was pretty noisy at night. Also, we were practically eaten alive by the mosquitos which joined us in our room. There were no electrical outlets by the beds, and the lighting in the room was awful. The staff was not particularly helpful, and just shrugged off our concerns about the stuffiness of the room. The location was okay, but the hotel just didn't have any charm. Also, the restaurant was very overpriced especially considering all the wonderful choices in restaurants just a few minutes away. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhowclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation from a friend on our first trip to Florence. The hotel was lovely! Friendly staff, lovely rooms- our room had a private roof terrace, tasty continental style breakfast too. The hotel is under 10minute stroll from The Duomo and 15minute stroll from the train station, shops, uffizi and ponte d vecchio. Highly recommended, I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randomstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Athenaeum was a VERY good value. We had stayed a few nights at another, unbearable location and chose the Athenaeum for our final night after the front desk allowed us to view a room.

The room is clean, HAS manual temperature control, and our bathroom was immaculate.

This is exactly what a 3-4 star European/Italian hotel should look like. The lobby is lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic.

Well worth the extra 30-40 Euros/night over the budget places. We learned the hard way.

Grazie, Athenaeum! You made our final night in Florence fantastic, and we'll be staying with you again if we return.

Cheers,

J&K, Chicago, IL

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#52 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#213 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#159 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#104 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#81 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing