We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfectly adequate - 4 star hotel in great Florence Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #209 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate - 4 star hotel in great Florence Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Athenaeum was a VERY good value. We had stayed a few nights at another, unbearable location and chose the Athenaeum for our final night after the front desk allowed us to view a room.

The room is clean, HAS manual temperature control, and our bathroom was immaculate.

This is exactly what a 3-4 star European/Italian hotel should look like. The lobby is lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic.

Well worth the extra 30-40 Euros/night over the budget places. We learned the hard way.

Grazie, Athenaeum! You made our final night in Florence fantastic, and we'll be staying with you again if we return.

Cheers,

J&K, Chicago, IL

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    276
    96
    33
    22
See reviews for
113
297
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

the hotel is conveniently located: outside the tourist circle and yet very close (walking distance to any of the atractions). It is a fairly modern hotel and it delivers quite good quality/price relation by Floretine standards. The staff is very friendly and able: I wanted to change my room and they did so very quickly despite of being fully booked. The restaurant in the hotel is also good with a large and different list of wines.

Room Tip: Avoid room 114, it is over the entrance to the garage. I had room 316: big and very quiet (in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMonterroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights booked through a well known special offer organisation. Initially in very basic , strongly smelling of smoke, not up to expectation, room. Wrote to organisation and being fair they acted immediately and we were upgraded to a room nearer our expectation.
Hotel is well positioned , 5 min walk to San Marco piazza and literally walking distance to all major tourist areas. Our upgraded room was comfortable, but certainly lacked any luxury. There was a kettle in the room but no milk and calling room service proved futile as it was after 11 and I was told not possible. Equally not able to get any room service prior to 7.30 so no use if need to be at an early meeting point. Breakfast was disappointing tinned fruit , plenty cheeses and meat but choice fresh fruit limited to apples.
Our bathroom was ok, small and water only warm on two occasions. Lots mould on shower door and bath edges.
The free wifi was intermittent at best , only one device per room and max 30 mins in any session managed. Initially told couldn't have 2 connections but this was overturned when we wrote to the organisation.

On the plus side the girls in reception were very friendly but clearly not able to deliver the service that is surely expected in this grade of hotel if no other staff on duty. Would only recommend as a good location to base a stay in this stunning city, but not if looking for any luxury or real comforts.

Room Tip: Doing be afraid to ask for an upgrade if not up to expectations, avoid the corner room on 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel was central for all tourist attractions friendly staff and a nice room. TV basic only C N English channel. Breakfast good and plenty of it. Would stay there again if visiting Florence again. Parking available at hotel expensive but on par with other hotels .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 323cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest
I will be happy to welcome you again when you’ll be back in Florence, your words of appreciation are for us very important to continue to work in this direction. Our goal is to improve our service and facilities and we will take in good consideration your suggestion.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

It is what it is - very much a basic, no frills business hotel. Service fine, rooms clean and comfortable enough but no character at all. Breakfast functional. 20 minutes walk to the railway station, 10 to the Duomo, but if you want a sense of the magic and romance of Florence then don't stay here. If you just need a base, it's fine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
your review is very important for us. The Athenaeum hotel has a contemporary style combined with materials taken from the classical florentine tradition such as marble and leather: we are definelly not a rennaissance manour. The hotel is centrally located and it’s very easy to reach all the main attraction from us. I appreciated your observations and advice and assure you that I will make good use of them.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was dirty! The lobby is misleading. Our room was dirty - dead bugs on the walls, black mold in the shower, hair in the bathroom. The shower was broken so it was for someone under 5ft tall. Wifi did not work in our room. When we complained to the front desk the response we received was "there's nothing I can do tonight because I am the only one here." The beds were uncomfortable and the room was very noisy. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay_Fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
First let me apologize for these inconveniences. You arrived in our hotel very late in the night and the morning after your complaint you have refused to change room. After your report we send our maintenance staff to fix the shower-pole. We changed all the bath-tube gasket and replace with a new one after your departure. Please be sure that after your comments all the appropriate actions has been taken.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Athenaeum Hotel hit all the marks for our recent trip to Florence. The price was right, the location was ideal (close to the Florence train station, and about a 10 minute walk from the Duomo) and the rooms clean and comfortable. For our first time in Florence it was perfect. They serve an ample breakfast with fruit juices, pastries, meats and cheese. The coffee wasn't that great, but that gave me an excuse to drink multiple Cafe Freddo's throughout the day. The hotel is right on the main street in Florence, Via Cavour, and only a few blocks away from the car free center of the city. There are two TI's on the street, so it was very easy to pick up our Firenze card and hit the ground running.

Was disappointed that they had a lovely outdoor terrace and bar but didn't have a staff ready to serve. My boyfriend and I enjoy a cocktail and this would have been the perfect place to relax, but the bar was empty every time we walked by. In the future I might prefer to stay at a hotel closer to the city center, but for our first time in Florence it was a great decision.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, General Manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your fist stay in Florence. I'm happy you had good time and you liked our location little off from the bustling city center but close enough to walk! Good note will be taken for your suggestion about our patio bar considering that our main goal is the guest’s satisfaction.
Best Regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,444 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Londra
Hotel Londra
#158 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#199 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing