We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel with Great Breakfast and Wi-Fi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #209 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with Great Breakfast and Wi-Fi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I thought this hotel was a great value for the price. We were a short walk from a lot of the sights. The room was very clean with modern finishes. We had wi-fi in our room which was great. We also had a breakfast every morning which was great to have. Compared to our hotel in Venice, this hotel was huge. The front desk was great about making reservations for us and calling us taxis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    296
    112
    36
    23
See reviews for
121
331
26
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was 1 of the hotels we stayed at as it was included in the tour package. The general ambiance was modern and simple. The beds were large and the 3rd extra bed was a reasonable single size. The room was generally clean. What we hated about the room was the 2 spotlights glaring on the head side of the bed. We felt like being cooked, and as there are no other lights that could give the same amount light available, we endured the hot spotlight while lying on the bed. The hotel is relatively near some tourist destinations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dokodesuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights in early September. The rooms were modern and sleep with simplistic decor. I know as Americans we have higher expectations for shower space, but the shower here is impossible and by no means are my husband and I large people. We asked for a room with a tub and were accommodated for the next 2 nights. The housekeeping moved our luggage (all packed and locked) into the changed room for us since we were gone for the day. The room was overall very clean, yet there were slightly moldy corners in the tub. Unlike most restaurants in all of Italy, the hotel's restaurant closes early and were not able to eat there past 9:30. The Via Cavour is a straight walk to the market area and Duomo which was very convenient. We were quite satisfied with the hotel for the value we paid.

Room Tip: Request a room with a tub..the showers are way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
333 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was well air conditioned, which was welcome as it was extremely hot when we were there. It's in a good location, with an ATM, supermarket, post office and close to the historical town center and markets. The rooms are clean and comfortable. WiFi access was very good. Staff were all helpful and friendly, breakfast was very good catering for most tastes. The restaurant has friendly staff and good meals. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sm05060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel is definitely NOT 4-star. I would only rate it as 3 star at most. I stayed in level 4, thus I suppose its the renovated level. Renovated = changing of carpeting and nothing more. Overall, the hotel, rooms, especially the toilet looked old and tired. Rooms, price (most expensive) and Breakfast were ranked the lowest among the 6 hotels we stayed during this trip.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
341 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great location, just a few minutes walk from the busy historical town center, via Cavour leads straight to Santa Maria del Fiori.
The interior decor is modern with the restaurant Riflessi connected to it, the inner court shows the terrace if the restaurant with trees, flowers and waterfall which is very pleasant to look at.
My room was big with a nice big and comfortable bed. Upon arrival I was given a room with a dirty bathroom, the bathroom corners were moldy, dirty shower, broken closet door, and the dirt was found swept at the corner of the room. I asked to be changed to a cleaner room and the receptionist immediately looked for another available room and a bellboy was dispatched to carry the luggage to another room. Unfortunately the same uncleanliness was found and I was ushered to another room which was better than the other two; I was already tired by that time and told the receptionist that I would take this one. She was very gentle and eager to make her guest happy, brava Sonia!
Also the room was somewhat noisy, noises from people taking showers or flushing the toilet could be heard quite clearly.
The daily breakfast was standard and somewhat boring.
This is a 4 hotel but I think it should be a 3hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Positives: clean, well lit, good breakfast. Negatives: we had a CONFIRMED reservation for 2 twin beds, but were given a double on arrival. The hotel was full so it couldn't be changed. In partial justification, the hotel thought they were doing us a favor, but we should have been notified of the change in advance. Staff was friendly and helpful if a bit brusque. The location isn't bad, just about a 10 minute walk or so from the dome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your review.
Has explained at the arrival we have assigned you a double room because this was the request received from your agency.
We have also proposed you to change from the following day but you have decided to remain in the same room.
Nevertheless let me excuse us for this inconvenience: our reservation dept. will double check with your booking agency to avoid this problem in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#218 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#129 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing