We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of HOTEL LORENA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOTEL LORENA
Ranked #135 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Located right behind the Medici Chapel - short walk to the Duomo and Uffizi. Our room was large, overlooking a busy square and market but with double-paned windows that blocked out nearly all noise. The proprietors were helpful and responsive to any requests. It is an old building with 2 short flights of stairs from the street to get to reception. Lorenzo, who was staffing the desk when we arrived, was kind enough to come down and carry up our luggage (we are 2 old people). Our room was clean, with a great bathroom and shower. We did not eat breakfast there (5 euro extra/day) because we aren't breakfast eaters, but it looked more than adequate. We stayed for a week and would stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor - there was an elevator from there to rooms higher up, but we never...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaliaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for HOTEL LORENA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 459 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This two star hotel will be my choice for future visits to Florence. Very reasonable price with a discount when you pay cash. Very clean room overlooking the pedestrian way and piazza by Medici Chapel. Convenient to everything. With the windows closed (double windows), I did not hear a sound. AC worked well. Excellent breakfast. Pleasant, helpful staff. May not be for everyone as you need to walk up stairs. Suited me just fine...and I am 71 years old.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KathyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel. When we arrived, it was nice to have to walk less then 5 minutes to the hotel (directions on the website were helpful). The three main things I look for in a hotel when traveling are: 1) price, 2) location and 3) cleanliness. This hotel had all three. We did get for the private bathroom which was also nice. The free Wifi worked great. Check in and out were very easy and the staff was very helpful. Glad we stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkeith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The wood panelling gives this small hotel a pleasant 1930's/40's feel. Staff is helpful and professional. Located across from the Medici chapel, in the pedestrian zone.

I had booked a single with shared bath for 38 euros, but got upgraded to a room with private bath for 43 euros (w/o breakfast). Very reasonable prices.

There are zillions of places to eat and drink within the radius of a few blocks.

All in all, a good value for Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trobaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and it was fantastic!
The view of our room was really great... it was in the 4th floor... The Medici Chapel it was just a few steps from the hotel!!
This is a very nice hotel in the city centre!
It's really close of Duomo and Santa Maria Novella train station...
The room and the bathroom was clean and spacious!!
The breakfast was ok... also the staff are really friendly!
They have free wifi - that's ok!
We will definitely come here again when we go back to Florence!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What can I say, great hotel situated in a nice area which is quiet at night.

I stayed here for 2 nights in early October 2012 with my better half. I found the staff to be very friendly and happy to help with recommendations & directions.

Perfect place for relaxing away from all the walking :) It would be 5 star but I found the breakfast to be average but I did only have breakfast once and I was late down.

Fully recommend staying here! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the market or something higher up where you can see the basillica :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This small family run pensione is a 10 min walk ( with luggage) from the main Railway station . It is on a corner above a (quiet) bar and overlooking a small square not far from the Medici chapel . The rooms are simple and sufficient , the staff are . . . . . . Italian , so occassionally pressured and angst driven . Good value central place to stay . Skipped breakfast and went off to the nearby central food market to sit at a small table and watch the locals go about their daily chores . Thoroughly recommend the market for eating and picking up excellent glistening local produce.
Problem we had was that we visited in August and several cafe owners were closed for the holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrislBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#177 of 411 in Florence
493 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 411 in Florence
660 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#166 of 411 in Florence
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#120 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#98 of 411 in Florence
874 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL LORENA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL LORENA

Address: Via Faenza 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $50 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL LORENA 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence (only 4 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, 6 minutes from the station, 8 minutes from the Congress Palace and 12 minutes from the Pitti exhibitions) the hotel is the right place to visit the historic center. Rooms with private bath, Tv, direct dial telephone, air-conditioning and wireless internet free of charge.Upon request, rooms with mini-fridge.Panoramic rooms with view on the Cathedral and Medici Chapels ( from the 4th floor).Paid garage facilities avaible 50 mt from the hotel.Hotel Lorena is far walking distance from:Medici Chapels: 55 metriDuomo : 200 metriDavid di Michelangelo ( Galleria dell'Accedemia ) : 300 metriPalazzo Vecchio & Uffizi : 500 metriPonte Vecchio : 700 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HOTEL LORENA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lorena Hotel Florence
Lorena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing