We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place.”
Review of HOTEL LORENA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOTEL LORENA
Ranked #135 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice place.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed there for 7 nights, one night in room with shared bathroom, and 6 nights in a room with a great view on capella Medici and the piazza.
The staff is really friendly, the place is clean, and coffee for breakfast is delicious.
However, the market is right next to the hotel, so it can be quite noisy, but we did not mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coeurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    229
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
87
210
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were in Florence for one quick night and the price for location at Hotel Lorena is hard to beat. Keep in mind you get what you pay for - so don't expect anything too fancy. This is a basic no frills hotel which was totally what I expected so I was content. We booked a room with a shared bathroom and it was clean and quiet. Our room overlooked a quaint street with the top of the Duomo visable just a few blocks away. Since we were only there for 1 night we wanted a hotel within walking distance from the train station as well as the main attractions of Florence which is exactly what we got. If you have mobility problems you should know there is no lift from the ground level to the reception on level 2. We did not have any issues with this. I would stay here again - glad I found something affordable right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Alaskans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The staff was friendly. The location of this hotel was excellent. Breakfast was good.
While there was wireless Internet it was very annoying that you had to log on every time you wanted to connect.
Our bed was squeaky but comfortable. The room we had was spacious and comfortable with a good view over the Medici Chapel. The bathroom was spacious with a full tub and shower.
Overall this was good value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardanddolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
defiance
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had room 11 and it was spacious, including the bathroom! Right in the heart of things, but not noisy. Great family run establishment, friendly. Was recommended tok us by friends who were there earlier this year.

Room Tip: Room 11 - in suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent in terms of value for money. Has a dodgy atmosphere though - they really shouldn't greet guests by offering them free breakfast if they pull a swiftly by canceling their pre booked stay (the trouble of saving 5 euro is not worth the hassle of getting Internet connection etc etc). The room we had was fine - bathroom fan a little noisy otherwise everything a okay! Ask for a room looking on to the square - lots of activity down there. The reception staff are friendly and happy to advise about directions etc. we didn't have breakfast or dinner there but there are plenty of places nearby. We would certainly stay there again. As for the rest of Florence the word rip off comes directly to mind - and don't go anywhere near the place if you don't like being too hot! We came from Australia in late September thinking it would be mild but we sweltered! If you want it cooler wait till late Jan or Feb (I have been told).

Room Tip: Room looking on to the square.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fantastic location. The staff were very helpful and efficient. They helped us with maps and gave detailed information about getting around. Our room was very spacious. The beds were comfortable. Both room and bathroom were scrupulously clean. No complaints at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Lorena located in 5 minutes walk from Railway station St. Maria Novella in front of capella Medici. When you're booking this hotel you are staying in a middle of everything in Florence. 5 min to St.Maria Novella Church, 10 min to Piazza Signoria, Plazzo Vecchio and Uffici Galleries. 15 min to Ponte Vecchio. Hotel surrounded by several markets inc. Mercato centrale. The hotel is well maintained and operated. It has WIFI and breakfasts. In hotel they give you a map and book restaurants you want if you ask. Also they support you with all helpful information. Although Hotel Lorena located in a tourist center of Florence it is really quiet at nights. Unbeatable price for such accomodation and great location. Lorenzo at reception desk helped us a lot with kind advices and important information. Definitely recommend to everyone who is looking for budget hotel in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuryGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#115 of 411 in Florence
452 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#94 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#143 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#147 of 411 in Florence
473 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#174 of 411 in Florence
485 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 411 in Florence
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL LORENA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL LORENA

Property: HOTEL LORENA
Address: Via Faenza 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#119 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL LORENA 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Florence (only 4 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, 6 minutes from the station, 8 minutes from the Congress Palace and 12 minutes from the Pitti exhibitions) the hotel is the right place to visit the historic center. Rooms with private bath, Tv, direct dial telephone, air-conditioning and wireless internet free of charge.Upon request, rooms with mini-fridge.Panoramic rooms with view on the Cathedral and Medici Chapels ( from the 4th floor).Paid garage facilities avaible 50 mt from the hotel.Hotel Lorena is far walking distance from:Medici Chapels: 55 metriDuomo : 200 metriDavid di Michelangelo ( Galleria dell'Accedemia ) : 300 metriPalazzo Vecchio & Uffizi : 500 metriPonte Vecchio : 700 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL LORENA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lorena Hotel Florence
Lorena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing