We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location. Average rooms”
Review of Hotel Nizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nizza
Ranked #164 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Central location. Average rooms”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night during our one week travel in Italy. Our priority was the location - we had to walk from the SMN Railway station to the hotel with many heavy bags and kid, so the hotel had to be within the walking distance from the SMN. For that purpose, this hotel is perfect. More than that, almost all the monuments are within walking distance from this hotel. But the rooms are pretty small and feel a bit congested. The reception on the first floor - so you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. There is a lift from the 1st floor and above, but it takes extra ordinarily long time to reach each floor. Breakfast is average. It is not bad for the money, but I wish the rooms were a bit spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    214
    76
    21
    6
See reviews for
87
193
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The best asset is the localtion within walking distande from the main points and shopping areas.
Staff was really friendly, beds ok. A bit noisy, but not too bad (with earplugs), large room. Breakfast was included, it was average with juice, coffee and rolls. Extra plus for free wi-fi, and parking facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaK990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent only one night Hotel Nizza at the beginning of a Tuscan bike trip. But, we were impressed with the beautiful historic building, clean rooms, great location, and wonderful breakfast. The hotel is located close to the train station in Florence. We arrived later in the evening; however, the hotel staff was welcoming and accommodating. They let us store our bikes in our room, made a fantastic dinner recommendation, and helped with other issues related to biking in Tuscany. Hotel Nizza was a fantastic first stop on what will be a memorable trip through central Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Apart from the noise of the traffic, there was something in the bed that bit us and made us itch so much we could not sleep.After the first night, we requested to change the sheets. We still could not sleep the second night as we were so itchy. The next morning, we requested to change room. The staff said that every room was the same and it was probably mosquitoes. They said they would spray the room with insecticide. That night, there were definitely no mosquitoes as we did not open any windows. However, something was still biting us... In the end at 2 am both of us moved to sleep on the couch at the reception. It was worst than camping. The only plus point was that the staff were friendly but we spent three nights being guinea pigs for their itchy sheets and they still didn't believe us. They said it might have been something in our luggage, but we went on to stay at hotels in venice, milan, bern, lauterbraunnen, zurich, barcelona, and encountered no other such problem so it cannot be us. We have disproved their last theory. So it is definitely something in the bed, sheets or whatever that made us itch so much that we cannot sleep for three nights. This was our honeymoon btw, it was definitely the lowlight of our trip. We strongly recommend fellow travelers not to take the risk and do not book this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel it is too risky unless the owner does a complete revamp-ie not just changin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great central location, a short walk from the main train station. Staff speak excellent english, are super friendly and full of wonderful suggestions, particularly the lady who does the night shift.

Arriving after walking the Cinque Terre and having very sore legs I almost cried when I saw the stairs up to reception. The other downside is that despite the double glazed windows there is a lot of street noise, not from traffic but from loud people walking past at all hours.

Breakfast is basic but ok - 2 cereals, juices, rolls, croissants, cheese, ham and salami. Great selection of jams and teas. Coffee machine does a reasonable macchiato.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location. Great price. Well situated between the Dome and the train station. But just off the main drag to reduce traffic and noise. Staff was pleasant English spoken freely. Room was basic but ample for a couple traveling with a grown son.
Word of caution about pickposcket and gypsies - While I never felt unsafe the Roma are thick and aggressive if you look meek like my sweet son. They will badger until you get very firm. Also, be careful in the train station. They are good there, I never had an inkling they got my wallet until we checked into the hotel. Recommend you keep money and cards in the pocket of snug fitting pants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The price was very good, 78? x night double, but we saw even it at 65, but we were late... However the hotel is very close to the station, and also at 5 minutes walk to the cathedral. The hotel is typical, nice, the service is perfect, polite, then breakfast very large and good. The rooms a little bit old style, but ok and cleaned. Bathroom perfect! The hotel is very recommended! They allowed us to leave the luggages also the whole day before we took the train, so at 8 p. m.... Very nice!

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#96 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#125 of 411 in Florence
602 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#123 of 411 in Florence
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Lombardia
Hotel Lombardia
#156 of 411 in Florence
287 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#223 of 411 in Florence
365 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#196 of 411 in Florence
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nizza

Property: Hotel Nizza
Address: Via del Giglio 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nizza 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing