We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and perfect weekend in Florence ”
Review of Hotel Nizza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nizza
Ranked #154 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Ferrara, Italy
2 reviews
“Nice and perfect weekend in Florence ”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The price was very good, 78? x night double, but we saw even it at 65, but we were late... However the hotel is very close to the station, and also at 5 minutes walk to the cathedral. The hotel is typical, nice, the service is perfect, polite, then breakfast very large and good. The rooms a little bit old style, but ok and cleaned. Bathroom perfect! The hotel is very recommended! They allowed us to leave the luggages also the whole day before we took the train, so at 8 p. m.... Very nice!

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    215
    76
    21
    6
See reviews for
89
194
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had uncomfortable experience in this hotel and felt really disappointed and angry on the staff attitude.

1. There are mosquito dead bodies on the wall when we entered the room. I believe a clean environment is essential in a hotel. And when we mentioned this to the reception, and told them there were mosquitoes at night, he just said he will send someone to spray insect repellent to our room and asked us to close the windows. They did nothing to clean up the wall.

2. The most awful experience was that, we could not find our pajamas when we came back hotel at the last night (we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in total). We asked the reception and the lady looked very unfriendly. She claimed that their maids will not get client's stuff...

She came to our room with us eventually, and lifted the pillows up. Our pajamas were under the pillows!!!! I've never seen such kind of practice in a hotel! Besides, if it was the case, why would it happen at the last night only? Our pajamas were put ON the pillows in the first two nights!

Her attitude was very bad and I don't think a professional hotel staff should behave like this!

Room Tip: I would not recommend others to choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albert
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Nizza for three days during the first week of October. The hotel was very easy to find from the train station and was only a five-ten minute walk to get there. We paid 325 Euro for the three nights which was good for that time of year. The location is just excellent. Not only handy to the train station but also very close to Duomo <five minute walk> and easy to access the museum where David is as well as Uffizi Gallery and Piazzo Piti. The jewellery stores on the bridge walking to Piti most interesting indeed! There is also a beautiful square right behind the hotel and lots of great restaurants in the immediate are. Our favorite was Alla Griglia which is just right out of the hotel and then the first left. We enjoyed it so much that broke a rule of travelling and went back twice.
The hotel, while small, has superior level staff. Always very friendly, accomodating, and fully conversant in English. The lady working the night shift was particulary cheerful !!They provided a city map and lots of ideas on what to see.
Our room was on the same level as the desk which was appreciated. While the room was small it was laid out in a functional manner so storing luggage was not an issue. The TV had an English channel to catch the news at night. Also an in-room safe and air conditioner in the room. We didn't need that but am sure it would be appreciated in a warmer season. The bathroom was spotless and while small quite functional as well. WiFi only worked the first night but a netbook was provided at the front desk to check the scores or email from back home. They were planning on getting the WiFi fixed on Monday but weren't to hopeful due to the speed of tech services in the area !! Breakfast was the basic croissants and bread/cheese standard in Italy hotels of this rank.
We really loved this charming hotel and would recommend it to others for sure!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey-CI
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just perfect for spending a few days in Florence. Its right in the middle and so close to the stations, San Lorenzo market and the Duomo. The rooms are small but perfectly functional; as the other reviews state, ask the air-con to be switched on a reception. The breakfast is the standard simple fare; bread, ham, cheese, yoghurts and cereal. No restaurant but there's loads of options within yards outside.

Room Tip: Tip: ask for a high numbered room; the low numbers are near reception and can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here in two different rooms (we just booked 1 night initially then stayed 2 extra nights), and both were fine. A little dated, but clean and comfortable enough.

The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the main train station and from many attractions. The road outside is quite busy, but with the window closed it's not too bad. Maybe bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

The breakfast was generous, though a little sweet for my taste (crossiants, bread, jam, sweet cereal etc). A sweet breakfast seems to be common throughout Italy though so this isn't something to hold against the hotel.

One thing to keep in mind is the aircon - each room has aircon but this needs to be switched on at reception before it will work. The first room we stayed in had the aircon on when we arrived, but with the second room it wasn't so we had to ask (and the aircon in the second room looked more like a heater, so it was lucky we did ask!).

Like some others have mentioned there's the odd process when you check in where they keep your passport for ten minutes or so. I was a little uncomfortable with this, but we got them back fine.

The real letdown was the Wifi. There is Wifi but the signal was poor on the first floor, non-existent on the third floor. I spent a bit of time sitting in the stairwell to get reception to organise our tickets and accommodation for the next stage of our trip. Really poor in an age where extra routers/cabling etc is so cheap, and travellers rely on the Internet so heavily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor (same as reception), they were more up-to-date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviiidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Right in the centre, u can reach the main centre sites in a few minutes walking!
Clean room and kind people. I didn't have breakfast there so I cannot express my opinion about it but all the rest is quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosella76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Little family hotel.
Great location 5 min from train station. Staff is willing to help and any request- answered.
Nice breakfast. rooms are tiny, yet clean and fine
great value for the money
we had a little problem with AC, but it was fixed within a day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritzi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#176 of 412 in Florence
695 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#164 of 412 in Florence
270 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#122 of 412 in Florence
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#137 of 412 in Florence
796 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#103 of 412 in Florence
744 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Tourist House
Hotel Tourist House
#233 of 412 in Florence
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nizza

Property: Hotel Nizza
Address: Via del Giglio 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nizza 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Nizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizza Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing