We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Definitely Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #109 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Return!”
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Il Bargellino for just two nights and regreted having to leave! Carmel was back in the states during our stay but Pino was a perfect host with excellent English. The terrace was a wonderful evening retreat where you could visit with other guests and share experiences and a bottle of wine. The hotel was very close to everything and a short walk from the train station. I can't wait to return to Florence and will definitely stay at Hotel Il Bargellino again.

Helpful?
3 Thank KLH5966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    76
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
209
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed here during the end of our honeymoon , we got a warm welcome , very clean room and very friendly owners.
The terrace was extremely nice place to unwind after a long day exploring the city , the info booklet in the room was very helpful and Carmel knows every detail about the city, ask anything and she can probably answer your question. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Owners friendliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed two nights at the Il Bargellino on a 23 night trip through 5 countries in Europe, and it was one of if not the best place we stayed. We found it after a short walk from the train station, and received a warm welcome from Pino. Our room was lovely --- clean, cozy, with great antique furniture and a small but completely adequate bathroom. Our windows/doors opened onto a great terrace. If we had stayed longer, I am sure we would have eaten a few "picnic" meals out there. One of the nicest things about the Il Bargellino was the little booklet left in our room that gave all sorts of great information, from where the nearest phone and internet points were to DELICIOUS restaurant recommendations to dead-on directions for sightseeing. I would come back here in a heartbeat, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CMB2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krakow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

The hotel is lovely indeed! I spent there 4 nights in the midst of the summer season 2007. Pino and other staff members were very helpful and friendly, the terrace is just there for you to enjoy all evening long. The old building makes this small hotel feel alomost like home.

Florence is busy and expensive, and this is a lovely place to stay for a reasonable price.

Definitely recommended!!
Paulina

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no en-suite bathroom (which i of course knew about)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pepe777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneaoolis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Loved this hotel! We enjoyed our stay for three nights in April 2007. Our room was clean and very comfortable. But the best part of our stay was our hosts Carmel and Pino and their fabulous rooftop terrace. A great place to retreat to at the end of the day and enjoy a glass of wine with the other guests. Good Location and a great value.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

This place really is, as the owners describe it, a peaceful oasis. On the terrace, the city dissapears as you admire the lemon trees and listen to the birds.

The room and bathroom were very clean, Pino (the owner) was friendly and helpful.

From the train station, take what Carmel calls the more complex but much shorter way if you are hauling luggage. It's not only shorter, it's not congested with cars and people.

  • Liked — Location, friendlyness, helpfulness of staff/owners
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in April of 2007 and had an absolutely wonderful time. The terrace is beautiful in the morning and a great place to wind down with a glass of wine before turning in for the evening. After a full day of exploring the city, our clean and comfortable room was appreciated.

Carmel, the hostess, made us feel welcome and even made museum reservations for us. Thanks to her and her husband Pino for making Florence even more enjoyable.

Cathy D., Ontario, Canada

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — That we had to leave...
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lobster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 411 in Florence
748 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#151 of 411 in Florence
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#137 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 411 in Florence
484 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#145 of 411 in Florence
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Property: Hotel Il Bargellino
Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing