We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Stay at Hotel 11 Bargellino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Bargellino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #114 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay at Hotel 11 Bargellino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel represents good value for your money. I selected it for the following reasons:
1. proximity to the train station (no taxis required)
2. Convenient location to sightseeing destinations
3. Affordable
4. Booking was easy as English was a common language

Upon arrival we were given a clean and spacious room. We bought a bottle of wine and enjoyed the terrace for a pre-dinner drink where we also met and enjoyed our conversation with several of the other guests - an unexpected plus. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. I would recommend this hotel for travelers like us who prefer small and affordable versus, big and lavish.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which potentially could be noisy, but with fan on and windows shut...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    73
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
52
197
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Il Bargellino was perfect for us. We only stayed one night, but it was enough for us to really be impressed with Pino's operation. Very large, clean rooms. Walking distance to the train station and nearly anywhere else in Florence. Pino was an amazing host - even after we got back to our room at 2am and woke him up to open the front door for us! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPrice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel or B&B is located close to the train station, which is a plus in any European city. You can go walking to every important attraction in Venice. The owners who live as well in the same B&B are cooperative and decent people.

We had a fridge in the room and prepared a light breakfast every morning, you can take the breakfast with you to an ample and open terrace the hotel has. The room was big and the bathroom small but bigger than in many other places in Italy. they clean the rooms every day. The problem here is privacy, as the rooms have a very high ceiling and practically you can hear everything from everywhere at night, including a parrot the owners have.

Room Tip: choose a room, which opens to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff, and the bathrooms the cleanest ever, nice balcony for everyone to relax after a busy day. Restaurants recommended were very good, as was the laundry service. Convenient to train station and the major tourist sites. Good value for the money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Florence! I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Il Bargellino and the host, Pino. The room was large and clean, the location was great and Pino, really made the stay for us. He consistently went out of his way to make sure our visit in Florence was the best it could be. The hotel was also a great value. Thank you Pino for an amazing stay!

Pros:
• Our room was very spacious and immaculately clean with a comfy bed
• The bathroom was clean and big compared to many others that we encountered in Italy
• Pino was by far the best host we had during our travels in Italy (we stayed in 6 different hotels)- he went above and beyond every day to make sure we were having a fantastic visit and was very friendly and helpful
• Great location- walking distance from the train station (5min) and most major attractions (very close to the central market and the duomo)
• Our room also had a door that went out onto a big communal balcony, where we often hung out in the afternoons (I don’t think all rooms were attached to the balcony but they could access it for lounging)
• Free wifi was fast and reliable
• We had a fridge and coffee maker available in our room

Cons:
• Air conditioning costs extra and Florence can get quite hot (it’s worth it to pay a little more if you are visiting in the summer)
• We found Leopaldo charming but if you have an issue with birds, you should be aware that the hosts have a parrot who is often out on the balcony during the day

In response to some bad reviews I read:
1) We had no issues with odours or cleanliness in our room (Pino told us during our stay that he is planning to renovate “room 6” in the near future, which seems to be the focus of the few negative reviews)
2) We did not meet Carmel during our stay since she was travelling, but Pino spoke very comprehensible English and we had no problems communicating with him
3) We had a problem with mosquitoes on our first night at the hotel but after informing Pino, he replaced the tablet of our plug-in repellant device and we didn’t have any further problems after that
4) This is a family run hotel that is clean and simple with fantastic hosts but it is not a 5 star resort (nor does it claim to be), if you want to stay in a fancy hotel then go pay more and stay elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdyck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Il Bargellino guests ROCK! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post.
Always much appreciated.
Carmel Coppola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Il Bargellino in Florence for 3 nights in August, 2012. What a terrific little neighborhood hotel! Very easy to find due to Carmel's detailed instructions. She also had booked reservations for us at The Accademia Museum in advance. Large room, very clean, loads of hot water and a fantastic coffee maker in the room (we only wished for more coffee!).
Our room (#9 - which I had requested based on a TA recommendation...) opened onto the second-floor terrace which was a great place to have coffee or wine and antipasto in the evening. It was extremely quiet and no one was ever on the terrace with us, except Pino, tending to his plants or Fernando (his parrot!). The hotel was only a few minutes walk from the train/bus station and since Florence isn't that large and we like to walk, it was very convenient to everything. The hosts live on site and you can come and go as you please, even return very late at night. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat! A breakfast in the morning would have made it even better!

Room Tip: #9 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post on TA. It makes my job easier when prospective guests have a chance to evaluate Il Bargellino before reserving.
Carmel Coppola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

1st id like to start by saying this was my 1st trip to Europe, so take all comments as you will. My husband and i were traveling though Italy on our honeymoon and i would have to say this was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. I think the over all dingy look of this old hotel over powered my thoughts about its cleanliness so i wont really talk about that... my husband was semi pleased with the cleanliness so i'll leave it at that. Upon booking our hotel we read that there was AC and bought and paid for a room with a private bath and terrace entrance. Upon arrival we were given the option of a terrace room or a private bath... We opted for the private bath which lead us to our second MAJOR disappointment... No AC in our room. Even though we paid for both we were not given both. Apparently there is AC in the upper rooms that you have to purchase the usage of at an additional price. Mind you it was 100+ degrees the entire time we were in italy. We never would have stayed in a hotel with no AC willingly on our honeymoon.

I could keep making a list but i guess over all we were disappointed in the fact that we were mislead in what this hotel had to offer. The one plus side to this hotel was the terrace, It was very nice to layout after a long afternoon of sight seeing and yes, like everyone else says the Carmel was helpful and kind. She didn't really chat with us much but offered to help in any way she could.

Room Tip: if its a hot month make sure to get an upstairs room so you have the option of AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Someone, either Pino our niece Rosita and/or I is always on the premises to chat, make museum and dinner reservations, answer questions and offer advice when requested.
Our goal is to be non-invasive yet available.
We at Il Bargellino NEVER knowingly mislead or overcharge guests. I am certain that you did
not pay for any services not rendered.
Thanks to Trip Advisor for the amazing service you provide.
Carmel Coppola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#93 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#163 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florent
#132 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#97 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Property: Hotel Il Bargellino
Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing