We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Budget Hotel - EVER!”
Review of Hotel Benivieni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Benivieni
Ranked #210 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Benivieni in mid-August 2012...i.e. a VERY hot time in Florence. The air conditioning worked great while we slept. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The free continental breakfast was modest but for the price, it was as good as can be expected. The location was great for touring - it's less than 5 min walk to the Duomo. The car park service was very nice..a little pricey for €35/night, but they take care of everything..and parking or driving in this section of florence is quite restricted, so it's nice to have them take care of everything for you. Overall, will definitely consider staying here next time we go to Florence, and this is highly recommended if you are looking for a good, clean, budget hotel close to many tourist sites in Florence. One thing, their restaurant recommendations are not so good (Buca Mario is WAY Overpriced, not worth the high cost, and is full of tourists), so try to figure things out on your own rather than asking them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOrdonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 616 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are a couple at mid 30s that stayed for 3 nights during August. We had a room at the 1st floor (there are only two). We spent little time at the hotel and we basically chose it for the location and the good rate.

PLUS
- Excellent location in the heart of Florence at walking distance from all the main sites and points of interest.
- Big, comfortable and spotlessly clean room.
- Minimal and updated decor for Italy standards.
- Very good rate in a fairly expensive city .
- Free wi-fi and computer at lobby but with a charge.

NEUTRAL
- Reception was professional and efficient but very distant and cold.
- Breakfast is basic but the breakfast room is nice.

MINUS
- NOISE, NOISE, NOISE. Almost all day long, with highlights such as dumpster trucks in the mornings or drunk pedestrians shouting at nights. The hotel is in serious need of soundproof windows and they should change the door locks which buzz loudly when you open your door.
- No view. Hotel facade overlooks a tiny pedestrian street.
- Shower cabin is very small.
- Air conditioning can't be adjusted exactly to your needs, so we ended up closing it during sleeping time because the room was very cold.
- The hotel has a very strict policy on the breakfast room closing time which they tell you at your arrival in a very strict manner like you are a potential rule breaker. Moreover, during the last half hour of breakfast time, the staff is picking up tables doing a lot of noise and generally behaving like customers shouldn't be there at all.
- No mini-bar.

TIP
Don't miss the next door restaurant Coquinarious and especially the heavenly zucchini carbonara pasta.

To sum up. This hotel is a good choice for Italy standards and a very good value.
However, if you are not a heavy sleeper, do not try this because you will have a sleepless stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petraleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I used tripadvisor for all our hotels when planning our trip to Italy and this was our favourite. It had character, was very clean, comfortable and staff (made up of family members) gave it a warm stay. The location is perfect - 1 block (or closer) to the Duomo and walking distance to everywhere else including Ponte Vecchio Bridge and even the Pizza Michelangelo (which is an absolute must - the BEST view of Florence). We were a family of 4 and although the room was a little cramped we did not mind given how much we loved this hotel - we opened our curtains and saw the top of the Duomo Tower and the bathroom was brand new. The breakfast was lovely and the choices made it appetizing to our family. Also there is a grocery store just around the corner for all your needs, however we found a less expensive one about 2 blocks from hotel and bought all our sandwich items and made sandwiches for our lunches by putting in our backpacks for the day. If you are looking for a good location, clean room and friendly atmosphere then this hotel is for you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My customers continue to rave about this hotel! I include it on my list of suggested stays in Florence for wedding guests and every single time I get fabulous feedback.
I chose this hotel to include on my recommendation list after I visited them on a very hot July afternoon. Their friendly welcome immediately told me I was in for a good relationship and it's been just that. Comfortable rooms tastefully decorated, decent breakfast and located right across the alley from the best angloamerican bookshop in town, the Paperback Exchange, where my guests get all their guidebooks and used paperbacks to read on vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The main asset of this hotel is certainly its amazing location, just next to the Duomo. On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, checking in was fast and simple. The lobby had a central patio where it was very nice to rest and enjoy a drink. Our room, located on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, was bright and quiet, and charmingly decorated. Breakfast was good for a three-star hotel, with a special mention to the cappuccino that was really delicious! Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in Florence and will definitely be back in this amazing city. On a side note, the shower cubicle was very small - but it is really the only thing that could be improved.

Room Tip: Our room located at the rear of the hotel was very quiet but still bright. The main street seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guillaume-and-sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Benivieni! The owners went out of their way before & during our stay to well accommodate our needs. The location is ideal for walking tours of Florence and the decor is very old world. We especially enjoyed our delicious variety of breakfast buffet items which always began with a friendly , "Signori, would you like a cappuccino?" We have already recommended Hotel Benivieni to a friend & would return there ourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi5073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, in between the Duomo and the river. Florence is really good to navigate around and you can find your way around easily after a few days. The hotel staff were really friendly and great to talk to. The breakfast was also good and it filled you up for a day of sightseeing. The room was good but because we had a 4 bed room it was a bit cramped because it was meant for a spacious two bed room. A tip for anyone travelling and sightseeing in Florence, make sure you go on the sightseeing bus in Florence. It takes you around all the sights that you probably wouldn't reach and opposite the main city across the river. Here you can stop and look out over Florence and see the beatiful views if the whole landscape. The tour bus also takes you up into the hills to a little beautiful town which has incredible views and is a great place to hop off for lunch and then hop on in an hour. For 15 euros each it really was worth it! Make sure your prepared with clothes to cover your shoulders and knees with also because we were not expecting it to be as vigilant as the Vatican and then they make you pay to buy a cover.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz2006_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#192 of 410 in Florence
415 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,884 reviews
De Lanzi
#218 of 410 in Florence
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#209 of 410 in Florence
727 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#193 of 410 in Florence
777 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 410 in Florence
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benivieni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benivieni

Address: Villa delle Oche, 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $110 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benivieni 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Benivieni palace itself has been built early XVth century by the Girolamo Benivieni’s family that was one of the most important poets of the Reinassance and he had a great influence to the other writers during the Renaissance and afterward. The Benivieni palace hosted there the Synagogue from 1882 until 1964. The palace, now restored and remodeled, is a family owned and run three stars hotel and still retains much of its historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Benivieni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benivieni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing