We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice rooms, service a bit inflexible”
Review of Hotel Benivieni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Benivieni
Ranked #197 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice rooms, service a bit inflexible”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel cannot be faulted for location or the rooms. They are nice, clean, comfortable and great value. However the service was mixed depending on who was on the desk. We had friends living in Florence who took us out to resurants, aperitifi and drinks and so regularly came back to the hotel around 11pm. The front doors were alwyas locked which meant knocking and waiting for them to come let us in. At one point one guy refused to approach the door to even unlock it before seeing our door cards, which seemed a bit rigid and unfriendly. Breakfast was also very policed with a rope being hung up outside the breakfast room on the dot of the end time for breakfast. My partner arrived at 9.30 am and found his way barred even though that was the end time. The room doors were also a bit annoying, they buzz loudly everytime you swipe the door cards, as loudly as a house doorbell, which you can hear in your room if your neighbours are entering theirs. Aside from that this was a lovely place to stay and being so near to the Duomo was a very big plus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine44h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    173
    50
    17
    26
See reviews for
140
295
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just returned from Florence and my fifth stay over 10 years at the marvelous BeniVieni Hotel; a hidden jewel in Florence. Literally "due passi" from the Duomo and the Piazza Repubblica, and a very easy 15 minute walk from the train station Santa Maria Novella the location is unbelievable. The property is super modern and clean, and small....everything that I like. But what makes the hotel hum is the love of the family that is on the premises every day, Inez, Sonia, Paulo, and the rest of their family. No fuss, no drama, just tender loving care, plenty of advice for the unknowing visitor, and small enough that they know each guest personally. I am positive that the hotel stays busy from very satisfied referrals. I continue to send friends there whenever I get a chance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great......I love the bells of Giotto's bell tower which you can hear at 7:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Occhionero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. We chose based on the location and price. The location was great. The room was clean. Yet, there was aweful street noise from 9 pm (crowds in the nearby bar and restaurants), 12 am (shouting from pedestrians), and early morning (dumpster trucks passed several times). It was a horrible experience and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We found this hotel by accident! We were staying somewhere else, and it was horrible! My husband got up in the morning to try and call the online vacation service we had used to help us into another hotel, and they were most unhelpful! So he started wandering around Florence. He almost missed it, but once in, the family that owns the hotel were so caring, and helpful and understanding of our situation. They had a wonderful room available, and we walked the block from our old place to the new. The hotel is clean, bright, inviting. The breakfast spread every morning was delicious. Othe owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave gave us great tips to local restaurants to try, and wonderful directions for us every time. I would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Absolutely the best place to stay in Florence! The hotel is located near the center of town such that everything is a close walk, seemed like everything was a 5-10 minute walk for travel time - including the Duomo which was about a half block away. The train station is about a 10 minute walk, however we drove and used a near-by garage that delivered the car to the hotel when we were ready to leave. The hotel was able to accommodate the four of us in one room. The beds are comfortable, and the bathroom is good size with a shower. A light breakfast is included each morning.

For us, it was the warm welcoming we received from the family that owns and operates the hotel. They all made us feel like they had invited us into their home and wanted to make sure we enjoyed ourselves in Florence. The son and daughter - Paolo and Sonia - mostly run the hotel, but sometimes mamma (Ines) is there as well. All are really great people.

Sonia and Paolo both recommended some top notch restaurants for dinner, and made us reservations. In Italy it is always a good idea to make reservations for dinner, and always ask the concierge about a restaurant before going so that you don't end up in a tourist trap. Sonia and Paolo recommended the Natalino and Ristorante Paoli - both were outstanding!

Florence is a beautiful city to visit and staying at the Benivieni made the trip even more enjoyable. We plan to go back and we will stay at this hotel again, and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnohBrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Lovely hotel in a perfect location. It is easy to find, close to everything you want to see, and the staff was very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and the dining room was very relaxing. The single room was quite tiny, but the bed was comfortable for a single. It was perfect for three nights! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charli246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in Benivieni Hotel for three nights. It is a small family owned hotel, located on a very quiet small street just a block away from the Duomo. So the location is perfect and most major tourist attractions in Florence are a short walking distance away. We had a triple room on the second floor facing inside. The room and the beds are small but big and comfortable enough for us. If you are over 200 and taller than 6, they might be a bit small. The buffet breakfast is continental (cold food) and is not open until 7:30AM. I booked the air-hotel-multi-city Italy trip as a package through Expedia so I am not sure if I got a good deal or not but I enjoyed my stay there. Staff are very friendly and easy going. They called a cab for us to get to the airport the day when we leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplehusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#210 of 412 in Florence
103 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#201 of 412 in Florence
651 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#180 of 412 in Florence
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#47 of 412 in Florence
331 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#173 of 412 in Florence
768 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#333 of 412 in Florence
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benivieni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benivieni

Property: Hotel Benivieni
Address: Villa delle Oche, 5, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Florence
#138 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benivieni 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Benivieni palace itself has been built early XVth century by the Girolamo Benivieni’s family that was one of the most important poets of the Reinassance and he had a great influence to the other writers during the Renaissance and afterward. The Benivieni palace hosted there the Synagogue from 1882 until 1964. The palace, now restored and remodeled, is a family owned and run three stars hotel and still retains much of its historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Benivieni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benivieni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing